We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious dinner!”
Review of Kaikaya

Kaikaya
Reserve a table
Ranked #15 of 9,047 Restaurants in Shibuya
Price range: $33 - $100
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Shibuya / Aoyama / Ebisu / Meguro
Description: 和風をベースにした創作料理。オーナーシェフの海好きによって得た海辺の人脈によって新鮮な食材を提供できるお店。その食材もジャンルにとらわれず、時にエスニック、時に欧風に。今の日本の料理を味わえる場所。こういう場合はどうすればいいの?こんな料理が食べたい。会話もまた、食事を美味しくする調味料。どうぞ開花屋をごひいきに! 井の頭線神泉駅より徒歩2分。jr渋谷駅 から徒歩で8分。座席数72席
Reviewed July 7, 2016

We ate at Kaikaya for our final dinner in Tokyo and couldn't have been happier with that decision. The food was absolutely unforgettable. The staff was so friendly. We were lucky enough to get to sit at the bar that was right in front of the kitchen, and getting to watch the chefs prepare the food was an added treat.

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank kemedilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (771)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

265 - 269 of 771 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2016 via mobile

So happy to have found this place on trip advisor for dinner on our last night in Tokyo - it was the most memorable, fun and tasty evening of our entire trip!!

We arrived at 8:50 on a Wednesday evening and were given a table for 9:30. Luckily for us, our table was one of six along a bar right in front of the chefs - if you book a table, I highly recommend asking for one of these! Two fantastic and funny chefs were our servers as well for the evening. They were so friendly and recommended a tasting menu for us. This was perfect as the whole menu looked great and we couldn't decide what to get! The tasting menu includes their most popular items and is also incredible value for the variety of dishes and generous portions. Can't even pick a favourite dish - the sashimi was great, we loved the tuna spareribs and the whole fish with garlic and butter was unreal. Make sure to save room for dessert!

Towards the end of the night we also had the opportunity to meet the owner of Kaikaya, who was just as friendly and charming as all of his staff. It was truly a memorable evening and I am so happy we ate here. Cannot recommend it enough!

Date of visit: July 2016
1  Thank Tdot90
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 6, 2016

i would like to say this small restaurant is just just amazing.you should try raw shrimps and sashimi plate.staffs are speak english and they help you for everything.
Dont miss to visit this restaurant when you go to shibuya area

Date of visit: March 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank doctorjuliaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 5, 2016 via mobile

You have to visit Japan! It's one of the best cities I have ever been to so far! Everything about it is amazing .. The people, culture, food, etc

Date of visit: July 2016
2  Thank mayouya37
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 3, 2016

Found this little gem on tripadvisor, it was a great decision to come here.

Very friendly and relaxed atmosphere, with fresh and delicious food.

Our meal was very good value for money considering the cost of food in Japan, could not fault this restaurant at all. From memory we had 5 course set menu with a few rounds of sake for about 10,000 yen.

Remember to book to reserve your table, however i did see a few people wander in around 9:30pm without a reservation. Enjoy.

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank avt86
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travelers who viewed Kaikaya also viewed

 

Been to Kaikaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.