We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice food, good service, lovely little Izakaya restaurant off the beaten track.”
Review of Kaikaya

Kaikaya
Ranked #4 of 7,537 Restaurants in Shibuya
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Auckland Central, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice food, good service, lovely little Izakaya restaurant off the beaten track.”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

This was just up the road, 5 minute walk from Shibuya crossing and the menus are in English and the waiter spoke a bit of English too. Very nice food, mainly seafood, attentive service and very well priced for Tokyo. Would definitely go back in the future, it's clearly well respected as there were lots of Japanese eating in there also.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lovely058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    347
    117
    25
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
São Paulo, SP
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Favourite”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

my favourite restaurant in Tokyo. excellent atmosphere, very informal place and the food....is perfect.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Angelo426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence
Level 6 Contributor
756 reviews
387 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 354 helpful votes
“SEAFOOD IN SHIBUYA”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We've had dinner at Kaykaia twice during our stay in Tokyo.
First time we had mixed shrimps and pork dumplings for 2, shrimps and corn tempura, tuna, 2 beers, green tea cheese cake, coco brown (earl grey tea with brown sugar jelly and coconut milk that was GREAT!!) Total amount yen 6.500
Second time we choose prawns in prawn sauce served in an eatable pasta basket, fried prawns noodles, guracoco, nankou-ume (a plum sorbet served with plums jelly. Everything was really really great!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BUGI_70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Brilliant food, very friendly staff!”
Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

This restaurant was in a really lovely part of shibuya, a slightly quieter end of dogenkaza dori, and it was a nice change not to be going underground or into a department store! There were actually two parts to the restaurant, with seperate entrances, next door to one another- one was smoking and the other non-smoking. The non-smoking "room" was full so we sat at the bar in the smoking room- as non smokers i was a little worries at first but there was lots of ventilation and the smoking really didnt bother us. Our seats meant that we could see the chefs prepare and cook all the food, and it was very impressive to see them work so calmly, amd efficiently in such a small kitchen. The food was fantastic- we shared some gyoza which were brilliantly fresh and crisp, then the "pancake style" risotto with scallops and the grilled white fish- i would thorougly recommend this restaurant if u are visiting shibuya, the staff were very friendly and entertaining and the food was of a very high quality for what we paid....all food plus 4 beers was 7000yen.

Helpful?
Thank Agentletford
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing food and spot on service!”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Almost walked past this place but glad the waiter (Shun) came out and spoke to us. Of the 5 nights we spent in Tokyo, we ate at Kaikaya 3 of those. I'm not a smoker but sat in the smoking section as the atmosphere is far more vibrant than the other part. Plenty of famous musicians/models etc go there too, so is a fair chance you'll see one.

I especially recommend the scallop risotto pancake. So delicious!!!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Radix27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kaikaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing