We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel in Shibuya away from the urban madness”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dormy inn Premium Shibuya Jingumae
Ranked #3 of 28 Hotels / Ryokan in Shibuya
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 27, 2013

I'm writing this whilst at the hotel. It is day 2 and I decided to take their electric bike for a spin after seeing it parked out the front. I covered so much ground and its the best way to see the areas around the vicinity. I think they have more than 1 bike, and although I kept getting lost, I explored all the fascinating laneways and just followed what the other cyclists did weaving in and out of the pedestrians, whilst riding 99% on the footpaths. Plus, it's free to take the bike.

The hotel is great and for one person my double room is just fine, cosy I'd say. I asked for a quiet room and have one overlooking the Shinto Shrine next door. I don't hear anything from outside or inside. The rooms ending in 13 are quiet.

The breakfast is terrific, healthy, plenty of it, idiosyncratic (minestrone was my soup of the morning). But, I happily reverted to the fruit and natural yogurt followed by a salad, lots of juice and 2 cappuccinos. I got most of my day's nutrition in the morning. Tomorrow I'll order the Japanese breakfast instead of the European and see how it compares.

I wanted an extra pillow so they referred me to the 2 nd floor where there was a pillow 'bookcase' and told me to take the what I liked. They were all wrapped on plastic of course.

Also available in this new clean hotel is the Onsen, the trouser press, microwave, tea and coffee in the foyer, the smoking room, ice machines etc. I've also got used to all the buttons in the toilet now too. There is a free shuttle to Shubiya Station the mornings on the half hour.

The only disappointment is that the TV stations are all Japanese and nothing is remotely entertaining after a day of cycling and walking. That explains why I have time on my hands to write all this as I rest up for the next activity. I mentioned it to the smiling polite helpful person at reception, but I got the impression that she thought, 'that's what happens in Japan'. I refrained from saying that is a hotel is it not, but did mention that many people in the world speak, or understand English. Which reminds me that if porno offends you, don't switch to the movies called, 'fetish'. You have to pay extra, but even the still pictures are offensive.

All this wifi I'm using is also free and works really well in the room. Also, 2 desk tops in the foyer.

I don't think there's a fitness centre or pool but my Ipad won't let me take those out stars off .

Did I miss anything?

Room Tip: Rooms ending in 13 are very quiet and over look the Shinto Shrine next door.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sweetiedarling1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (552)
There are newer reviews for Dormy inn Premium Shibuya Jingumae
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

285 - 291 of 552 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2013

We were very disappointed with the quality of this hotel, especially having stayed at the Citadines the week before and paid 30% less for much, much better rooms, facilities and staff service. It is a great location, just a few minutes walk from Harajuku and Shibuya but the rooms are dark, the double was laughably small, there is no safe in the room, a miniscule closet and you have to pay to watch anything other than Japanese TV in your room. The desk service wasn't particularly helpful and there seemed to be quite a few staff who didn't know how to do basic things such as put something in the hotel safe. There are two breakfast choices, Western-style or Japanese. The former is tasteless and the latter is OK but there is a good buffet of cereal, pastries, waffles, fruit and yoghurt. A very disappointing hotel - don't believe the photos on their website, they make it look far swankier and bigger than it is.

Room Tip: Book a twin not a double, it was comical trying to move two of us around in such a small space.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Louise N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

This is my third hotel that I've stayed at in Tokyo and it, by far, the best value for the money. Hotel is in an ideal location yet set back off of the main street so there is little to no noise. Can walk to Shibayu, Harajuka etc Rooms are practically new and decorated in the shabby chic style of a boutique hotel. Very clean and extremely comfortable. Surprisingly, there is a great onsen with steam room and everything. Rooms are smallish but fine considering that you will be out and baout most of the time.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jnyc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

If you're a vegetarian travelling to Shibuya, Dormy Inn Premium is your first choice. Upon request you get a vegetarian breakfast and in the evening free Soba (vegetarian noodles). That's indispensible if you don't speak japanese, because it isn't too easy to find your vegetarian food elsewhere around.

The rooms are spotlessly clean. Housekeeping also provides a free bottle of mineral water everyday. (Contrary to a review of another guest, they clean your room every day - you don't have to request that over the TV system.)

The hotel staff was very very kind and helpful, especially at the front desk.

I sure will be staying at Dormy Inn Premium Shibuya again on my next trip to Tokyo :)

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank C H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

I went to Tokyo for a few days with 2 friends and we wanted to be near the nightlife and shops of Shubuya. This hotel was perfect. Cheap, modern, clean and perfectly located for Shibuya and Harajuku. The staff are very helpful and speak great English. Highly recommended hotel if you do not have a massive budget, but don't want to feel like you are compromising.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
4  Thank jimmymuldo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Location is excellent, it's right off the main street in Shibuya, about a 15 minute walk from Shibuya station or a 10 minute walk from Harajuku station.

The room is very small but very comfortable. Really nice shower with perfect climate controls, lots of little extras are thought of (phone charging cables, slippers, robes, quality shower gels/shampoo). They have a nice Onsen and on the TV you can even find a channel that reveals how busy the Onsen is at different times of the day, so you can wait till it's less busy before leaving your room (brilliant). My girlfriend and I didn't much love the free breakfast but we are kind of picky eaters. The service was excellent and friendly. The bed was very very comfortable.

Location + service + attention to detail + comfy bed and shower = well done.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sianspheric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

Shibuya is a paradise for shopping, so I was in heaven in this hotel close to all those fabulous stores.
Hotel room big enough for two, real onsen bath experience, japanese breakfast, friendly staff, clean. Very good!
I will recomend to take the foot care massage after a long day walking in Tokyo. Really relaxing and no expensive at all.

1  Thank JCvoyageur
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shibuya hotels
Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Shibuya Excel Hotel Tokyu
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku
Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Shibuya Granbell Hotel
Shibuya Granbell Hotel
#8 of 28 in Shibuya
695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Shibuya Tobu Hotel
Shibuya Tobu Hotel
#7 of 28 in Shibuya
607 reviews
Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Cerulean Tower Tokyu Hotel
Shinjuku
Hotel Century Southern Tower
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dormy inn Premium Shibuya Jingumae? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dormy inn Premium Shibuya Jingumae

Address: 6-24-4 Jingumae, Shibuya 150-0001, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shibuya > Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Shibuya
#4 Romantic Hotel in Shibuya
#5 Business Hotel in Shibuya
Price Range: $123 - $272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dormy inn Premium Shibuya Jingumae 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1.Free WiFi in all rooms and lobby area. 2.English speaking concierge is attending to support your travelling and business in Japan.3.Free Ramen snack service.Every night between 21:30-23:00 4.2nd Floor communal bath with ultra soft water.5.Japanese and Western buffet at 1st-floor 6:30 a.m. to 10:45 a.m.(It takes JPY 1,500) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Rakuten, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, JAPANiCAN, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dormy inn Premium Shibuya Jingumae reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dormy Inn Premium Shibuya Jingumae Tokyo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing