We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great budget option close to Shibuya and Omotesando”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Dormy inn Premium Shibuya Jingumae
Ranked #2 of 27 Hotels / Ryokan in Shibuya
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great budget option close to Shibuya and Omotesando”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

A great budget-friendly option if you want to explore the Shibuya and Omotesando areas. In terms of location, I would say that it is roughly 10 mins walk from Shibuya station if you're bringing luggage or its your first time walking to the hotel. Thereafter, it will probably take closer to 7-8 mins. If you are carrying lots of luggage, you should bear this in mind. However, the benefits of the location is that it is very close to Omotesando which is a quaint and lovely part of Tokyo. Lots of boutique shops, cafes and restaurants and much more relaxed than either Shinjuku or Shibuya.

The service at the front desk was reliable, friendly and with good English. The public baths in the hotel is a big advantage. The rooms are small as you would expect for a room in Tokyo, therefore, if you are bringing 2 large suitcases for 2 people, it might be a bit tight. If you only have small suitcases, it should be fine.

Behind the hotel is the train tracks, but becuase the windows are quite sound-proof, the noise was minimal and didn't bother me.

The area also felt safe both in the daytime and the night time.

Room Tip: I was placed on the 3rd floor. I would pick a room on the 4th-6th floors as the rooms would be a bit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    210
    34
    2
    1
See reviews for
67
171
122
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
161 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

The Dormy Inn is a well located hotel between Harajuku and Shibuya, easy walking distance to shops, nightlife, shrine park etc and nearby train stations for travelling around the city. The check-in staff were helpful and courteous. The hotel itself is fairly average with very small rooms. There is nothing at all memorable about it, for the price it was acceptable but don't expect any luxury touches! There was free wi-fi and breakfast included in the price + free bottles of water supplied each day. Some of the rooms backed onto a trainline but we requested a change and found a quieter part of the hotel. There is a spa service in the hotel but we did not have an opportunity to use it. The area is very youth orientated with crowds of trendy youth shopping 24/7!! Tokyo itself is AWESOME!

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper you may want to avoid overlooking the trainline at the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TEDBUN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra (capital of) Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

I'm writing this whilst at the hotel. It is day 2 and I decided to take their electric bike for a spin after seeing it parked out the front. I covered so much ground and its the best way to see the areas around the vicinity. I think they have more than 1 bike, and although I kept getting lost, I explored all the fascinating laneways and just followed what the other cyclists did weaving in and out of the pedestrians, whilst riding 99% on the footpaths. Plus, it's free to take the bike.

The hotel is great and for one person my double room is just fine, cosy I'd say. I asked for a quiet room and have one overlooking the Shinto Shrine next door. I don't hear anything from outside or inside. The rooms ending in 13 are quiet.

The breakfast is terrific, healthy, plenty of it, idiosyncratic (minestrone was my soup of the morning). But, I happily reverted to the fruit and natural yogurt followed by a salad, lots of juice and 2 cappuccinos. I got most of my day's nutrition in the morning. Tomorrow I'll order the Japanese breakfast instead of the European and see how it compares.

I wanted an extra pillow so they referred me to the 2 nd floor where there was a pillow 'bookcase' and told me to take the what I liked. They were all wrapped on plastic of course.

Also available in this new clean hotel is the Onsen, the trouser press, microwave, tea and coffee in the foyer, the smoking room, ice machines etc. I've also got used to all the buttons in the toilet now too. There is a free shuttle to Shubiya Station the mornings on the half hour.

The only disappointment is that the TV stations are all Japanese and nothing is remotely entertaining after a day of cycling and walking. That explains why I have time on my hands to write all this as I rest up for the next activity. I mentioned it to the smiling polite helpful person at reception, but I got the impression that she thought, 'that's what happens in Japan'. I refrained from saying that is a hotel is it not, but did mention that many people in the world speak, or understand English. Which reminds me that if porno offends you, don't switch to the movies called, 'fetish'. You have to pay extra, but even the still pictures are offensive.

All this wifi I'm using is also free and works really well in the room. Also, 2 desk tops in the foyer.

I don't think there's a fitness centre or pool but my Ipad won't let me take those out stars off .

Did I miss anything?

Room Tip: Rooms ending in 13 are very quiet and over look the Shinto Shrine next door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sweetiedarling1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We were very disappointed with the quality of this hotel, especially having stayed at the Citadines the week before and paid 30% less for much, much better rooms, facilities and staff service. It is a great location, just a few minutes walk from Harajuku and Shibuya but the rooms are dark, the double was laughably small, there is no safe in the room, a miniscule closet and you have to pay to watch anything other than Japanese TV in your room. The desk service wasn't particularly helpful and there seemed to be quite a few staff who didn't know how to do basic things such as put something in the hotel safe. There are two breakfast choices, Western-style or Japanese. The former is tasteless and the latter is OK but there is a good buffet of cereal, pastries, waffles, fruit and yoghurt. A very disappointing hotel - don't believe the photos on their website, they make it look far swankier and bigger than it is.

Room Tip: Book a twin not a double, it was comical trying to move two of us around in such a small space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

This is my third hotel that I've stayed at in Tokyo and it, by far, the best value for the money. Hotel is in an ideal location yet set back off of the main street so there is little to no noise. Can walk to Shibayu, Harajuka etc Rooms are practically new and decorated in the shabby chic style of a boutique hotel. Very clean and extremely comfortable. Surprisingly, there is a great onsen with steam room and everything. Rooms are smallish but fine considering that you will be out and baout most of the time.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jnyc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wien
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

If you're a vegetarian travelling to Shibuya, Dormy Inn Premium is your first choice. Upon request you get a vegetarian breakfast and in the evening free Soba (vegetarian noodles). That's indispensible if you don't speak japanese, because it isn't too easy to find your vegetarian food elsewhere around.

The rooms are spotlessly clean. Housekeeping also provides a free bottle of mineral water everyday. (Contrary to a review of another guest, they clean your room every day - you don't have to request that over the TV system.)

The hotel staff was very very kind and helpful, especially at the front desk.

I sure will be staying at Dormy Inn Premium Shibuya again on my next trip to Tokyo :)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank C H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

I went to Tokyo for a few days with 2 friends and we wanted to be near the nightlife and shops of Shubuya. This hotel was perfect. Cheap, modern, clean and perfectly located for Shibuya and Harajuku. The staff are very helpful and speak great English. Highly recommended hotel if you do not have a massive budget, but don't want to feel like you are compromising.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank jimmymuldo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shibuya hotels
Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Shibuya Excel Hotel Tokyu
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Hotel Century Southern Tower
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Shibuya Granbell Hotel
Shibuya Granbell Hotel
#8 of 27 in Shibuya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Cerulean Tower Tokyu Hotel
Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Shibuya Tobu Hotel
Shibuya Tobu Hotel
#7 of 27 in Shibuya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dormy inn Premium Shibuya Jingumae? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dormy inn Premium Shibuya Jingumae

Property: Dormy inn Premium Shibuya Jingumae
Address: 6-24-4 Jingumae, Shibuya 150-0001, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shibuya > Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Shibuya
#4 Romantic Hotel in Shibuya
#5 Business Hotel in Shibuya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Dormy inn Premium Shibuya Jingumae 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1.Free WiFi in all rooms and lobby area. 2.English speaking concierge is attending to support your travelling and business in Japan.3.Free Ramen snack service.Every night between 21:30-23:00 4.2nd Floor communal bath with ultra soft.5.Japanese and Western buffet at 1st-floor 6:30 a.m. to 10:45 a.m.(It takes JPY 1,500) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Rakuten, Priceline, JAPANiCAN, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Dormy inn Premium Shibuya Jingumae reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dormy Inn Premium Shibuya Jingumae Tokyo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing