We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great vibe!”
Review of 35 Steps Bistro

35 Steps Bistro
Ranked #23 of 7,535 Restaurants in Shibuya
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great vibe!”
Reviewed May 25, 2014

The 35 steps leading down to the restaurant looks dark and dingy but the actual interior of the place is very clean with an excellent vibe. All customers must take off their shoes before entering. The waiters are chatty and friendly. Food is delicious but not "wow". What makes the whole experience is the atmosphere of the place! We were here for dinner around 8pm. At that time it wasn't very smokey but as the night went on people started lighting up their cigarettes. Overall we had a great night here!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jochoong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    42
    6
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing Izakaya”
Reviewed May 22, 2014 via mobile

We found it without reading the directions stated in TA. Took a while but we counted the steps and found it!

The ambiance is amazing. The food was great. truly a great experience.

Helpful?
1 Thank Orval19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome food, attentive service”
Reviewed May 15, 2014 via mobile

We met friends who reserved a tucked-away booth which unlike most restaurants, was not relegated to a forgotten corner where service was lacking. Instead our waiter was in and checking on us often abut unobtrusively. He was also available at the call of "sumimasen!". The food was an array of traditional (sashimi), nouveau (cheese tofu served with honey), different (curly fries with a spicy cod roe (mentaiko) topping, and everything was delicious. Definitely a place to re-visit.

Helpful?
1 Thank ChezzaL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent food, great ambiance”
Reviewed May 2, 2014

This place had a great vibe, and we only had to wait 10 minutes for a table even though we hadn't booked and it was a busy Saturday night. Food was lovely, we particularly enjoyed the grilled saba, slightly cured mackerel that they grill at the table, but all the dishes we tried were delicious. The only minus was that we had to wait about 40 minutes for our last dish, but we heard our chef/waitor being yelled at for being slow so maybe we just had some bad luck..
Would definitely recommend this place to a friend.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Nougatbjornen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Thoroughly satisfied”
Reviewed April 22, 2014 via mobile

We learned about this restaurant from a forum and thanks to the tips from other reviewers on TA, we found the place without too much problem.

We ordered the bamboo sake and it was delicious. Great start of the evening. Ordered three out of five top items, and they were spot on. Cheese tofu was creamy and tasty, the tuna/avocado dish was an art, friendly to the less adventurous sort like me, and the fish was perfectly seasoned and broiled at the table. The rest of items we ordered were good though not as special as the ones from top menu.

Great ambience for gathering and fun dates. Place is buzzing. Love watching the chefs and waiters move around skillfully.

We don't speak Japanese so appreciated the English menu.

Suggest that you make a reservation. We were there at 6.30 on weekday so was lucky enough to have a table. But the place was packed from 7 onwards.

Will definitely come back.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank LianaSeah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 35 Steps Bistro also viewed

 

Been to 35 Steps Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing