We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great ramen with fantastic soft-boiled egg” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ichiran, Shibuya

Ichiran, Shibuya
Ranked #4 of 7,089 Restaurants in Shibuya
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $9
Cuisines: Japanese, Asian, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Neighborhood: Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great ramen with fantastic soft-boiled egg”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

We went with very high expectations but they were all met w more! The noodles were perfect and broth was tasty! The egg was the egg I have tasted so far in all ramen shops in Japan!
We had to wait for a little for sears but it was worth it!
I also enjoyed the individual block setting very much where you can just enjoy your noodles without any distractions!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank connie l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

822 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    487
    246
    70
    14
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Very tasty!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

Hard to find - it's not on street level - but in basement. The food was really good! Possible to have the noodle soup without pork (you chose that when you get to your seat - not at the vending machine). Extra noodles not necessary unless you are really hungry. Highly recommended!

Helpful?
1 Thank Anders J
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Ramen and tourist friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Best i had in Japan, took about 20mins wait for a weekend, they hand out a form in english for you to fill up, spciyness,tickness ect, worth the wait!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Littleponpon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Went to have dinner here on a friday night around 7, only 4-5 people ahead of me and took less than 10 minutes till we sat down. We only had time to have one ramen meal this trip and initially wanted to try Rokurinsha Ramen on Ramen Street but after hearing so much after Ichiran and how amazing its meant to be, we decided to go ahead with it since I liked the idea of individualised bowls of ramen. But I guess I had really high expectations for it. We were really disappointed. I mean its not BAD but I would definitely not recommend. The egg was very overcooked, boarder-line hard boiled. Wished we went to Rokurinsha instead.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nat c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem in the City”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

I was travelling around Shibuya and was actually intending to find another restaurant to no avail, when I stumbled upon this restaurant. Although its outer appearance is rather unassuming and humble, do not judge a book by its cover because this restaurant serves one of the best tasting ramen I have ever tasted during my time in Japan. After eating this ramen, which allows you to customise your order (how soft/hard you want your noodles, whether you want pork, how much special spice sauce you want etc), no other ramen would ever taste the same again. To be perfectly honest, I never thought I'd like ramen until I tasted the ramen here - it was that good. Also, they provided instructions in English too so fear not, those who do not understand a single iota of Japanese.

Also, the cubicles where customers eat are separated from each other with partitions, and you do not even see the staff's face due to curtains blocking your view. Due to the partitions, it is difficult for you to make small talk, or talk to your friends unless they're seated right next to you. However, really that should not deter you from trying to eat at Ichiran because really, the ramen is soooo good.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank trippinlippin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ichiran, Shibuya also viewed

Shibuya, Tokyo
Shibuya, Tokyo
 

Been to Ichiran, Shibuya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing