We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Andaz Tavern - refined cuisine - beautiful setting - excellent service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Andaz Tokyo Toranomon Hills

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Andaz Tokyo Toranomon Hills
Ranked #3 of 106 Hotels / Ryokan in Minato
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level Contributor
187 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Andaz Tavern - refined cuisine - beautiful setting - excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014 via mobile

A charming diner one month after the grand opening.
The setting is great, scenic view, elegant local tableware. The cuisine is delicious, refined, creative, opening new taste association. The waiter has stories to say, explaining for instance where this specific balsamic vinegar is produced following an original and unique natural process.
And the ambiance is relaxed and elegant.
One of the place to be in Tokyo.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephanie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndazTokyoToranomon, マネージャー at Andaz Tokyo Toranomon Hills, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Stephanie D,

Thank you very much for your feedback.
Relaxed and elegant ambiance is exactly what we would like to create therefor we are so happy to hear your comment.
We look forward to having you back - we have more stories to say.

Arnaud de Saint-Exupéry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

652 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    462
    129
    37
    16
    8
See reviews for
132
206
48
164
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Service was nice, food tasted good, but then the diarrhea.. My date and I both had horrible food poisoning from this place. Ughh..

Rooftop bar was also a disappointment, they could have done so much more with the space and the service was slow.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank 8aroundtheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndazTokyoToranomon, Director of F&B at Andaz Tokyo Toranomon Hills, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear 8aroundtheworld,

Thank you very much for having visited us and for your feedback.
Would you kindly contact me at gerhard.passrugger@hyatt.com so we could discuss further on your experience at BeBu?
Many thanks and I do look forward to hearing from you.


Best regards,

Gerhard Passrugger
Director of Food & Beverage
Executive Chef
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

Summary:
There are a lot of positives to take away from the Andaz Toranomon Hills - The rooms and Spa are amazing, and the views are breathtaking. The interior of the hotel is like a museum, with art works throughout the establishment. The Staff are extremely attentive, and are generally eager and keen to please and make your experience as personal as possible. However, it became apparent that staff did have issues with English, particularly at check-in, and the Rooftop Bar. Also staff did not have much local knowledge of the surrounding area, and there is no limousine bus that takes you directly to either Narita or Haneda airports.

I have stayed in a number of Andaz hotels globally, so was heartened to discover the newest Andaz hotel would open in Tokyo, coinciding with my trip there. As a Platinum GP member, I chose the hotel stay rate for platinum members, which did not include their free breakfast promotion.

The hotel is difficult to get to from the Ginza line at Toranomon station. Take Exit 1 or 7 if you are travelling by the Ginza line, and then look up - it is a short stroll to Toranomon Hills. The entrance to the hotel is around the block, past the taxi drop-off point. I would suggest getting a taxi to the hotel from Shimbashi or Toranomon stations if you have heavy luggage, or are worried about language difficulties.

I was left standing around to check-in, asking a number of staff how to check-in when I arrived. Check-in was done standing at the reception desk, and no welcome drink was offered when I checked-in. When I asked where the in-house drinks were in the evenings (5-7pm) I was told they were upstairs in the rooftop bar, which opened at 5pm. This is not true, and free wine is served in the lounge. Visited the Rooftop Bar anyway - the view is very good, but the staff appeared hesitant to serve you due to language inability. It is also extremely expensive, with 2 draft beers and 2 glasses of white wine costing almost Yen10,000 (US$100).

The key attraction for the Andaz I believe is the room and the view. The room was stunning - on the 50th floor (1 floor below the reception area), very well furnished, and amazingly quiet. The wall to ceiling windows offer breathtaking views, and the full-length sofa next to the window allows you to sit back and enjoy the view with the complementary non-alcoholic drinks from the mini-bar. The shower has a raindrop as well as a hand-held showerhead, and the round bath is deep and perfect for 2 people. The window also has black-out shades which render the room completely dark - perfect if ambient light is annoying.

The Spa and fitness centres are also worth visiting. With extremely attentive staff willing to help you with Spa appointments and how to use fitness equipment, there were a number of plunge baths available to help relieve any stress evident.

I had breakfast at the Andaz Tavern restaurant - I admit I was taken back by the lack of selection offered, and the limited choices available. I have stayed at Hyatt Places with more breakfast selections than the Andaz Toranomon Hills. I believe this might be due to the hotel's promotion of offering free breakfast. However, I was paying, and to pay almost Yen10,000 for two people for a small bircher museli and a juice, with a side of passionfruit each, seemed a bit excessive.

At check-out, trying to get back to the airport, I was informed that the limousine bus does not stop at the Andaz. I was told to go to the Okura Hotel nearby, but informed that the last bus left at 3pm (I needed a 4pm bus). I instead traveled to the nearby Grand Hyatt Roppongi Hills to get the Limousine bus. You can probably imagine my surprise when I discovered the bus pulling into the Hotel Okura.... I think the staff need to improve their transportation and local area knowledge, but this will probably come in time.

In all, I would probably recommend the Andaz Toranomon Hills as a perfect place for businessmen to stay, given the limited shopping and entertainment areas nearby. It is also perfect for a romantic getaway - however be prepared to pay for the view, particularly in the restaurant and rooftop Bar.

Room Tip: The rooms are amazing, so I do not believe anyone will have trouble with selecting a great room with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank TheLongestHair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndazTokyoToranomon, マネージャー at Andaz Tokyo Toranomon Hills, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Dear TheLongestHair,

Thank you very much for your constructive feedback.
We are definitely trying everyday to improve the service offered.
We hope this will be visible when you next come and visit.

Best regards

Arnaud de Saint-Exupéry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014 via mobile

Checked in for my first visit thus evening. To the train to narita and a taxi to the hotel. Hotel is in a quite location. Views are fantastic and the room are pretty nine. I have not tried the food or the pool yet. My room is on the 48th with a view of the palace. Only surprising part. They sat free non-alcoholic beverages on your mini room but you are only allowed to ask for one replacement per day. Mine had coke, diet and water. So If I drank them, I could ask for one on each day for the next three days. Very strange!

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank Partsunknown123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndazTokyoToranomon, マネージャー at Andaz Tokyo Toranomon Hills, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Dear Partsunknown123,

Thank you for your feedback.

Next time you come, you can also be in the Andaz Lounge and enjoy coffee or tea in the morning or a glass of wine in the evening (18 to 20.00).

We look forward to having you back.
Best regards

Arnaud de Saint-Exupéry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
172 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

We stayed in the first week of this hotel's opening. Whilst it was a little hard to find the place on foot, it was worth it. The casual check in where you sit in lounges and are served a beverage whilst a "host" comes to you would have to be the best check in process yet. The rooms start on the 47th - 50th floor of this building. Great views.
The rooms themselves are amazing. The bathroom is the size of a small apartment, where you can lock off parts for the bathroom, the dressing room, etc. The bath is a small pool!
The timber desks were a beautiful touch and the floor to ceiling glass opens up the entire room to a gorgeous view no matter where you are. And block out electric blinds for sleeping!
At best it is a 5 min walk from the closest metro, but there seems to be a lot of stuff opening up around. It was good to look out at the heart of Tokyo without having to be in the centre of the craziness that is the heart of Tokyo.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robyn31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndazTokyoToranomon, マネージャー at Andaz Tokyo Toranomon Hills, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Dear Robyn31,

Thank you very much for your feedback as we have just opened.
We look forward to having you back.

Best regards

Arnaud de Saint-Exupery
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minato
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Conrad Tokyo
Conrad Tokyo
#1 of 106 in Minato
4.5 of 5 stars 2,419 reviews
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo
Shinjuku
Park Hyatt Tokyo
Park Hyatt Tokyo
#1 of 79 in Shinjuku
4.5 of 5 stars 2,393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Akasaka / Roppongi
The Ritz-Carlton, Tokyo
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Shangri-La Hotel, Tokyo
Akasaka / Roppongi
Grand Hyatt Tokyo
Grand Hyatt Tokyo
#5 of 106 in Minato
4.5 of 5 stars 1,518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andaz Tokyo Toranomon Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andaz Tokyo Toranomon Hills

Property: Andaz Tokyo Toranomon Hills
Address: 1-23-4 Toranomon, Minato 105-0001, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato > Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Minato
#3 Spa Hotel in Minato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Andaz Tokyo Toranomon Hills 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon, Booking.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Andaz Tokyo Toranomon Hills reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andaz Tokyo Toranomon Hills Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing