We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical breathtaking visit”

Shiro-Hige's Cream Puff Factory Daita
Ranked #1 of 139 Dessert in Setagaya
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Reviewed January 22, 2019 via mobile

I’m a huge fan of the cartoon and saw that there was this special unique bakery/cafe just before we visited Tokyo Japan. Obviously I couldn’t come to Tokyo without a quick visit.

Very easy to get the train in from Shinjuku/Shibuya. The nearest train station is Setagaya-Daita and then it’s 5 minutes walk if that. You walk pass residential areas so it’s nice to soak in the local area. Google maps is the best way to find the location.

Do not expect a huge place so it will be busy if you come at peak times. We came about 11am so we managed to get a table in the cafe upstairs and have a quick light lunch. Mainly pasta and breads on the menu and of course the famous cream puffs. Lovely and light cream and pastry. We even bought some to take back to our hotel and some cookies as gifts for our friends. Prices are slightly more than average but this is a tourist place so is expected.

Don’t expect to spend too long here as this is the only place to visit in the area. Also bear in mind that it’s closed on a Tuesday.

Date of visit: January 2019
1  Thank JimJim88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (110)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

16 - 20 of 110 reviews

Reviewed January 9, 2019

We went to the cream puff factory as a treat for the kids as we couldn't get entry for the Ghibli Museum. Our experience wasn't so positive, possible due to the time of day. We arrived about 6pm (it was dark and cold), followed Google maps and found ourselves walking down a very quiet residential neighbourhood. The map then directed us up an even quieter lane (I was starting to get sceptical wondering if it was a wild goose chase), but there it was at the top of the street. The cafe is small, we decided not to stay as it was expensive (with 6 people to feed) so we bought a couple of Totoro puffs (to make our effort worthwhile and they were yummy BTW) and headed back to the station.
Just a big word of warning ... we also got caught out because the location exceeded our Tokyo subway limit and we had to pay adjusted train fares in and out of the area.
Had I'd know all of this before and, I would not have made the effort to get there as I don't think it was worthwhile. That's an honest opinion coming from a mum with 4 teenagers. In keeping with the Ghibli theme, we then went to The Ghibli Clock in Shiodome and it was fantastic (and free!).

Date of visit: January 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank roamas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2018 via mobile

Delicious Pasta and cute cream puff for the Totoro fans. Be prepared to wait for an hour or more if there is no reservation.
Limited seating space though.
Too bad, they serve my earl grey tea in a paper cup instead of a normal cup.

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank PamelaCheong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2018 via mobile

We've had our eye on the Shirohige's Cream Puff Factory for a few months therefore it's safe to say that we were really looking forward to it when we arrived in Tokyo. It was an easy train ride from Shinjuku Station, and walk from the Setagaya-Daita Station. We walked through a cute little suburb and tucked away in a little alley was the cute puff factory.

The little building and front were designed to look like a little Totoro forest, cute little decorations adding to the ambience of this cute little find. There were four flavours on offer: original custard cream, chestnut cream, raspberry and cream cheese, and chocolate. We selected the custard and chestnut and they were divine. The pastry was crispy on the outside, soft and flakey and on the inside, the cream smooth and not overly sweet. We almost didn't want to eat Totoro as he was very cute but dug in and experienced one of the most delicious pastries of our lives. Incredibly delicious!

We are already looking to go back for another cream puff before we leave, so definitely add this to your Tokyo itinerary if you love Totoro and fantastic pastry.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank somatchatolove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2018

The cafe is in a residential neighborhood with no other shops nearby. It is very close to the Setagaya-Daita station which is on the Odakye line from Shinjuku. It is surrounded with maple and cypress trees. We were seated on the balcony surrounded by the trees and it felt very totoresque. We ordered coffee/tea and totoro puffs, which are very cute (you must order a drink with a totoro puff). Afterwards we went downstairs to the shop where we bought more totoro puffs to take away. There are totoro toys and a catbus in the shop and lots of signs with totoros and inside the building there is an old wooden staircase up to the cafe. The staff were friendly and helpful.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank U4013XWdavids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shiro-Hige's Cream Puff Factory Daita also viewed

 

Been to Shiro-Hige's Cream Puff Factory Daita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing