We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Good Neighborhood, Good Room” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Grand Fresa Akasaka

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Grand Fresa Akasaka
Ranked #15 of 107 Hotels / Ryokan in Minato
Certificate of Excellence
TX
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good Neighborhood, Good Room”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

Akasaka is a great neighborhood- A quiet haven in greater Tokyo. There are some good peaceful walks that don't take you too far from the hotel. The Akasaka Imperial Palace was about a 15-20 minute walk, and the parks around it are nice.
Chiyoda line is actually very convenient, probably moreso than some of the other reviews suggest. Just two stops down is Meiji-Jingumae/Harajuku. Here you can explore the Meiji Shrine. Also, that stop is convenient for a 100 Yen Daiso store in Harajuku- Awesome for souvenirs.

The room itself was actually a little bit larger that we expected- About the size of a Microtel room in the US. We have stayed in smaller rooms. Wired Internet was also good. We were watching an online video stream at 200Kbps without any buffering.

A few gripes: We were only provided two pillows- and one was paper-thin. The plumbing for the shower wasn't the best. The hot water knob seemed to be a little loose, so the dial would actually vibrate and turn during a shower, making the temperature fluctuate some. And of course- the $10 to wash and dry one load of laundry is a bit steep.

Overall, a good clean property- just don't expect fancy. I would stay again if I was on a fairly tight budget.

Room Tip: Akasaka exit 6 closes at 10PM. For the East Wing of the hotel, ice and laundry are on 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bayoubabsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    167
    32
    2
    2
See reviews for
38
134
39
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

My husband and I visited Tokyo for the 3rd consecutive year in Dec 2012.. this is the first time we stayed at the Grand Fresa. Definitely very easy access from the Akasaka station, Chiyoda line, exit C6 and its just a minute away when you get onto the street level. Take the marunochi line to kokai-gijidomae, and change to akasaka station - found this was the best way (esp with luggage). Hotel room was small as expected, but still very new and well maintained. Staff was attentive, friendly, helpful and efficient. Many restaurants along the road as well. Very nice that they provided 2 bottles of water every day. Overal, we had a lovely stay and will definitely stay at the Grand Fresa again if we come back to Tokyo a 4th time!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Weifong28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
39 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

Stayed here with my husband and 8 year old for 3 nights in Nov 12. The room they gave had a separate but tiny room for my son small enough to fit his bed, a window, and a tv on the wall. The bathroom was small but adequate. The room was cleaned daily and 3 bottles of water were provided free every day. We did not have the breakfast option but this was not a problem. Also, the checkin was quick, and the hotel kept our luggage after we checked out so we could explore more on the last day.The location is near the subway exit though not many lines cross C6 Akasaka. From Tokyo AP, we took the NEX and got a suica deal too. From tokyo station, we decided to ride the train. On hindsight, it might have been better to just take a cab with all the luggage, since not all stations had elevators. The hotel is near convenience stores, a supermarket, and a starbucks. The neighborhood is pretty decent and quiet and it was a good base to explore Tokyo. If we go to Tokyo with my son, we will stay here again compared to Sunroute in Shinjuku which was teeny tiny.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GissyWissy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, ca
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

I stayed at this hotel in May 2012 for 10 days. It was an excellent experience and the only reason it did not earn five stars from me was because there was no wifi in the room. I had to go to the lobby for wifi. Other than that, the staff is friendly, the location is excellent because it is 50 feet away from the Akasaka Metro entrance, and the hotel is very clean. This was my first time in Tokyo and I traveled alone and I had no problems finding this hotel. I took the train from Narita to the Ueno train station, transferred to the metro (Chiyoda line) and got off at exit 5 or 6 at the Akasaka Metro station and the hotel was right there. The city of Akasaka is clean and conveniently located next to Roppongi where all the night life is. You can take the metro to Roppongi or just walk for 20 minutes to Roppongi. From what I could tell, the Akasaka area is a business area, so there are not a lot of tourists which is what I prefer. But you're close enough to the nightlife and once you learn how to use the metro system, you can get anywhere. This hotel is a great value, I paid $86 per night for a 10 night stay and I would definitely stay at this hotel again. I would even pay as much as $100 per night to stay here.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dsm H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012 via mobile

We booked grand fresa as our second hotel in tokyo within a month. Compared to our previous hotel close to shinjuku the rooms were tiny, bed comfortble and the location average
The room had only wired internet so you cant use your tablet or smartphone in the room and the speed of network was far from high-speed
Area is nice and cosy. Lots of good restaurants within walking distamce. There are 3 different metro starions next to hotel, best being aksaka-mitsuke that we used the most as it goes to most tourist places

Helpful?
Thank kaaputin
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

This is a great hotel in a quiet street in Akasaka. Rooms are small, but clean and nice. Metrostation nearby, and easy connected to some of the main stations of Tokyo, where you can change lines and easily travel to the rest of Tokyo.The area is quiet at nighttime, but you can easily walking to Roppongi and several other areas where there's party party.
A lot of restaurants and some shopping just around the corner. Wifi in the lobby where really good, and the next door cafe had nice breakfast. Not too expensive to be Tokyo, and a perfect place to start the holidays.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaia Helene H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

Stayed here for 5 nights while being a tourist in Tokyo.

Very well located in Akasaka, really one minute from the Metro and walking distance from Roppongi (good if you're out partying till late when the Metro is closed) and from lots of tourist attractions. The hotel seems popular with Japanese businessmen and foreigners as well.

I stayed in a single and yes the room is on the small side, but the space is well organized and very functional, so it really felt comfortable.

I arrived late at night, and was given a room that to me smelled like smoke. The night receptionist did not agree with that it smelled smoke, but I was given another room nevertheless. Great service!

Breakfast was not included in the low rate i was paying, but you can buy it as an extra from the hotel or you could just have it at one of the many places around.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank theycallmej0hn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minato
Akasaka / Roppongi
Hotel Monterey Akasaka
Hotel Monterey Akasaka
#22 of 107 in Minato
4.0 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
Hotel Mystays Asakusa-bashi
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Park Hotel Tokyo
Park Hotel Tokyo
#6 of 107 in Minato
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ochanomizu / Akihabara / Kanda
Hotel Niwa Tokyo
Hotel Niwa Tokyo
#8 of 70 in Chiyoda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,852 reviews
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku
Akasaka / Roppongi
Centurion Hotel Grand Akasaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grand Fresa Akasaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grand Fresa Akasaka

Property: Hotel Grand Fresa Akasaka
Address: 6-3-17 Akasaka, Minato 107-0052, Tokyo Prefecture (Formerly Chisun Grand Akasaka)
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato > Akasaka / Roppongi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Minato
#8 Spa Hotel in Minato
#16 Romantic Hotel in Minato
#25 Family Hotel in Minato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Grand Fresa Akasaka 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Grand Fresa Akasaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chisun Grand Akasaka Minato
Chisun Grand Akasaka Hotel
Hotel Grand Fresa Akasaka Tokyo, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing