We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best western style brunches in town”
Review of Beacon - CLOSED

Beacon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $27
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“One of the best western style brunches in town”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Have had brunch here a couple of times with friends and everyone has always been very happy with all their menu choices. Block out 2 hours; eat a lot and enjoy a lot.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FlyingFlipFlop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    34
    8
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Delicious food”
Reviewed December 18, 2012

The food here is absolutely great I love it and have been back several times. The clam chowder is absolutely outstanding and the wagyu is great if a little expensive and don't miss the creme brule.

I think the weekend/BBQ menu is a little underwhelming compared to the regular menu. Having seen what someone else's comments about the service I can agree that sometimes they are a little unobservant considering how many staff they have. My friends who have been also have never had a problem.

The Tokyo set is good value for the quality of food and the New York set is superb but pricey.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Will G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Don't Bother”
Reviewed November 3, 2012

A recent visit on a Sunday night (BBQ and burger night) showed that hype and pandering to some idea of authenticity ruled the experience. Worst of all was the service. A phalanx of servers manage to ignore our party most of the evening. As the evening began, a waiter came to take our drink orders. He came back 15 minutes later having forgotten every detail of what he asked the first time of what we ordered. When the drinks finally arrived, there was a Monty Pythonesque questioning of who got what drink. At about 25 bucks a pop per drink, the ineptness of service was completly unexcusable. The drinks were ample - good! - but not quite how they were ordered. My martini was obviously shaken - shards of ice and a littlt watery - rather than stirred, as ordered (an option requested and offered on the menu). Dinner was simple. Burgers a BBQ. The burgers were dull. The BBQ was formulaic. Granted, good American style BBQ is basically impossible to find in Tokyo. Beacon confirms it. The hamburgers, though bigger, were on a par with Lotteria. There are much better burgers to be found in Tokyo at about 1/3 of the price. To add insult to injury, wine pours are about 300 oz. - a true rip-off when the cheapest wine by the glass is about 13 bucks US. Definitly not recommended.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nickvroman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
49 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Excellent food, great service in an awesome location in Tokyo - perfect brunch”
Reviewed October 30, 2012 via mobile

Great service - not a surprise in this city. Best huevos rancheros I've had - huge surprise. Not to mention perfectly spiced bloody Marys and a delectable bread basket.

I'm half Japanese and a huge fan of all local foods, but I do need my American brunch fix every once in a while.

Aside from French Kitchen which is much pricier, I haven't found many other places in Tokyo that offer traditional brunch fare and drinks.

The setting is great, in the heart of Aoyama and walking distance to omotesando which is great for people watching and shopping. Brunch and beacon, followed by a stroll up omotesando dori and yoyogi park would be one excellent Sunday afternoon plan.

The crowd was a mix of people: some artsy types with fedoras and fun hairstyles, a mother and daughter, groups of friends catching up, and some guys ordering several rounds of bloodies.

It's pricey, but if you're a brunch person, most definitely worth it for what you're getting.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Juliana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Japan
Level Contributor
77 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Excellent meat and excellent Sunday brunch”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

I have eaten here very often. The meat (especially) is excellent but the whole experience is cool. good Sunday brunch. Nice terrace in the sun

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tommaso_Japan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing