We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Customer Service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel JAL City Haneda Tokyo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel JAL City Haneda Tokyo
Ranked #4 of 46 Hotels / Ryokan in Ota
california,usa
1 review
“Excellent Customer Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

My family stayed 1 night, they had a very excellent customer service, the hotel it self is very accommodating clean and comfortable rooms. I would love to go back and stay couple more nights.One of a kind service .

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank philislandfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,490 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    349
    851
    234
    35
    21
See reviews for
236
216
449
539
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

Run by JAL and located within 10 minutes by free shuttle bus(The driver in the morning of Friday 25 January was very kind and nice man). I stayed there to catch a flight at 6:30am and I could sleep an extra hour and no pressure to catch the first train bound for terminal station to take Mono-Rail.
This hotel is nice and clean, sufficient facility for travellers so I do confidently recommend it.

Room Tip: Boonk a nice room. Do not count on upgrade all the time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank poofyAsian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
263 reviews
195 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 399 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

This hotel is great if you need to stay by Haneda airport because of a late arriving international flight or an early morning international flight. There is a shuttle from the the domestic and international airport, and it's a comfortable place to stay. The shuttle runs on time, and is closer to the international terminal than it is to the domestic terminal.

The front desk staff wasn't overly friendly during check in and check out, but it was quick and simple. The lobby has a small business center that is not free, a small seating area, and a restaurant.

The rooms are quiet and small. We had a double bed, and there was barely any room to walk around once our luggage was out. The bed was standard, and the restroom was a decent size. The toiletries are in a big pump by the sink, so it's easy to move this into the shower. There are blackout shades on the window, a small desk, and a small TV. There is also a suit press in the room and no iron.

Overall the place was decent for what we needed - a bed by Haneda Airport.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BoysInNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
83 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at the hotel for one night, in order to catch a 650am flight from Haneda the following morning. We had an excellent experience and would highly recommend the hotel if you are using the Haneda airport. It's not very close to the main sights of Tokyo, but it was a great airport hotel experience.

The area around the hotel looks completely deserted. But if you walk towards the closest train station, there are a lot of small shops and restaurants. We found an EXCELLENT hibachi restaurant down the street by the station, across the tracks to the right. The name was only in Japanese, but I'd highly recommend trying to find it if you're in the mood for a fun, delicious dinner.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank suprchick77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, USA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

Chose this hotel because we had a 17 hour layover and wanted to explore Tokyo. First problem is that the shuttle does not run between 11 am and 5 pm. If you get in between 5 and 1030 pm, you have to go to domestic terminal 2 to catch the hotel shuttle.

Since we arrived at 1:30 pm, we had to take a taxi to the hotel 1,100 yen for the mile long drive to drop our luggage before exploring town. The local train station (Anamoriinari) is not as convenient as the airport stations. Getting a return train from Tokyo Station downtown was so difficult we took the monorail back to the airport and got another taxi back to our hotel.

The compact double was cheap; $108 prepaid rate. There is a dollar to yen converter in the lobby but I did not try it. The bathrooms are spacious with deep tubs, good for soaking, and plenty of soap and shampoo. No international channels on TV, though. Hotel restaurant is expensive and closes early, so I made a run to the 24 hour Sukiya restaurant across the street. $4;50 beef gyudon bowl is simple, filling and tasty. Vending machine offers beer, water and cola, but there's a convenience store across the street (cash only).

Front desk staff is helpful. They will provide you with an English language map of the neighborhood (and other brochures) on request. The morning shuttles (one for domestic, one for international) were timely. Our driver thanked us and the Japanese in English for staying at the hotel before going directly to the international terminal.

If you are flying in late and departing early, Jal City is ideal. If you have a longer layover, there are other options.

Room Tip: Ask for high floor, away from elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cincypix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
147 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

Stayed here for a week while in Japan on business. My meetings were in Yokohama and the south side of Tokyo, so the Hotel JAL City was a good location. The price was half of what hotels in Shinagawa were charging so it was worth it to stay here and take a taxi or public transit to my meetings. But it is a bit far from the main cultural attractions and sightseeing so I doubt I would stay here if I were a tourist. The other reason to stay here is that its less than a 10 minute taxi ride to Haneda Airport (1,000 yen). A colleague who had an early morning flite stayed here for just this reason.

The hotel itself is nothing special. The rooms are small and do not have closets, just a few hanging racks (but that is pretty common in Japan). There is no dresser, so I lived out of my suitcase. But despite the size, the rooms are well designed, comfortable and clean. And the sound proofing is pretty solid. The bathroom is not small, its American sized, which was nice. Smoking is allowed in the hotel, so make sure to reserve a room that is compatible with your needs.

The room has a hair dryer, mini-fridge, tea kettle and tea service. If you want to brew coffee, you have to bring your own. There is free internet, full laundry service, self serve laundry on the second floor (300 yen for a load to wash that includes soap, 100 yen for a unit of dryer time) and they have irons and ironing boards at the front desk that you can borrow (the room is too small to keep them in each room). And there is a shuttle to the Haneda airport.

There is a restaurant onsite that serves breakfast, lunch, and dinner. They have a good mix of Japanese and Euro-American dishes. I had breakfast there every day and thought it was good (1250 yen) and the random lunch and dinner I had were pretty decent as well.

The hotel staff speaks pretty good English and if you run into someone who is not so fluent, they will get a co-worker who can talk with you. I had numerous interactions with the staff during my stay and found them to be helpful and diligent.

Finally, there many resources nearby. Tokyo is big on convenience stores and just across the street from the hotel is a Sun Kus, sort of like a 7-11 with all sorts of beverages (soda, beer, water, dairy) snack foods, prepared foods, some fresh fruit, etc. There are few places to eat next door, and there is a post office with ATM around the corner that opens at 9am.

If you walk two blocks down the this little road past the Sun Kus you hit the Anamori-Inari metro station. Since it is right next to the McDonalds, if you get lost simply ask for the McDonalds. The metro stop is KK-14 on the subway map because its Station 14 of the Keikyu Airport Line running from Haneda Airport to Shinagawa Station.

Two blocks from the hotel is the Anamori-Inari Shrine, the only tourist attraction in the area. If you wake up early in the morning due to jet lag and want to stretch your legs, walk on over and check it out, its actually a pretty neat little place, (see my review).

I am giving JAL City Hotel five stars because it was exactly what I needed: a full service business hotel that was clean, efficient and relatively inexpensive. While it is a bit far from the main sightseeing in Tokyo and certainly lacks charm, I don’t want to punish it for not being something it is not trying to be.

Room Tip: Make sure to specify non-smoking of you are not a smoker.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Flat_Planet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for 1 night on the 13th of Dec because we had an early flight out the next morning at 6am. We arrived quite late at around 8pm because we just came back from Hakone previosuly and had to collect our luggage from our other tokyo hotel. The hotel room is generally normal size and we had a double bed. Most of the amenities are provided for such as basic toiletries including toothbrush kit, razor etc. The good thing abt this hotel is the shuttle bus service to haneda international airport. They have one starting from 4:10am so its good especially for those who have early flights out of japan. This was also the very reason we booked the hotel because if we were to get a hotel in central tokyo, it would have cost a bomb to take a taxi to haneda airport since the subway wouldnt be operating then. Shuttle bus operators were very helpful and polite carrying your luggage bag for you on board and bringing it down for you. Convenience store is just across the road from the hotel so thats another plus point. So i highly recommend this hotel only if you have a rather early flight the next day because it isnt really near most of the attractions. However the price is a bit on the ex side, costs us about 200 sing dollars for a night but i guess its better than paying so much more for taxis.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MdFadhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ota hotels
Haneda / Kamata
Hotel Mystays Haneda
Haneda / Kamata
Royal Park Hotel The Haneda
Haneda / Kamata
Haneda Excel Hotel Tokyu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Haneda / Kamata
Toyoko Inn Haneda Airport 2
Haneda / Kamata
Toyoko Inn Haneda Airport 1
Haneda / Kamata
Hotel MyStays Kamata
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel JAL City Haneda Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel JAL City Haneda Tokyo

Property: Hotel JAL City Haneda Tokyo
Address: 4-11 Haneda Asahi-cho, Ota-ku, Ota 144-0042, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Ota > Haneda / Kamata
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 46 Hotels / Ryokan in Ota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel JAL City Haneda Tokyo 3*
Number of rooms: 308
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
●The all rooms innovated on February 2014! ! The free shuttle bus between Haneda Airport and the hotel service on going. The pick-up in each Domestic Terminal 1, Terminal 2, International Terminal! ! (Please check the bus timetable for details.) ●Free Wi-Fi all rooms and lobby equipped. Wi-Fi enhancement completion of construction on July 2014! Wi-Fi is now easier connection throughout the hotel! ! ●The breakfast starts from 4:00A.M. early-morning!! We prepare a buffet in 1F restaurant SORA Even early departure can eat breakfast well! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Rakuten, Orbitz, Orange Marketing Services, Japan Co., Ltd., Hotels.com, Ctrip TA and Agoda so you can book your Hotel JAL City Haneda Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jal City Haneda Tokyo Hotel
Hotel JAL City Haneda Tokyo Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing