We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Reviews are right” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jomon Roppongi

Jomon Roppongi
Ranked #8 of 10,870 Restaurants in Minato
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese, Barbecue, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Akasaka / Roppongi
Bozeman, Montana
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The Reviews are right”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

walked up and down this street a couple of times. There were a number of good looking restaurants, but this one had open windows and seemed inviting. Went with our seven year old daughter (who loved the special chicken meatball yakatori). The special tofu was good. The ambiance couldn't be better. We walked out and my daughter declared "That hit the spot!"

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank dvBozeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    151
    67
    17
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“loved the atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

Totally thought it was worth going. Found the food was over seasoned, is it MSG or salt??? Mmm not sure. Great surroundings, food was nice but not the best we had in Tokyo let alone in the area close by but the best atmosphere over anywhere we went.c

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JMAK69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

went here in April 2012. Did not know what it was called as there was no sign! We happen to have been researching a return visit when we stumbled across the images of the amazing restaurant we visited. Happy to now put the name Jomon to it.

We were just wandering around looking for somewhere to eat. We did well to stumble upon this place. Loved the atmosphere, the food and even the fact that you had to take your shoes off and wander single file behind other diners to get to your place at the bar.

Very noisy place. Staff added to the atmosphere. Great place!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank imnotapanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A must for tourists”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

It's cramped, but cosy which is a plus.
The chicken comes slightly undercooked by western standards. This is how they cook it, don't go screaming at the chef.
Deep fried yam & potatoe croquette were fantastic.
I was slightly disappointed by the beef but I think there may have a bit of confusion with the order.
Definitely try the shochku and peach.
There's a waiter who speaks a little English, use him for ordering. Our meal for two cost 8300. It included 6 alcoholic drinks, croquette, 2 yam and loads of various skewers.

Helpful?
1 Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“It is the best yakitori”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

You can eat yakitori in a very cute restaurant.. Not a big restaurant but quite busy, i recommend to make a reservation before you come... Try avocado grilled, beef neck, elinggi, and chicken breast with wasabi.. They also give a shot of corn soup (very nice) and shio cabbage salad (free and refillable!)

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kepikkecil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jomon Roppongi also viewed

 

Been to Jomon Roppongi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing