We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favorite in Tokyo”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Tokyo
Ranked #3 of 112 Hotels / Ryokan in Minato
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 23, 2013

This is always my favorite hotel in Tokyo. Service is top-notch, ritz standard.
Location, lovely garden at the front of the hotel, a nice break from the busy city. If you prefer lots of shopping and sightseeing , may be you'll prefer staying in the shinjuku or shibuya area.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 6T-HKG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,610)
There are newer reviews for The Ritz-Carlton, Tokyo
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

701 - 707 of 1,610 reviews

Reviewed May 18, 2013

Tokyo has so many hotels that even if you're delighted with where you've stayed before, it's worth sampling a few others. The Ritz-Carlton certainly stands out for its feeling of serenity. It's a relaxing retreat after a hectic day in the city, or a welcoming base if you're out to explore Roppongi Hills and Tokyo Midtown, two stops from Ginza and all connected underground. One evening when we stopped at the lobby bar, we had to admire the ice, which had that specially crafted only-in-Japan look to it. Perhaps that's the whole point of this place- slow down and savor everything a bit more. The view is different up there above it all.

Room Tip: If you're traveling on business, this is a hotel where your wife will be very happy
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robhnl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

The hotel is very well located near Roppongi Area with a beautiful park in front. The rooms were absolutely great with a fantastic view (mine was at 48th floor), the swimming pool at 46th floor overlooking the city is a must and the service impeccable. Great stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank potsino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

It has been around 6 months since I stayed there but some of the comments still apply:

Location is excellent. You are staying at Ritz, so you have money to spend I presume. You should be glad to know that there are upscale shopping options around you. Night life is also there but not with great quality (more girly bars than you would like to see)

Rooms are good, bathroom is worth mentioning (his & hers etc), but here is the detail: Room doors are little "buried" from the already quiet corridors, which means you have little or no disturbance from the passing by guests who can be inconsiderate with laughters from time to time.

Breakfast was typical - Ritz standard. Here is the thing: I love sweet potatoes and i asked them but they didnt have any. But the next morning they brought me some steamed sweet potatoes. That little caring detail is something you can expect from Ritz.

Lobby bar: What a disappointment. They charge a fee to the hotel guests for sitting at the bar. And the bar is really nothing special. What a shame. I repeat: What a shame. I refused to pay the fee (whatever that was - it is the principle). I hope they are not doing that anymore. You expect this sort of thing from a second rate hotel but not from Ritz. I hope somebody is reading this.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hk_3414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

If you are an avid Ritz fan, you will like it. Looks just the same like all the others and service is good. Nothing special however. All the wood paneling and old world charm feel out of date in a brand new hotel - to me anyway. Tokyo has many other new five star hotels: Peninsula, Four Seasons, etc. Even the two Hyatts have more going for them.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank B_Shao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I stayed here 3 nights for business in April 2013. Great location with excellent views, shops and restaurants. Beautiful park outside. Grocery store and bakery downstairs worth a try. Great nightlife across the street.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a view of Mt. Fuji
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EZD92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Following a very extensive research to pick a hotel in Tokyo I decided to go for the Ritz Carlton based on the quality and location.
After my stay I can bluntly state that it is one of the best city hotels I’ve ever stayed at. Here is why:

Pros:
- The hotel is located in the Roppongi area and sits above a very nice shopping center. Roppongi is very conveniently located to be accessed by subway (you’ll find detailed descriptions on the hotel web page).
- One of the very few hotels where the actual amenities/rooms are very similar if not exact the way presented on their web page
- Breathtaking views (for me this was a must for my stay in Tokyo)
- Extremely comfortable bed
- European sized rooms (way bigger than the average in Tokyo)
- Luxurious bathroom
- Very helpful concierge desk
- 5 star service all the way

Cons:
- Very expensive (although good) restaurants (much in line with other top notch restaurants in Tokyo)

Overall I can highly recommend this hotel if you are planning to stay in Tokyo and are not on a budget.

Room Tip: Booked a deluxe room without views to the Tokyo tower but the view was still stunning. Located at th...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nameover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minato
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Conrad Tokyo
Conrad Tokyo
#1 of 112 in Minato
3,018 reviews
Akasaka / Roppongi
Grand Hyatt Tokyo
Grand Hyatt Tokyo
#4 of 112 in Minato
1,942 reviews
Shinjuku
Park Hyatt Tokyo
Park Hyatt Tokyo
#1 of 83 in Shinjuku
2,934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Shangri-La Hotel, Tokyo
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
The Peninsula Tokyo
The Peninsula Tokyo
#6 of 75 in Chiyoda
1,702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Tokyo

Address: 9-7-1 Akasaka, Minato 107-6245, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato > Akasaka / Roppongi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Minato
#3 Luxury Hotel in Minato
#3 Spa Hotel in Minato
#4 Family Hotel in Minato
#10 Romantic Hotel in Minato
Price Range: $575 - $1,334 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Tokyo 5*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As guests alight from the elevator that takes them to the 45th floor of Tokyo's tallest building, they are greeted by a magnificent sky lobby that epitomizes one of the premier luxury hotels in this cosmopolitan city - The Ritz-Carlton, Tokyo. Occupying the top nine floors and the first three levels of the 53-story Midtown Tower, this five-star luxury hotel is located in the Roppongi District, which transfixes visitors with both its vibrant night life and centuries-old attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, JAPANiCAN, Rakuten, Marriott, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton Tokyo Hotel Minato
Ritz Carlton Minato
Ritz Tokyo
Minato Ritz-Carlton
The Ritz-Carlton, Tokyo Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing