We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“The place to have sushi and other Japanese seafood delicacies..” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Umegaoka Sushi No Midori Sohonten Shibuya

Umegaoka Sushi No Midori Sohonten Shibuya
Ranked #5 of 7,286 Restaurants in Shibuya
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“The place to have sushi and other Japanese seafood delicacies..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Worth the wait in the queue for an hour. Go there, you will not regret it. Try Burikama Yaki and Yubamaki Salad.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Vulasson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

690 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    395
    203
    56
    14
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
120 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Organised chaos results in great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Found this place by accident the first time.

Looked at the line of people and figured "This must be good"

We were wrong. This was brilliant.

Once inside and seated at the long counter we watched the sushi chefs preparing our food from fresh ingredients and with minimal fuss. The food when presented was fantastic, fresh and clean in flavor and texture.

As more people entered the noise level increased with loud shouted greetings to them from the staff.

Great food, reasonable prices.

We went back again before our return home and again we were not disappointed. Be prepared for a wait to get in.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DavidMMc56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
64 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“best sushi ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

queued for a long time but worth it.
Totally worth it for the mouth watering sushi. The sushi here really lives up to it's name.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jo y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Sushi heaven!! ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014 via mobile

Wow the sushi here is amazing- yes it was a long wait (which we were expecting) via a ticketed machine- but once seated by the counter, we were right in the action seeing the sushi being prepared. We ordered a bit of everything and it all tasted amazing- so fresh. It was busy the entire night and very popular with both locals and tourists. I want to go again! Highly recommended

Helpful?
Thank JenMcD20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“One of the best sushi experience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

This is a must-go restaurant in Japan. It might not serve the best sushi in the world. But with this price, you cannot ask for better sushis! The quality of the fish is marvellous. Normally sea urchin (uni) is unbearable if not fresh, but uni here is out of this world. I ordered a 2800 yen set and had an amazing time! The service was as friendly as other Japanese restaurants. Come early for shorter queue!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank bzzank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Umegaoka Sushi No Midori Sohonten Shibuya also viewed

 

Been to Umegaoka Sushi No Midori Sohonten Shibuya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing