We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second visit and just as happy.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Hotel Monterey Akasaka
Ranked #21 of 112 Hotels / Ryokan in Minato
Reviewed April 17, 2014

This was my second visit to Japan and I decided to stay in a familiar place. The service was great. the room small but very comfortable. Close to Akasaka-Mitsuke Station with numerous lines heading to all of the Tokyo favourites. There is a good number of bars and restaurants in the area as well. The Ninja Restaurant is just down the hill. Would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shane K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monakasaka, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Hotel Monterey Akasaka, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2014

What great feedback we have received from you!
The team and I are delighted to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay here at the Conrad Tokyo.
Thank you so much for your compliments on our service and convenient location.
Come back soon and we look forward to serving you again, hopefully in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (578)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Monterey Akasaka
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

153 - 159 of 578 reviews

Reviewed January 1, 2014

Not much to fault this little boutique hotel, situated in a quieter part of a buzzling town. Its about 7 mins walk from the subway, very nice and convenient walk. The check in was standard and straightforward.

Very clean hotel both the common area and the rooms - the room was quite typical of a Japanese hotel, quite small but compact with all that your require in a hotel room. I love the fact that it had free wifi inside the room - its not all that common to have access to free wifi in Japan. The bathroom was pretty neat and especially enjoyed the powerful shower.

Just across the road there is a small temple which we visited during our last day in the rain.

Overall v satisfied with the hotel and would consider staying again next time.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ilovejapan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monakasaka, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Hotel Monterey Akasaka, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2014

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We greatly appreciate your positive comments on the Hotel Monterey AKASAKA and are pleased to know that you enjoyed staying with us.
Thank you again and we hope to welcome you back again soon on your next visit to Tokyo.
Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Sweetly service, goods, and good location. The humidifier in the room that is so great for us. Btw, they would receive the packages in the internet. I'll go to Monterey hotel next time. The trip is so good.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chiaen Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monakasaka, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Hotel Monterey Akasaka, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2015

Thank you for choosing to stay with us on this visit to Tokyo and we are delighted to receive your positive comments regarding our great location, convenient connection to the Tokyo Metro, and breakfast. Thank you also for your comments regarding our restaurants and service which we have share with our team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

This is a very nice business-type hotel, but it worked great for us tourists too. We had a standard double room, which had all the amenities you'd like in a very small space. There was still ample room for both our suitcases, and we weren't bumping into each other walking around, but roomy it was not. The bathroom was fine, with a normal-sized shower and the typically amazing Japanese toilet. The staff's English was hit-or-miss, but wasn't a problem, and they were happy to hold our bags for us after checkout for our late-night flight.

Location-wise, the hotel was nice and centrally located, about a 10-minute walk to a metro station serving two lines. Thanks to the efficiency of the subway, we never were more than about 15 minutes ride from our destination. There are also many restaurants and bars near the hotel, covering every price range. If we returned, we might look to stay in another neighborhood, but more out of curiosity rather than of dissatisfaction.

Room Tip: We asked for a room as far from the lifts as possible. It was very quiet, which was great, but I bel...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Donovan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monakasaka, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Hotel Monterey Akasaka, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2015

Thank you for choosing to stay with us on this visit to Tokyo and we are delighted to receive your positive comments regarding our great location, convenient connection to the Tokyo Metro, and breakfast. Thank you also for your comments regarding our restaurants and service which we have share with our team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

The hotel is located close to some restaurants and bars. The rooms are, as so often in Tokyo, very very small. The bathroom is OK. But the aircondition too weak, hence very hot for sleeping. I did not try breakfast. Service wwas friendly and efficient. Low price (around 140 EUR/night).

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BjoernBS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

This was my first, and it was also the best hotel during my vacation in Japan.
Origininally it is a buisness hotel, so the room wasnt that big (Single room), but it was not tiny, like many other hotels in Japan. It had a desk, a very clean and comfortable bathroom, and I slept very well. Wi-Fi worked without any problems.
The staff was very friendly, they spoke English, and all my questions requests were answered without any problems. The access to the metro was quite good, there are many lines avaible from the Akasaka-Mitsuke station, it isnt that far from Tokyo station.
I had no breakfast and I dont ate at the hotel, I never do, so I cant say anything about that.
But there is one negative point: There was no view from my room, but that wasnt bad, because I slept like a baby. And who wants to stay all day in the room, Tokyo has so much to offer! Room was very quiet and temperature was good.
I would recommend this hotel. It was great.
Arigatou gozaimashita!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cloudi7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Monterey_Group, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Hotel Monterey Akasaka, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

Dear Cloudi7,
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to post your comments.
We are grateful to you for your compliments of our service and facilties.

Please accept our apologies for the lack of views in some of the guest rooms.
In a congested area in Tokyo, it is almost unavoidable for the adjacent buildings to be so close to our own.

For your information, on our hotel website we offer the best rates along with various stay plans and detailed hotel information. Please visit the site at your convenience. We now have 18 properties across the nation, all in optimal location.
Thank you once again for your patronage, and we look forward to welcoming you again.
Sincere regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We stayed recently at the Hotel Monterey in Akasaka. We were forewarned of the smallness of the room so it did not come as quite the shock that it would have. We found the hotel to be quite comfortable. The staff were all very helpful and friendly. The location is not far from the subway station where the trains will take you to anywhere in Tokyo at very little cost. Lots of bars and cafes in the area but be careful of the "Table Charge" - a cost for just sitting at one of the tables in some cafes - a total rip-off.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mikejordan99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monakasaka, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Hotel Monterey Akasaka, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2015

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We greatly appreciate your positive comments on the Hotel Monterey AKASAKA and are pleased to know that you enjoyed staying with us.
Thank you again and we hope to welcome you back again soon on your next visit to Tokyo.
Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minato
Akasaka / Roppongi
Hotel Grand Fresa Akasaka
Hotel Grand Fresa Akasaka
#29 of 112 in Minato
359 reviews
Akasaka / Roppongi
Hotel Risveglio Akasaka
Hotel Risveglio Akasaka
#32 of 112 in Minato
103 reviews
Akasaka / Roppongi
Akasaka Excel Hotel Tokyu
Akasaka Excel Hotel Tokyu
#19 of 75 in Chiyoda
859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Yotsuya / Iidabashi
Hotel Monterey Hanzomon
Hotel Monterey Hanzomon
#17 of 75 in Chiyoda
955 reviews
Akasaka / Roppongi
HOTEL MYSTAYS PREMIER Akasaka
Akasaka / Roppongi
Centurion Hotel Grand Akasaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monterey Akasaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monterey Akasaka

Address: 4-9-24 Akasaka, Minato 107-0052, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato > Akasaka / Roppongi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Minato
#18 Romantic Hotel in Minato
#23 Business Hotel in Minato
Price Range: $78 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Monterey Akasaka 3.5*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel recreates the style of a London townhouse, combining classical elegance with modern practicality, ensuring the building blends in well with the plush surroundings of Aoyama-dori. In addition, the stylish grey and white facade, mixed with soft tones of limestone, provide a splendid contrast to the greenery around Akasaka. Meanwhile, the central location means that for business and leisure travellers alike, it is extremely convenient for access to the major hubs of Shibuya, Shinjuku and Tokyo Station. Please come and enjoy a relaxing and leisurely stay in the midst of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Rakuten, Expedia, Fastbooking, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, JAPANiCAN, Priceline, KNT-CT Holdings Co.,Ltd.(YOKOSO Japan), Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Monterey Akasaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Akasaka Minato
Monterey Akasaka Hotel Minato
Hotel Monterey Akasaka Tokyo, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing