We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“One of my Favourite Tokyo Hotels” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Grand Fresa Akasaka

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Grand Fresa Akasaka
Ranked #15 of 107 Hotels / Ryokan in Minato
Certificate of Excellence
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
195 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“One of my Favourite Tokyo Hotels”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

This has always been one of my Favourite Areas of Tokyo to stay in including this hotel, which used to be Chisun Grand.
The rooms a small, but bathroom is larger then most, bed in comfortable and entrance to metro across the road.
Plenty of place to eat in the area, and a short walk to Midtown and Roppongi.
Give it a try.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken1777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    167
    32
    2
    2
See reviews for
38
134
39
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
152 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

There was not so big room, but enough size for business person like me. Also there were clean, air refresher machine was. There were good amenities. I got face-lotion,face soap from front desk. Location also very good. It was in front of Akasaka station. around hotel, there are a lot of convenience store, restaurants and Izakaya. I really recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sawaty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

We were here for three days while exploring the city. The rooms are very typical of business type hotels, VERY small. The bathroom size is large however. In comparison. I was not happy about the service. There were a couple of different instances. It is a good location. Just a min to the subway. There are restaurants within walking distance but it is not a very happening, it is casual which is nice.
My biggest complaint is not the area but the help!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BradyBraun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

Great location, small rooms but great value. Have had friends stay since. Akasaka restaurants minutes away. Great helpful staff who spoke good english. Is above the subway which can take you straight to omtesando and shibuya. Loved it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wizzbong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

In mid Jan 2013 we stayed at Grand Fresa Hotel in Akasaka Tokyo.

We were there for 6 days and had a standard double room plus a triple room for our three children. As you would expect of Japanese hotels, the rooms are small by western standards but as long as you keep your stuff tidy they are plenty big enough. The rooms we had were western style and the beds were very comfortable. My 18 year old son found the bed a bit short for him but he is 6 feet tall. Bathrooms were small but practical and everything is very clean.

The rooms appeared to be very quite but too our surprise the whole city was incredibly quite anyway so the rooms don't need any special sound proofing. There are only 3 rooms on each floor of the second building where we were (and we had 2 of them)) so noise from other guests was also not a problem.

The location is great for restaurants. There are more than you could possible need and all in walking distance. If this is your first time in Japan there is an all chicken restaurant across the road called "Yaki Tori" that is a great introduction to the Japanese restaurant routine with one staff member who speaks excellent English and is happy to explain how everything is done.
The hotel's breakfast options looked to be over priced compared to local offerings outside so we didn't use the hotel option for breakfast.

The hotel is almost on top of the C06 subway station so transport is easy. Although you do need to change lines a few times to get to some of the popular tourist sites.
We used Bookings.com to book our rooms and it seemed good value to us although this was our first time in Tokyo so we don't have much to compare it to.

Overall we were very happy with our experience at Grand Fresa Hotel Akasaka.

Room Tip: Street front rooms have a more interesting view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GregQF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

The Grand Fresa is very well located on a main street in Akasaka, walking distance to Midtown, Roppongi Hills and just two minutes from Akasaka underground station.

The rooms are quite small, very small actually with very little space for moving around freely but the bathroom is excellent and the hotel is very generous with all amenities, bathrobes, slippers, tea, coffee,.... which makes the stay more comfortable.

The hotel staff were very friendly and overall stay of five days was very enjoyable. Would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SamarDani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Grand Fresa December 2012/January 2013. Although the room was small it was clean and staff helpful. Akasaka area is great area to stay. We walked to Imperial Palace, Tokyo Station and Tokyo Tower and underground access across the road from hotel which is very convenient.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AMGVVAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minato
Akasaka / Roppongi
Hotel Monterey Akasaka
Hotel Monterey Akasaka
#22 of 107 in Minato
4.0 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
Hotel Mystays Asakusa-bashi
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Park Hotel Tokyo
Park Hotel Tokyo
#6 of 107 in Minato
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ochanomizu / Akihabara / Kanda
Hotel Niwa Tokyo
Hotel Niwa Tokyo
#8 of 70 in Chiyoda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,852 reviews
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku
Akasaka / Roppongi
Centurion Hotel Grand Akasaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grand Fresa Akasaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grand Fresa Akasaka

Property: Hotel Grand Fresa Akasaka
Address: 6-3-17 Akasaka, Minato 107-0052, Tokyo Prefecture (Formerly Chisun Grand Akasaka)
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato > Akasaka / Roppongi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Minato
#8 Best Value Hotel in Minato
#16 Romantic Hotel in Minato
#25 Family Hotel in Minato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Grand Fresa Akasaka 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Grand Fresa Akasaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chisun Grand Akasaka Minato
Chisun Grand Akasaka Hotel
Hotel Grand Fresa Akasaka Tokyo, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing