We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great choice”
Review of 35 Steps Bistro

35 Steps Bistro
Reserve a Table
Ranked #32 of 9,620 Restaurants in Shibuya
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Reviewed May 10, 2019 via mobile

Great hidden treasure. Great food, service and ambience.. The prawns are sensational. All is good! Totally recommend.

Date of visit: May 2019
1  Thank RichardKPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (204)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4 - 8 of 204 reviews

Reviewed April 28, 2019 via mobile

We went to have dinner to this sort of  Izakaya  restaurant with my wife during our vacations in Japan.

The restaurant is located in the heart of Shibuya in a very deep basement. It might  be a little difficult to find it.

As soon as you get  to the restaurant you must have your shoes off. Reservation in advance are recommendable.

90% of the people were local.  The atmosphere was amazing and the staff very friendly  and empathic despite they barely speak english.  The place has a counter around the kitchen and small tables next to it. We were seated at the counter.

We ordered a crisp mackerel ( Aburi Shime Saba) cooked with a torch infront  of us, an assortment of fresh sashimi from Toyosu  market, tuna avocado tartare (Negitoro Avocado) served with garlic bread and Daikon Oden a simmered Daikon radish and fisher cake in a japanese dashi broth.

We accompanied the food with a french  wine but you have, as option, different  kinds of sakes.

Everything was delightful and with high  quality!!

Prices are more than affordable.

Great spot of japanese food. Don't miss  out!

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank RianTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2019

Excellent food and service in cool underground space. Good variety of high quality food and decent value. Book ahead because it is popular - though hard to find.

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank KiwiU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2019 via mobile

Such a wonderful experience and an absolute feast in the heart of Shibuya.
Waiting on staff were so enthusiastic and attentive. Shoes off at the door. The food is cooked in front of you and the chefs prepare with style and flair! Equally the presentation of food is excellent - an egg was cooked on top of our food at the table, then chopped really finely. Pure theatre! Food was piping hot, and really different flavours from other Izakayas. Not being fans of seafood; this was a perfect choice and lots of variety! Great place for a real taste of Tokyo.
Booking for weekend will be essential. We waited 30 mins for a table.

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank Fayev333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2019 via mobile

Had some different stuff there. Being European, the crisp mackerel (they torch it at the table) and the pork where awesome (must have been cooked forever). Wouldn’t have thought that these could taste so great in this way. Truly delightful.

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank 968redc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to 35 Steps Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing