We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Dormy inn Premium Shibuya Jingumae
Nearby Hotels
$272
$198
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$311
$218
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$396
$244
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$182
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$182
$147
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$107
$104
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$132
$116
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$165
$107
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$241
$139
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$131
$106
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (590)
Filter reviews
590 results
Traveler rating
313
232
40
3
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
313
232
40
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsramengreat onsenfresh noodlesfree eveningfree washingspa saunarooms are smallpublic batha free shuttle busminute walkgreat locationhot bathtrain tracksfree breakfastmen and womenlaundry areajapanese bath
Filter
Updating list...
351 - 356 of 590 reviews
Reviewed October 23, 2012

This was my first time in Tokyo and was uncertain where to stay. I went by previous reviews of the Dormy Inn and was not disappointed. I would stay here again as the location, service and price are great.

Pros:

Superb staff
Complimentary breakfast, evening noodles and cappuccino machine
Free wire-less internet (Free computers available also in the lobby)
Use of on-site onsen (sauna and hot-tub) included in room rate
Conveniently located in Harajuku near hundreds of restaurants, stores and metro line.
Extremely clean and tidy
Very nice toiletries
No shortage of hot water in shower
Reasonable rates for a Tokyo hotel
Wide selection of pillow types

Cons:

Very small rooms (apparently standard for Japan)
No English TV channels in the room
No in-room safe
A bit of train noise can be heard if you are on the train rail side (nothing really majour and the trains stop at midnight)
Mattresses are a bit hard
No fitness centre

Note: The Dormy Inn may be a bit difficult to find as it is tucked away on a side street. Do your research and look for the signs on the streets!

Room Tip: May wish to look for a room away from the train tracks. Some floors allow smoking in smoking areas.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MP4411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

This hotel is a perfect base for exploring Tokyo - the location is central. It is in between Harajuku metro and Shibuya station (both about 5-10 mins walk from hotel). Yoyogi Park is just a 15 minute walk away. The staff at the hotel were extremely pleasant and helpful with adequate English to communicate with us. The rooms were clean but on the smaller side (to be expected in Tokyo). The walk-in shower was brilliant. The free noodles in the evening and free internet were great additions. Would definitely stay here again. Only negative the breakfast was a little unusual for Western tastes.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ERM0211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Our daughter, age 23, was on her first solo trip overseas earlier this year. Due to some serious miscommunications upon arrival in another part of Tokyo, she found herself urgently needing a safe, secure, and convenient hotel room.
The concierge at Dormy Inn, Paul Arnold, aka Asano, saved the day! He not only communicated with us in the USA several times, prior to her arrival at the Dormy, but he also arranged her taxi to alleviate a very confusing situation on the other side of town. Once at the Dormy, she was assisted many times by this excellent hotel employee, over the four weeks she stayed there.
My daughter loved the location, and its proximity to shops and restaurants.
Back home, we were very relieved that all was well, once she reached the Dormy Inn.
Thank you, Asano!
- - -
Phone tip: through Vonage, you can set up a local number in Tokyo (or other locations), which will allow your traveler to call you back home, as a local call at no cost, while they are overseas. Cost is approximately $15 per month. Perfect for nervous parents!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank aybceo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

My boyfriend and I recently returned from a nine-night stay in Tokyo. Dormy Inn was our home base. To start, the location—sandwiched between Harajuku and Shibuya, and accessible via three subway stations and eight lines—was ideal. It's a bit of a hike (10- to 15-minute walk) to the Shibuya station, which is the one we used most often, but it's located just off a thoroughfare with plenty of interesting stores. For U.S. travelers hoping to use their debit card to withdraw money at ATMs, there's a 7-Eleven about ten minutes from the hotel.

The rooms, though tiny (aren't they all in Japan?), were clean and well-kept. The shower was hot and the water pressure good, and the bed super-comfy. There are complimentary bike rentals and a spa on the second floor, though we didn't use either. There's also a free breakfast each morning—exciting at first because there's so much to eat, but tiresome after a few days since they don't really mix up the menu.

The concierge speaks fine English and was super helpful, printing out maps, answering all of our questions, making recommendations, and so forth.

I'd highly recommend this hotel for anyone staying in or near the Shibuya area (a great neighborhood, btw—colorful and full of lively bars and restaurants).

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank gadfly123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012 via mobile

The hotel has a very good location in Shibuya which is near to both bara and shopping and the Narita express stops here as well. As always rooms are very small and our double bed was almost a single one, but the rooms are new, well kept and generally good value. Breakfast is included (served as a semi buffet, where soup and warm sandwich is served on tray and a small selection of sallad, sandwich, yogurts, breads and muesli is offered buffet style) and there is a complimentary noodle soup each evening in the restaurant. There are 24 hours spa facilities and free wifi in the entire hotel.

In my opinion a perfect hotel if you anyway plan to spend most of your time outside the hotel, but if you will spend much time on your room, you should probably go for something w more spacious rooms.

For those very sensitive to noise, note that there are train tracks outside and ask for a room not facing the tracks. That said, our room was facing the tracks and we were never bothered.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bjorn_in_Stockholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews