We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Excellent internet connectivity Jan 2013” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Monterey Akasaka

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Monterey Akasaka
Ranked #18 of 105 Hotels / Ryokan in Minato
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent internet connectivity Jan 2013”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

I've stayed elsewhere in Akasa at hotels in the same price range on previous business trips and have been disappointed in their internet connectivity. I've had problems ranging from having no wireless connectivity at other properties to having very slow connections. The Monterey allowed me to connect all of my devices and I was able to use Skype to attend calls during US business hours. I'll be coming back to the Monterey for the value for the price! Regarding transportation from the airport, take the Airport Limousine bus to the Akasaka Excel hotel. It's a bit of a walk to the Monterey but as long as your luggage has good wheels the price of that Airport "limousine" bus is so reasonable that the little bit of exercise is not a problem.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KCG2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    266
    63
    8
    5
See reviews for
83
148
84
129
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

My husband, my 5yr-old and I stayed in this quiet hotel at the end of July 2012/start Aug 2012. It is a clean and comfortable hotel with abundance supply of toiletries (from body wash to shampoo/conditioner & toothpaste/toothbrush). The pressure on my shower was excellent! The hotel's vicinity is perfect for a stroll to and fro the metro station and nearby eateries. We particularly liked 'Ootoya' (near the metro station). They have excellent Japanese food (i.e. udon soup, all sorts of tempura and various rice toppings! yum!). Open 24hrs and reasonably priced - we were there everyday, eating before embarking on our sight seeing to other district :) . There are nearby convenience stores like 7-eleven if one would take the back street and Lawson & Starbucks coffee shop on the same street. We took the airport limousine and dropped us off from the nearby hotel (forgot the name) @ Tokyu Plaza which is located at the other end of the metro station (across the street about 10 minute walk to Hotel Monterey - not a bad walk). Helpful front desk staff although stoic and limited English (not major flaw). Bottom line, we had a great time!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Elle_in_Shibuya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

It's a nice hotel, relatively inexpensive, in a nice neighborhood, and close to everything by subway. It makes a nice base to explore the city and since the rooms are small you will probably only sleep and shower here. There is nothing exceptional about the place, but it fits the basic needs and is quite clean and well run. One odd thing, there is no english translations of the hotel information in the room, and the TV operation appears to be menu based and again no english -- not a problem for us...but thought someone might care.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank lunamui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
83 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

This hotel (part of a chain) tries to portray itself as a type of British colonial styled hotel. However, when you get to the rooms they are the small and typical Japan style.

The worst part was that the air conditioning in my room would cut out spontaneously in the middle of the night and the room would become unbearably warm.

The rooms were clean and the amenities in the bathroom adequate.

Both the wired internet and WiFi worked well.

The breakfast was standard without much variation and buffet style though the chocolate croissants were quite nice.

The staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RuAlAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here for a business trip and the hotel was selected by the Japanese business partners. The staff was very helpful and friendly as it is normal un Japan. They served european and Japanese breakfast, both quite good. The room was clean and fully equipped with water cooker and free Internet. I could get an iron calling the front desk. This they understood, otherwise the English was limited. The rooms were very small, opening mz suitcase I couldn't walk in the room anymore. There is an airport limo 10min walking distance away.
The rooms where not expensive at all, so I can recommend it.

Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank yoyannik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

Stayed at this hotel in February 2012 due to its close proximity to the Canadian embassy. The area around the hotel is very nice and the subway is just a short walk down the street. Room was clean and comfortable, with TV and internet connection. Taxi from airport to hotel was pricey.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EGToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monakasaka, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Hotel Monterey Akasaka, responded to this review, January 28, 2015
Warm greetings from Hotel Monterey AKASAKA and thank you for your very kind words regarding your recent stay with us,which we have also shared with our management team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minato
Akasaka / Roppongi
Hotel Grand Fresa Akasaka
Hotel Grand Fresa Akasaka
#15 of 105 in Minato
4.0 of 5 stars 282 reviews
Akasaka / Roppongi
Akasaka Excel Hotel Tokyu
Akasaka Excel Hotel Tokyu
#17 of 69 in Chiyoda
4.0 of 5 stars 726 reviews
Ochanomizu / Akihabara / Kanda
Hotel Niwa Tokyo
Hotel Niwa Tokyo
#8 of 69 in Chiyoda
4.5 of 5 stars 1,742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Yotsuya / Iidabashi
Hotel Monterey Hanzomon
Hotel Monterey Hanzomon
#18 of 69 in Chiyoda
4.0 of 5 stars 826 reviews
Akasaka / Roppongi
Centurion Hotel Grand Akasaka
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Park Hotel Tokyo
Park Hotel Tokyo
#6 of 105 in Minato
4.5 of 5 stars 2,587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monterey Akasaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monterey Akasaka

Property: Hotel Monterey Akasaka
Address: 4-9-24 Akasaka, Minato 107-0052, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato > Akasaka / Roppongi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Minato
#18 Romantic Hotel in Minato
#23 Business Hotel in Minato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Monterey Akasaka 3.5*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel recreates the style of a London townhouse, combining classical elegance with modern practicality, ensuring the building blends in well with the plush surroundings of Aoyama-dori. In addition, the stylish grey and white facade, mixed with soft tones of limestone, provide a splendid contrast to the greenery around Akasaka. Meanwhile, the central location means that for business and leisure travellers alike, it is extremely convenient for access to the major hubs of Shibuya, Shinjuku and Tokyo Station. Please come and enjoy a relaxing and leisurely stay in the midst of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with JAPANiCAN, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Fastbooking, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Monterey Akasaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Akasaka Minato
Monterey Akasaka Hotel Minato
Hotel Monterey Akasaka Tokyo, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing