We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just What I Needed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel JAL City Haneda Tokyo
Ranked #4 of 52 Hotels / Ryokan in Ota
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Stayed here for a week while in Japan on business. My meetings were in Yokohama and the south side of Tokyo, so the Hotel JAL City was a good location. The price was half of what hotels in Shinagawa were charging so it was worth it to stay here and take a taxi or public transit to my meetings. But it is a bit far from the main cultural attractions and sightseeing so I doubt I would stay here if I were a tourist. The other reason to stay here is that its less than a 10 minute taxi ride to Haneda Airport (1,000 yen). A colleague who had an early morning flite stayed here for just this reason.

The hotel itself is nothing special. The rooms are small and do not have closets, just a few hanging racks (but that is pretty common in Japan). There is no dresser, so I lived out of my suitcase. But despite the size, the rooms are well designed, comfortable and clean. And the sound proofing is pretty solid. The bathroom is not small, its American sized, which was nice. Smoking is allowed in the hotel, so make sure to reserve a room that is compatible with your needs.

The room has a hair dryer, mini-fridge, tea kettle and tea service. If you want to brew coffee, you have to bring your own. There is free internet, full laundry service, self serve laundry on the second floor (300 yen for a load to wash that includes soap, 100 yen for a unit of dryer time) and they have irons and ironing boards at the front desk that you can borrow (the room is too small to keep them in each room). And there is a shuttle to the Haneda airport.

There is a restaurant onsite that serves breakfast, lunch, and dinner. They have a good mix of Japanese and Euro-American dishes. I had breakfast there every day and thought it was good (1250 yen) and the random lunch and dinner I had were pretty decent as well.

The hotel staff speaks pretty good English and if you run into someone who is not so fluent, they will get a co-worker who can talk with you. I had numerous interactions with the staff during my stay and found them to be helpful and diligent.

Finally, there many resources nearby. Tokyo is big on convenience stores and just across the street from the hotel is a Sun Kus, sort of like a 7-11 with all sorts of beverages (soda, beer, water, dairy) snack foods, prepared foods, some fresh fruit, etc. There are few places to eat next door, and there is a post office with ATM around the corner that opens at 9am.

If you walk two blocks down the this little road past the Sun Kus you hit the Anamori-Inari metro station. Since it is right next to the McDonalds, if you get lost simply ask for the McDonalds. The metro stop is KK-14 on the subway map because its Station 14 of the Keikyu Airport Line running from Haneda Airport to Shinagawa Station.

Two blocks from the hotel is the Anamori-Inari Shrine, the only tourist attraction in the area. If you wake up early in the morning due to jet lag and want to stretch your legs, walk on over and check it out, its actually a pretty neat little place, (see my review).

I am giving JAL City Hotel five stars because it was exactly what I needed: a full service business hotel that was clean, efficient and relatively inexpensive. While it is a bit far from the main sightseeing in Tokyo and certainly lacks charm, I don’t want to punish it for not being something it is not trying to be.

Room Tip: Make sure to specify non-smoking of you are not a smoker.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flat_Planet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,652)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

209 - 215 of 1,652 reviews

Reviewed December 17, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for 1 night on the 13th of Dec because we had an early flight out the next morning at 6am. We arrived quite late at around 8pm because we just came back from Hakone previosuly and had to collect our luggage from our other tokyo hotel. The hotel room is generally normal size and we had a double bed. Most of the amenities are provided for such as basic toiletries including toothbrush kit, razor etc. The good thing abt this hotel is the shuttle bus service to haneda international airport. They have one starting from 4:10am so its good especially for those who have early flights out of japan. This was also the very reason we booked the hotel because if we were to get a hotel in central tokyo, it would have cost a bomb to take a taxi to haneda airport since the subway wouldnt be operating then. Shuttle bus operators were very helpful and polite carrying your luggage bag for you on board and bringing it down for you. Convenience store is just across the road from the hotel so thats another plus point. So i highly recommend this hotel only if you have a rather early flight the next day because it isnt really near most of the attractions. However the price is a bit on the ex side, costs us about 200 sing dollars for a night but i guess its better than paying so much more for taxis.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MdFadhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2012

This hotel is convenient if you want to either catch an early morning flight from Haneda or if you arrived at Haneda around midnight and would like to head straight to sleep before you head to one of the Tokyo downtown areas.

Our flight arrived just after 11pm, customs clearance was relatively fast and easy and we were on the free shuttle bus to the hotel just before midnight. It took around 10 minutes or less to get to the hotel from the airport which is just around the corner.

The last free shuttle bus to the hotel heads there at 12:20, the hotel website provides all the relevant info on shuttle bus frequency.

The room was small by rest of Asia standards but it was clean, had good amenities and we found it of good value overall. Hotel JAL City Haneda Tokyo is basically a very convenient airport hotel that served its purpose for us. It gave us the opportunity of a good night sleep and the chance of an early start the next day for our Tokyo sightseeing visit. We are happy with our choice.

Room Tip: There is a construction site on one side of the hotel facing the street. It was quiet when we were t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sito_Journey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2012

We were arriving into Haneda late in the night before we needed to catch an early domestic flight next morning, so we needed a hotel near to Haneda.
We chose this hotel not because it was the cheapest, but because it appeared to be one of the nearest to the airport.
Although we arrived at 11 pm, we still managed to catch the last bus at 11.50pm. Just a short wait for the bus, and we reached the hotel within 10 mins. Checkin was fuss free.
Rooms are smallish for two persons, so I think three into one room will be really difficult, though not impossible. But they are clean, and beds comfortable.
But honestly, this place isn't exactly cheap just for a night's sleep, and nothing more. But then, they do charge you for the convenience of being so near Haneda.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Casper65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Stayed before a 6am flight, and happily caught the free 4:30am shuttle bus. Clean, modernish, functional, free Internet in rooms etc. had a reasonable and brief stay. Rooms are the size you would expect in/around Tokyo: small. But ok.

Warning: don't grab a taxi from downtown tokyo unless your happy paying 8000JPY, £70, or $100 etc. it's also quite complicated getting into the city otherwise. Hve to get to monorail, and then do subways once you get there.

Didn't try breakfast.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
1  Thank gingdotta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed at the JAL Haneda hotel for one night in anticipation of a very early flight the next morning.

I can't help but think that this hotel takes advantage of travellers who need to be at Haneda airport for a very early flight. Trains from Shinjuku did not run early enough for us to make our flight from our original hotel so stayed here the night before our own flight.

The hotel is comfortable and reasonably clean, but just a little bit too expensive for what it provides.

The shuttle service is invaluable. As we had one of the first morning flights out of Haneda, it was necessary for us to be able to get to the airport quickly and easily and this service provides this.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

This hotel is just a very expensive budget hotel like Daiwa Roynet or Richmond. Next time I'll stay in my normal hotel and take a taxi to the airport as it is not worth it to change hotel for one night. Double the price compare to Richmond or Toyoko Inn

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SwedeMedford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ota hotels
Haneda / Kamata
Hotel Mystays Haneda
Haneda / Kamata
Royal Park Hotel The Haneda
Haneda / Kamata
Haneda Excel Hotel Tokyu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Haneda / Kamata
Hotel JAL City Haneda Tokyo West Wing
Haneda / Kamata
Keikyu EX Inn Haneda
Haneda / Kamata
Toyoko Inn Haneda Airport 1
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel JAL City Haneda Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel JAL City Haneda Tokyo

Address: 4-11 Haneda Asahi-cho, Ota-ku, Ota 144-0042, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Ota > Haneda / Kamata
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 52 Hotels / Ryokan in Ota
Price Range: $88 - $280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel JAL City Haneda Tokyo 3*
Number of rooms: 308
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
●The all rooms innovated on February 2014! ! The free shuttle bus between Haneda Airport and the hotel service on going. The pick-up in each Domestic Terminal 1, Terminal 2, International Terminal! ! (Please check the bus timetable for details.) ●Free Wi-Fi all rooms and lobby equipped. Wi-Fi enhancement completion of construction on July 2014! Wi-Fi is now easier connection throughout the hotel! ! ●The breakfast starts from 4:00A.M. early-morning!! We prepare a buffet in 1F restaurant SORA Even early departure can eat breakfast well! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with KNT-CT Holdings Co.,Ltd.(YOKOSO Japan), Hotels.com, Booking.com, Rakuten, Orange Marketing Services, Japan Co., Ltd., Expedia, Travelocity, JAPANiCAN, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel JAL City Haneda Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jal City Haneda Tokyo Hotel
Hotel JAL City Haneda Tokyo Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing