We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A feeling of home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
YADOYA Guesthouse for Backpackers
Reviewed October 3, 2012

I recently stayed at Yadoya in the Tokyo residential neighborhood of Nakano in September 2012. The staff and owners were most accommodating and friendly. I am surprised to have read not good reviews otherwise. For dorm-style rooms the price was 2000 Yen. They have an excellent map detailing all bars, restaurants, etc within the area which I have had an especially hard time finding at many other hostels. Every Tuesday they have a dinner/social get together for the guests (500 Yen) that includes dinner. I also went on a fishing trip to Yokohama Bay with the staff. Traveling alone, I really felt welcomed. For any backpacker that wants the true family-style (almost European) backpacker hostel, I highly recommend Yadoya.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kyle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (68)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 68 reviews

Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

Booked this guesthouse because it was cheap but we did not enjoy our stay there. The whole building is so cramped that moving upstairs with even a small luggage is a nightmare. It's a few minutes walk from the rail station but i sincerely think that it's worth paying a little more for a better room.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank EllisLiew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

I stayed with Yadoya in July of 2010 at their Maruman Branch, which has since been sold/closed. The location was awesome - I just walked out the door and there was a konbini 20 feet in either direction. I was surprised with the accommodations. The facility, while very small for 5 people, was sufficient for what was paid. I will say that it's difficult to clean a dorm room that never empties, because they don't want to throw away someone else's belongings, so there were some things that needed to be thrown out and it was quite cluttered because of a young Chinese woman living there. However, the trash was taken out regularly, the bathroom cleaned and the floor swept. Air conditioning, wi-fi and other utilities were included, but due to the current power shortages and high prices, I think they're all coin-operated now.

As with any dorm room, sometimes people would come back really late and intoxicated. They would then turn on the lights to get ready for bed. This was the only problem I had when sleeping, but I can sleep on very hard surfaces or very soft ones - either is fine for me. They tend to use futon mattresses on wood slats, so it can be a bit uncomfortable, but I got used to it fine.

I did run into a minor problem while I was there - I was busy uploading pictures when the staff member came in and my locker was open because I store my laptop in it. He cleaned out my locker and I didn't notice until about 30 minutes later. I had a box of coins in my locker that had disappeared, along with all my receipts, so I had to run down to the office and go through their trash. I never got my coins back because the guy had already gone home and I decided not to press for it, but I was able to get the receipts. The other staff were very sympathetic and even helped me go through the trash. They told me he must of thought the locker was open because someone had moved out (I had already realized that was the problem).

OVERALL - the location, price and staff were great. So great, in fact, that I'll be staying at their long term Ginrei branch starting two weeks from now. I would recommend them to any college student. Some people mentioned not knowing where they were staying - to remedy, make sure you specify the branch you would like to stay at and they'll see if it's possible.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raikou-Neko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2012

This place has been going for a few years, and seems not to have been cleaned since it first opened. The dormitory areas are squalid, dusty, and there are clothes/books/magazines/detritus of previous guests cluttering up the rooms. NO fire escape from upper floors, and the "kitchen" area has no refrigerator and the remains of pacakaged food many many months past their sell by dates. The location in Nakano is adequate, though right next to a very busy railway line. Staff are false friendly until they get your money, after that...... good luck trying to get any travel advice, or any kind of refund.

Room Tip: To be fair, this place is very cheap so if you just want to crash in Tokyo then it works, but there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caerdarn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2011

Well what can you expect from a guesthouse? This was our second stay.. this time the room was super tiny and smelled of seaweed. It was comfortable enough. Two showers for the whole guesthouse, and two toilets, one for men and one for women. Good place for travelers but not for a romantic vacation. I would say don't stay in the "Ninja" unless you stay alone and don't mind the smell of seaweed.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank misawa393
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled solo
Thank Rhabar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Mooau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nakano
Nakano Sun Plaza
#2 of 4 in Nakano
62 reviews
Shinjuku
Imano Tokyo Hostel
Imano Tokyo Hostel
#1 of 34 in Shinjuku
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grape House Koenji
#1 of 5 in Nakano
5 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
Khaosan World Asakusa Ryokan & Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YADOYA Guesthouse for Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YADOYA Guesthouse for Backpackers

Address: 2-18-6 Nakano | 204 Prosper Nakano Bldg., Nakano 164-0001, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Nakano
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Specialty lodging in Nakano
Price Range: $18 - $48 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — YADOYA Guesthouse for Backpackers 1*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the cheapest hostel in West of Tokyo.Located in Nakano which is only one stop away from Shinjuku. You can use both JR-line and Tokyo Metro.It`s very convenient area, there are lots of restaurants and shops in Nakano and very safe.We hope everyone enjoy staying with us in Tokyo, so we are happy to help to give the information of traveling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Rakuten, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your YADOYA Guesthouse for Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
YADOYA Guesthouse For Backpackers Nakano, Tokyo, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing