We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good 'Kansai' food”

Hana Chibo Ebisu Garden Place
Ranked #315 of 7,565 Restaurants in Shibuya
Cuisines: Japanese
Neighborhood: Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Baar, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
250 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Good 'Kansai' food”
Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

We went here with a local friend as she wanted us to try the famous pancake from Kansai - okonomiyaki. It was very good albeit a bit sweet. Also had the beef steak which was tender and juicy. Ended with a Yebisu beer which has a beer museum at the Ebisu Garden Place. Overall it was good.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alexjoey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    19
    11
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“fun place to have okonomiyaki”
Reviewed May 23, 2013

i can't compare it to other places in tokyo, but this place served good (though maybe slightly overpriced) okonomiyaki, the hot plate and flowing beer made it more fun to eat at. the views of tokyo at night kept the conversation flowing.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank drsoum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasantville, NY
Level 6 Contributor
424 reviews
311 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
“First okonoyimaki experience”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Chibo is located on the 38th floor of the Yebisu Garden Place Tower, so the views of Tokyo are amazing. This was my first experience of eating okonoyimaki, the pancake-based cuisine most associated with Hiroshima and Kansai. The pancakes can be filled with various ingredients - mine was seafood and vegetables. Enjoyed the experience, though I don't think it's my favorite style of Japanese food. Chibo also specializes in teppanyaki and we had some excellent (though expensive) grilled sirloin. By Tokyo standards, the prices were not too high - we paid approximately $150 for two people, though we had plenty of food and a couple of beers each.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MJMH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrian, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
2,129 reviews
1,303 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 842 helpful votes
“Great Okonomiyaki”
Reviewed July 23, 2012

My first exposure to okonomiyaki was at Chibo in Osaka, the city where the cuisine presumably originated. I was so taken with the taste that it quickly became my favorite style of Japanese food. This Chibo in Yebisu was every bit as good as the Osaka locations to which I have been. This visit was my second to this location and I brought a business colleague this time. The dining experience was wonderful and it was a great way to introduce him to this tasty style of Japanese cuisine. In short, it is a great place to get Osaka-style okonomiyaki in Tokyo. Add to the great-tasting food a great view and a very pleasant atmosphere in the Garden Place Tower and you have a real winner. I personally like the okonomiyaki with seafood but there are so many terrific choices you cannot go wrong. The prices are decent by Tokyo standards and the service is very good. If you have never tried okonomiyaki, let this be your first.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Debbie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hana Chibo Ebisu Garden Place also viewed

 

Been to Hana Chibo Ebisu Garden Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing