We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good functional hotel close to HND airport”
Review of Tokyu Stay Kamata

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Tokyu Stay Kamata
Ranked #11 of 49 Hotels / Ryokan in Ota
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Stayed here for one night after arriving into Tokyo on a late flight. Convenient train journey from the airport which was trouble free. About 5 minutes walk from train station.

Hotel was basic, functional and adequate for just the one night.

Good value stay if you don't fancy getting into the centre of the city or have an early flight as convenient for the airport.

Reception staff were polite and could adequately converse in English. Coffee and tea available from machine at reception all day/night.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GME-SE10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (164)
There are newer reviews for Tokyu Stay Kamata
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

21 - 27 of 164 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is only a few stops from Haneda on the Keikyu line, near Keikyu Kamata station. As others have said, best to print a map beforehand. It's probably less than 10 minutes walk from the station but easy to lose sight of and wander off track.

The best point for this location is either if you have a late arrival at Haneda or an early flight the next morning, and don't want to come/go all the way to/from central Tokyo. The train is fast and cheap and a taxi probably won't break the bank if you really arrive *very* late.

At least some reception staff seem to speak English. The reception area has some PCs and the rooms have reasonable WiFi.

Our room had a microwave, trouser press, fridge, kettle, air con, air purifier and ... wait for it... a washing machine! They gave us a little sachet of washing powder on check-in. So that's my hot tip for this hotel ... if you're coming to Tokyo as part of an Asia tour or something, and need to do laundry in the middle, Tokyu Stay are one to bear in mind, just check the room type before booking.

Other things: beer vending machine in reception, convenience stores nearby, lots of restaurants but maybe not so much English spoken, and of course the room has TV (no English channels though. Well, can't have everything, can you? :-) )

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mjb1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We stayed just one night after arriving in Japan late at night. It was a very comfortable and clean hotel. I only wish it was closer to central Tokyo so we could have stayed longer. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: The room we stayed at had a washer!
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for just one night in July 2013. As we arrived in Tokyo at 11pm, staying at this hotel, which is just a few stops away from Haneda airport, was very convenient. It was easy to find and was within walking distance to the train station. The room was very clean and had good amenities - there was a washing machine, microwave oven and even a hotpot stove for cooking in our small room! While the room was small, it was clean and fairly comfortable. (Most hotel rooms in Tokyo are small anyway, and this room was average-sized by Tokyo standards.)

The only downside is that the hotel is located quite far away from the city centre. I would only recommend this Kamata branch of this chain if you're arriving late in Tokyo and want to head to your hotel quickly instead of traveling for almost an hour to a hotel in the city centre. Otherwise, a hotel in a more central location would be better.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bllackcherry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights during 12-15 April 2013. Booked directly on their website and prices ranged from JPY9,800 to 13,200 per night and the total for 4 nights was JPY48,200. Emailed to make general enquiry before arrival and it was answered promptly.

Arrived Haneda airport and the hotel was only 2 or 3 train stops away. However, walking from the train station to the hotel, I strongly suggest printing a map and sticking to it. Do not ask people for directions, as polite and helpful as they are, they just pointed completely wrong directions. What should take about 10 mins ended up 30 mins on the streets lugging our suitcases.

Hotel is in a quiet area, was a tad worried beforehand that me and my friend will spend quite a bit of time commuting but it turned out not bad at all as the trains to central Tokyo are fast ones and only takes about 20 minutes.

Rooms are small but not horrific, mattresses were hard and not really comfortable. Bathroom is clean with everything you need and I took baths on all nights. There were some noises outside on the Friday, otherwise generally quiet.

We needed our luggage sent to another hotel and the staff helped us out with that. Staff was courteous apart from one female staff when we checked out who was clearly in a bad mood and showed it to us.

Overall, not bad at all for the price. We also stay at another hotel on the same trip - Mitsui Garden Hotel Yotsuya and I think I prefer Tokyu Stay Kamata slightly over Mitsui.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank missvontravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Very convenient, quiet, modern, and clean hotel. Convenient subway ride from Haneda airport, and quick, easy walk to the hotel. Also well-poised for transfer to Narita or other parts of Japan. Rooms are small but value-priced, with all of the modern amenities. Did not try the breakfast, but there are many convenient options nearby, including 24-hour convenience stores and a beef bowl joint. Staff was friendly and spoke good English.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tulipjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

I discovered this hotel a couple years ago because it is close to where I do business in Tokyo. I stay here every time since then. It is new, clean, and inexpensive. It's a 3-minute walk from the Keikyu-Kamata Station and about a 5-10 minute walk from The JR Kamata station. It's in a quiet part of Tokyo as well, which is nice. Breakfast is basic Japanese fare, but always good. Free hi-speed internet is also a huge plus.

Room Tip: Some rooms are equipped with a washing machine, so if you are interested just ask.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 898MDG89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ota hotels
Haneda / Kamata
Hotel MyStays Kamata
Haneda / Kamata
Keikyu EX Inn Kamata
Haneda / Kamata
Chisun Inn Kamata
Chisun Inn Kamata
#14 of 49 in Ota
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Haneda / Kamata
Sotetsu Fresa Inn Tokyo Kamata
Haneda / Kamata
Hotel JAL City Haneda Tokyo
Haneda / Kamata
APA Hotel Keikyukamata Ekimae
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tokyu Stay Kamata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tokyu Stay Kamata

Address: 4-23-1 Kamata, Ota 144-0052, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Ota > Haneda / Kamata
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 49 Hotels / Ryokan in Ota
Price Range: $81 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tokyu Stay Kamata 3*
Number of rooms: 141
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Rakuten, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Tokyu Stay Kamata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tokyu Stay Kamata Tokyo, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing