We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big spacious room” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cerulean Tower Tokyu Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Cerulean Tower Tokyu Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   26-1 Sakuragaoka-cho, Shibuya 150-8512, Tokyo Prefecture (Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu)   |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Name/address in local language
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #4 of 29 Hotels / Ryokan in Shibuya
Certificate of Excellence
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Big spacious room”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

The best thing about this hotel is it's big and very spacious room for japan standard. Other than that it is an average hotel. Staff were friendly, and somewhat helpful. The hotel is clean and well taken care of.

Looking for the hotel was quite difficult. No clear sign from shibuya station. The location is about 10 mins walk from shibuya centre. Lots of shops and restaurants, even during the night time.

No free wifi for my standard floor room, only available for executive floors. Quite a disappointment, considering free wifi is available at most of hotel nowadays.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mswendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,428 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    690
    567
    114
    32
    25
See reviews for
303
444
126
333
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
jakarta
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Suprisingly nice hotel near the shibuya station without all the hecticness. The staff was really friendly, the business of Shibuya is just accross the street,easily accessible near the Mark City Mall. The rooms were also quiet large for a Japanese hotel at that price. For a hotel like this wifi shouldve been complimentary though (1,050 yen per day unlimited users).

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank adesputra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Stayed here for one night on the last night of our 12-day Japan adventure. Overall the price was reasonable for a hotel of this type and the service we received was excellent. We arrived at 11am and wanted to leave luggage there until we could check-in, but our room was already available so we were taken to our room early. Porters were polite and spoke good English. The room itself was clean and quiet and had everything we needed. We didn't use anything from the mini-bar - anyone traveling on a budget knows that's a no-no! Location is excellent, very close to the Shibuya madness, and easy to locate from Shibuya station - just take the south exit and look up to your left! - that giant tower is Cerulean. We ordered a room service breakfast as a treat, (Japanese-style) however in comparison to the Japanese meals we'd had at other Ryokans and hotels this one was a little bland and not quite the 'feast' that is the usual Japanese breakfast. It's nice to have it bought to your room in the morning however I don't think it's worth the money.
We missed out on checking out the on-site Noh Theatre but if you are there when there is a Noh performance on I would go - Noh Theatre really is a treat; there is nothing else like it; it is very strange and don't expect a narrative but quite a cultural experience.
Overall our stay at Cerulean was pleasant and we were comfortable however the traditional accommodation in Japan is far better value for money in my opinion, but it does just depend on what suits your taste.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank walkawayRenae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

One would have though that being near to Shibuya station the area would be messy and chaotic, but it's not. Very rare to find a place which is so near to the shopping area but so quiet all at the same time. The rooms size is reasonable big for a Japan hotel. Also the airport limousine bus stops direct here if you are flying in from narita airport. Unlike other countries where the bus stops at several hotel, this one only serves two. This makes it relatively easy to travel back and forth from hotel. At 3000 yen, I would go as far to say that the bus ride was affordable. I would definitely love to come back again.

Room Tip: Opt for rooms where u face shibuya and also the Japan tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aviator42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012 via mobile

Nice place, great location in Shibuya District, fantastic panoramic view... Rooms big and clean, good food. Prices ok for a 5 star hotel. Wifi on the room (but not free, about 25 euros for 1 week).
SPA not so good, too small and with no realxing bed (only chair!).

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Biancagirly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

We stayed here for 8 nights in late Nov / early Dec, and the best thing about it is the fabulous location! Shibuya itself is real fun, and the subway and JR stations are just a 3 min walk from the hotel. The service is excellent, what you expect in Japan and at a 5 star hotel, the concierge service specifically is excellent! They were extremely helpful in getting us dinner reservations and gave excellent recommendations as well as detailed explanations that made everything simple.

The room size is great for Tokyo and the view was spectacular from the room.

The only reason I gave it a rating of 4 is the small things like -
1) No free internet (doesn't make sense nowadays, there is free wifi in most of the city)
2) When we went to the bar on top (amazing view) and asked for a table near the window, they told us none are available, so when I said we will wait, they said there is a charge per person to get those tables, and as soon as I said yes they took us to an empty table.
3) Needed to print something before checking out, the first reaction was - there is a charge of 500yen per 15 mins, which again doesnt make sense since we are staying in the hotel.

Basically all these small things that don't really make you feel comfortable. That is the difference between hotels that want to gain you as a client for life, or hotels that want to make money quickly on every small thing.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank QuarterQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

My elderly father and I spent 3 nights at the Cerulean Tower in November, 2012. The location is superb and the hotel is modern, well-appointed with efficient curteous service, as you would expect at this price range. We noticed a surprising number of families during our stay, probably due to the relatively spacious rooms and it being a holiday weekend.

We had a standard two-twin room with modern furnishings, a work-desk area, a stuffed chair and ottoman, flatscreen TV, mini-bar. Large picture window with panoramic views of Tokyo and beyond. The bathroom is fantastic, even by Japanese standards, with a large glass-enclosed shower/tub area. The usual brevy of bath products, plush robes, nightgowns, etc. Plenty of closet space and drawers.

The only negative of the room was, amazingly enough, the noise. I'm not sure if we had especially active people above us but, frankly, it sounded like they were doing gymnastics above us. We didn't hear any noise from nextdoor neighbors but, then, it didn't seem like the rooms were occupied either.

We had breakfast at the hotel each day and sampled the buffet as well as the Japanese restaurant; both start at 3,000 yen per person. The buffet is mostly western (or, rather, the Japanese version of 'western' which includes salad and brunch-style dishes as well as the typical breakfast items) and only very limited Japanese offerings (no rice or miso soup.) For a typical Japanese breakfast, you need to go to the Japanese restaurant.

We also had meals at the Chinese restaurant (excellent) and the Italian restaurant (OK). Overall, the service at the restaurants was surprisingly mediocre. The servers were young and seemed inexperienced and rather inattentive -- we waited often, it seems, for water glass refills, coffee, plates to be cleared, etc. and at the Japanese breakfast, we missed a course all together.

This hotel is one of the two Shibuya stops for the Limousine (Tokyu) Buses that service Narita and Haneda airports. We took the bus from Haneda (1,000 yen) and to Narita (3,000 yen) after our stay. The concierge made the reservations for us. My father has mobility issues and the bus transportation was extremely convenient and comfortable.

Shibuya (train) station is less than a 5-minute walk from the hotel and can be negotiated by those with impaired mobility. The pedestrian overpasses have elevator accesses, as does the train station.

All in all, we thought this was an excellent hotel for travellers who appreciate a convenient location and modern spacious rooms but aren't looking for warm gracious service. At rack rates, I think the property would be over-priced.

Room Tip: Ask for north-facing room if you want a view of Shinjuku (tallest of the skyscrapers). Mt Fuji is t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DetTigerFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shibuya
Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Shibuya Excel Hotel Tokyu
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Hotel Century Southern Tower
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Dormy inn Premium Shibuya Jingumae
Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Shibuya Granbell Hotel
Shibuya Granbell Hotel
#7 of 29 in Shibuya
4.0 of 5 stars 556 reviews
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Park Hotel Tokyo
Park Hotel Tokyo
#6 of 105 in Minato
4.5 of 5 stars 2,585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cerulean Tower Tokyu Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cerulean Tower Tokyu Hotel

Property: Cerulean Tower Tokyu Hotel
Address: 26-1 Sakuragaoka-cho, Shibuya 150-8512, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shibuya > Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Shibuya
#3 Business Hotel in Shibuya
#5 Family Hotel in Shibuya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cerulean Tower Tokyu Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 411
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with JAPANiCAN, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Fastbooking, Odigeo, Rakuten, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz and Jetsetter so you can book your Cerulean Tower Tokyu Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cerulean Hotel Tokyu
Cerulean Tower Tokyu Hotel Shibuya, Tokyo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing