We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fashion runway, quite literally”

Harajuku Takeshita-dori
Book In Advance
More Info
$60.97*
and up
Harajuku Fashion Walking Tour
Ranked #6 of 190 things to do in Shibuya
Certificate of Excellence
San Pedro, Philippines
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fashion runway, quite literally”
Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

Wandered here from sundown to night. Lots of clothing stores, restaurants and... stores. A map of the street is available, but I can't remember where we got one exactly. Tried Marion Crepes, A+.

Helpful?
1 Thank eirenea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,768 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    965
    1,084
    596
    102
    21
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
215 reviews
114 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 345 helpful votes
“For the non-Harajunkies out there...”
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Maybe it was a case of expecting something different, but Harajuku is just another shopping street complex. There are a lot of interesting clothes, but I ended up not buying anything after two trips and despite my resolve not to go home empty handed. It might have been because I was alone and can't speak Japanese, but the really thick crowd will make you question just how much you want to buy polka-dot fleece pajamas with sheep ears. Add the stress of having to say, do you have this in pink; is there a medium or large; can I try this on; how much... and figuring out who is selling and who is buying. Wah. Walk away from the pajamas.

There was plenty of variety but nothing really compelling or overtly special (as of November 3, 2012 at least).

Not a lot of Harajuku girls in all their cosplay glory.

There are some scary men who try to call your attention in the crowd, probably to sell something to you, maybe also thinking they could sell you. Seriously, that crossed my mind. One of them (they're not Japanese) actually held me by the elbow and spoke to me. I just walked away. But for the record: yikes.

Still, no regrets going (twice); would go back again -- maybe the one great item I was looking for is coming a few seasons from now.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
71 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Fashion forward”
Reviewed November 22, 2012

Cool place to people watch and shop. Very trendy and sometimes very expensive. Went here 2 out of the 5 days I was in Tokyo. Very clean like the rest of Tokyo. Great place to shop for women and men if you're into fashion.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank travelershane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
313 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Funky as all get-out but crowded”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

All of the streets in this area are best viewed in context with one another, and not independently. There's cool stores, the whole area has a really fun young vibe, and the people walking around are a sight to see!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Riptor3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
118 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Fashion street”
Reviewed November 18, 2012

its directly opposite JR harajuku station when alight. Cross the traffic lights and you are there! i was alone and spend about 2 hours roaming around. prices over there are not exactly cheap (Except daiso). As you walk along the street, i came across a stall selling unique accessories (not cheap though). Its rather near to Meiji Jingu Shrine, perahps a 15 minutes walk.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank AIREN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harajuku Takeshita-dori also viewed

 

Been to Harajuku Takeshita-dori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing