We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“My Favourite Tokyo Hotel !” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Grand Fresa Akasaka

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Grand Fresa Akasaka
Ranked #15 of 107 Hotels / Ryokan in Minato
Certificate of Excellence
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
195 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“My Favourite Tokyo Hotel !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

Whenever I get the chance I try and stay at the Grand Fresa. Akasaka is my all time favourite area in Tokyo, from great selection of small Japanese restaurants in the area, the short walk to Midtown, Roppongi Hills and short train ride to Shibuya. A recommended location for everyone.
The hotel is clean and well maintained with clean rooms and a large bathroom.
Rooms are small as per most Tokyo Hotels, but still you won't regret a stay here.

Room Tip: All Rooms are Great, I prefer the Non Smoking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ken1777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    167
    32
    2
    2
See reviews for
38
134
39
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Malaysia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

Akasaka area is so lovely, with a great selection of nice eating places and other convenient shops. It is also peaceful, clean and picturesque and quite conveniently located without the hustle and bustle of Shibuya and Shinjuku. Grand Fresa has a nice lobby and the front desk staff provided with very good service. I was quite shocked at how teeny the room was as it looked bigger than the picture! However, at least the bathroom was of a decent size and fully stocked with good toiletries and amenities. Our queen size bed had a nice firm pillow, and a pathetic floppy pillow so be sure to request for an additional firm pillow, if not be prepared to wake up to an aching neck the next day.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NeemandMonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco Bay Area
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

Akasaka is my favorite area to stay in Tokyo, due to close proximity to both business and fun places, and very convenient access to multiple subway lines and stations (Akasaka, Akasaka-mitsuke, Tameike-sanno). I've stayed in Akasaka close to 10 times, and this hotel is in the running for one of my favorites. Grand Fresa is right next to the #6 exit from Akasaka station (open 6am-10pm), or just an additional 100 ft from exits#5ab. The hotel is right next to a Family Mart, and next to exit 5 is a reasonably large Maruetsu Petit grocery store. Akasaka is a business district, so there are lots of great places for lunch and dinner, and it is quiet in the evenings. My room was on the annex, which had good windows so the room was very quiet at all times. I had a corner room, and it had a small kitchen bar (sink, microwave, hot water pot, coffee), standard desk, full-sized bed large enough for two medium-sized people, and mini-fridge. The hotel gives you two water bottles, a nice clean robe, toiletries, and they have extra nice things like bath salts, tea, and face masks in the lobby. The lobby staff's English can be hit or miss, so if you speak absolutely no Japanese be aware that it may be an occasional inconvenience. The staff was very friendly and helpful at all times. If the person staffing didn't have good English skills, they would get another staff whose English was better immediately. Free wifi throughout the hotel had good signal strength at all times that I used it. It was not great for Skype, but perfectly adequate for everything else. Very light breakfast in lobby cafe for 600 yen includes tea/juice/coffee and things like toast with egg or croque monsieur. Can't vouch for how universally accessible the hotel is to those who need it. Hot water immediate and very good water pressure. Modern design in the hotel rooms and throughout the hotel. The hotel is fairly new (< ten years old) and everything is very nicely kept up, it could pass for being less than 5 yrs old. I got a good deal online for 8500 yen per night, but a couple months earlier I had been able to book the hotel for 6500 yen a night - which was a total steal. I needed to add on a night, at 10600 yen, which was a great value I felt, considering you can pay 10000 yen/night for a mid-level hotel with mediocre facilities and smaller space in a worse location. Highly recommend for those travelers who like convenient locations, but don't feel like staying in Shibuya or Roppongi. Definitely would stay here again, and feel that even the full price is really good value.

Room Tip: Corner room in annex was both well-sized (for Tokyo) and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TMLK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

Metro exit just next to the hotel, as well as big number of bars and restaurants makes this hotel a very good choise in the price group. The rooms are small but clean and nice. You can get airport bus service from Akasaka Exel Hotel Tokyu. Hotel staff will make a reservation for you.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kanneltaja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
81 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

The hotel is in a very convenient location only a few steps from a metro station and several others within 10 min walk so it makes getting around Tokyo very easy. The area around the hotel is full of restaurants of various prices and standards so it was great to not have to travel far after a long day of sightseeing.
The staff at the hotel were friendly and helpful, bringing an iron to my room within minutes of the request.
As for the rooms as other reviewers have stated, they are quite small. We stayed in a superior room that was located in the annex building and my parents stayed in a standard room in the main building. While we managed to put both our suitcase out in order to use them , my parents were not able to manage this and they had to store their's standing up and open on the bed due to the limited space. Not a huge problem but just required a bit of faffing.
We had a mini kitchenette in our superior room which allowed us to store some food for breakfast. There is a coffee shop located at the hotel and you can buy vouchers to get a simple breakfast at the café. It's nothing fancy and could get quite busy but the Croque monsieur was a good option.
For the price I would stay here again despite the small rooms, which are pretty standard in Japan.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Philippa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

End up at Akasaka,near roppongi area,the area is vibrant place at nite, a combination of office building and eatery, entertainment area. The hotel is accros the akasaka station. Small room,clean and just all you need for great tokyo exploring based. The smart toilet, with warm seat and bidet is fun to enjoy. Amenities provided by the hotel in big bottles, shiseido brand. Smooth check in, in the receptionist area, the hotel provide amenities for women facial amenities to try...beautiful stuff. Our room comes with breakfast, yummy selection of bread and boiled eggs. Bed is comfy and clean, room equipped with steam press ironing. Near the hotel, have convienient store, and try the eel rice next to convinient shop..its yummy. overall, recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sandy-lnhl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
65 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

We stayed at the Grand Fresa 6 nights. The location is great - many restaurants (local at all levels, and even a Starbucks next building, a great option for breakfast) and convenience stores, 1 minute walk from the Akasaka station which is 1 station away from linkage to all the main lines in Tokyo, and yet a more quiet neighborhood which is much appreciated after long days in hectic and crazy Tokyo. The hotel is spotless clean, the staff is nice although quite limited English. The only thing is that the room is tiny, yet that seems to be the standard in Tokyo at this price range. So if you want to stay on this budget level - don't hesitate!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rellyad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minato
Akasaka / Roppongi
Hotel Monterey Akasaka
Hotel Monterey Akasaka
#20 of 107 in Minato
4.0 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
Hotel Mystays Asakusa-bashi
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Park Hotel Tokyo
Park Hotel Tokyo
#6 of 107 in Minato
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku
Ochanomizu / Akihabara / Kanda
Hotel Niwa Tokyo
Hotel Niwa Tokyo
#8 of 70 in Chiyoda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,851 reviews
Akasaka / Roppongi
Centurion Hotel Grand Akasaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grand Fresa Akasaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grand Fresa Akasaka

Property: Hotel Grand Fresa Akasaka
Address: 6-3-17 Akasaka, Minato 107-0052, Tokyo Prefecture (Formerly Chisun Grand Akasaka)
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato > Akasaka / Roppongi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Minato
#8 Spa Hotel in Minato
#16 Romantic Hotel in Minato
#25 Family Hotel in Minato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Grand Fresa Akasaka 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Grand Fresa Akasaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chisun Grand Akasaka Minato
Chisun Grand Akasaka Hotel
Hotel Grand Fresa Akasaka Tokyo, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing