We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty and Beautiful Food, Friendly Staff, Warm Atmosphere”
Review of 35 Steps Bistro

35 Steps Bistro
Reserve a Table
Ranked #32 of 9,575 Restaurants in Shibuya
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Reviewed May 2, 2017

This place provided a great experience and a wonderful dinner (and drinks!). We were here on a Monday evening without a reservation. We arrived at 5:25 pm and were asked to wait on the bench in the hallway (very comfy, we met some other out-of-towners there!).

I loved that we were asked to remove our shoes and put them in the "shoe locker." Our table was suitable for Japanese style or, for us, the floor below the table allowed for our legs (but we were definitely sitting low!)

We went with the five favorites plus sashimi. All was amazing, and starts with a delicious complimentary green salad. Our waitress was friendly and helpful -- she suggested a sake for this newbie (started with a "U" can't remember the name) and it was so smooth and delicious. The mackerel was a treat -- be prepared for table flames! The entire service was served "tapas" style -- a little now, a little later. Perfect.

The atmosphere is lofty warm industrial (does that make sense?) and knowing you are underground adds to the drama. The kitchen is open behind the bar seating, and you can tell that the staff here really loves what they do. Just enough chatter and excitement but not so much to kill table conversation.

Love love love. Go.

Date of visit: April 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Melissa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (201)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

36 - 40 of 201 reviews

Reviewed April 29, 2017 via mobile

We had a great meal as a family. Food was absolutely delicious and service was incredibly fast. It's a laugh when you tell the waitress your order and she doesn't move but yells it across to the chefs. Prices are very reasonable.

Date of visit: April 2017
Thank travelaussiefamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2017 via mobile

We went to the 35 Steps Bistro a little bit by chance and this place didn't disappoint. The restaurant was super crowded so we recommend you to make a reservation, made by phone and they speak reasonably good english. The restaurant serves, what we would call, japanese fusion food. The food is great. Another great upside for this place was the great atmosphere, like most japanese restaurants there's alot of yelling and such but here they e.g. made the whole restaurant sing HBD for a celebrating visitor. One of our best restaurant experiences in Japan, don't miss out.

Date of visit: April 2017
Thank BillyB1608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2017

So happy to find this little place in Shibuya and even happier to get a reservation (definitely need to book in advance!). We had a great time, a mix of fun and great food and the kids loved it too. Order all of the Chefs specials because they're all good, my favourite was the tempura prawns served with a lightly poached egg for dipping - awesome! Curly fries and fried chicken were a hit with the kids. Husbands favourite was the tuna served with garlic toast or was it the mackerel ... he couldn't decide! The bamboo saki was super cold and really good. Highly recommend.

Date of visit: April 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank KristenE38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2017 via mobile

A local friend took me here and it was amazing! Super friendly staff and the food was delicious. The mackerel was seared at our table which was neat. I tried the mixed berry plum wine with dinner and it was a nice sweet treat rather than beer. The menu is also in English which was very helpful

Date of visit: April 2017
Thank L M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to 35 Steps Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing