We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Felt like a king!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Tokyo
Ranked #2 of 111 Hotels / Ryokan in Minato
Certificate of Excellence
Oakland, California
Level 6 Contributor
224 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Felt like a king!”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

This place is seriously high class. It’s luxurious, while still being warm, welcoming and comfy. Located atop a high-rise building, the hotel has commanding views of the city. As expected, the hotel has blow-your-mind service with usual Japanese courtesy and grace. Stay here to treat yourself to some well-deserved pampering.

Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank PeanutButters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,592 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,139
    286
    103
    34
    30
See reviews for
378
532
113
329
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York, USA
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in. The service is impeccable and the rooms are plush, beautiful and big. The King bed was one of the softest Ive ever slept in and the Toto bathroom- well you can imagine the options. The neighborhood is just fabulous with many high end restaurants, a huge starbucks for your morning coffee and a couple of metros close by. Its also easy to get from narita and haneda to this hotel because it has an entrance in the metro and you can walk right into the hotel.
I had to change two trains from narita but the subway system in Japan is so clean and efficient its much nicer than taking a cab which would cost you $300 for a one way ride from narita. The hotel has a bar which is lovely but pricey and they did try and charge us a cover which, we refused and were surprized by, since we were guests at the hotel. They waived it so maybe it was just a language issue. The concierge made all our restaurant reservations and helped us everyday with maps and directions.
We had a very good room service breakfast on our last day. Not the best Ive had but pretty good.

Room Tip: there arent too many hotels in Japan that will give u a king bed. So if you can get one at the Ritz...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spicelore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 448 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Service; phenomenal
Value; a bit pricey but worth the price
Sleep quality; once you stop worrying how much you are paying for the night you sleep like a baby
Cleanliness; it's Tokyo, everything is spotless
Location; great, walking distance to everything
Rooms; beautiful

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KaspXhotels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
688 reviews
160 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 251 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

I just returned from a week at the Ritz Carlton and there are many positives to list. The staff is wonderful and welcoming. The room was spacious and extremely comfortable and quiet. The views over the city ( the hotel is on the top floors of one of the tallest structures in the city) are astounding especially at night. The Spa and exercise facilities are excellent and well maintained. The concierge staff was very helpful with directions and dinner reservations.
I cannot compliment the staff at the Ritz enough. They are well trained and go out of their way to be polite and helpful.
The hotel has a number of restaurants and serves a breakfast buffet daily that was very good.
We ate dinner in the Japanese restaurant on New Years eve thinking it might be difficult to find a reservation off property. We had a wonderful traditional multi-course meal that was a great experience although it was insanely expensive. Given the holiday I tried not to think about it but when I got the bill it was hard not to feel a bit taken advantage of.
There is one other thing that prevents me from giving the hotel 5 stars. I like to stop at the hotel bar and have a nightcap when I travel but the Ritz bar charges a cover for what amounts to standard cocktail lounge music. Even if you sit at the bar for 1 drink you get hit with a cover charge every night. I think hotel guests should be able to enjoy a drink without a cover given that there is no other bar in the hotel.
The Ritz is above a complex that includes a great mall with some nice restaurants and access to the Metro without even stepping outside which is a nice convenience.
Again, overall I liked the hotel very much and would return but I'd dine elsewhere and find a nearby bar to avoid a very hefty bill at checkout.

Room Tip: Use the Metro access in the building to avoid weather and travel to any point in the city. Great foo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bccrab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Very helpful concierge. Club floor was worth it if you go several times a day... Food was decent, dessert was excellent, drinks were nice. Roppongi was great fun, and a fabulous place to be....
The hotel is really gorgeous. And new. Spa was lovely but is incredibly expensive.

Room Tip: Ask for a room for a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JAC0130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Everything about the hotel is luxurious, never mind the polished fixtures and fittings and fine fabrics, the sheer amount of space you are surrounded by is the most luxurious aspect of all. It's location in Midtown is very convenient for business across Tokyo, and the shopping centre and small adjoining park provide enough amusement for the business traveller with some spare time. The sushi bar in the hotel is excellent, it was mostly filled with Japanese guests which is a testament to its quality; the price was high but not outrageous, compared with other top-notch sushi restaurants in Tokyo. Like the room sizes and views, the room rates are stratospheric and only for the very well heeled (or us mere mortals on business), plus they are very firm about charging for a late checkout which was an unpleasant surprise to a Ritz-Carlton member. The latter is the reason I am reducing 'excellent' to 'very good'.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MMSCPSYH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markham, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012

I LOOOOOOOOOVED staying at the Ritz Tokyo when I went here in February. It was the best hotel I have ever stayed and the staff was extremely accommodating, friendly and even went out of their way to make our stay extra special. The moment we checked in, the concierge asked if we would like to upgrade our suit to a large romantic suit for only $40. We totally took this offer. Our room was amazing with a crazy view of the entire Tokyo City. We also enjoyed High Tea at the lobby lounge where the staff didn't even have to ask if we wanted a window seat. They automatically situated us right by a huge window and consistantly poured our tea as soon as our cups were empty. Now thats excellent service. Lastly, our concierge every morning greeted us and remembered our names by the 2nd day. The moment we stepped out of the elevator they knew our names. On our last day in this hotel, we had trouble arranging our train and pickup in Hakkone so our concierge took care of everything, arranged our transportation and even booked a special pick-up by a taxi holding our names as we arrived in Hakkone. I 100% recommend The Ritz-Carlton Tokyo. You will NOT be disappointed!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichelleLudo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minato
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Conrad Tokyo
Conrad Tokyo
#1 of 111 in Minato
2,978 reviews
Akasaka / Roppongi
Grand Hyatt Tokyo
Grand Hyatt Tokyo
#4 of 111 in Minato
1,917 reviews
Shinjuku
Park Hyatt Tokyo
Park Hyatt Tokyo
#1 of 83 in Shinjuku
2,890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Shangri-La Hotel, Tokyo
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
The Peninsula Tokyo
The Peninsula Tokyo
#6 of 74 in Chiyoda
1,682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Tokyo

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Tokyo
Address: 9-7-1 Akasaka, Minato 107-6245, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato > Akasaka / Roppongi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Minato
#2 Business Hotel in Minato
#2 Spa Hotel in Minato
#4 Family Hotel in Minato
#10 Romantic Hotel in Minato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Tokyo 5*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As guests alight from the elevator that takes them to the 45th floor of Tokyo's tallest building, they are greeted by a magnificent sky lobby that epitomizes one of the premier luxury hotels in this cosmopolitan city - The Ritz-Carlton, Tokyo. Occupying the top nine floors and the first three levels of the 53-story Midtown Tower, this five-star luxury hotel is located in the Roppongi District, which transfixes visitors with both its vibrant night life and centuries-old attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Marriott, Orbitz, JAPANiCAN, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Rakuten, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton Tokyo Hotel Minato
Ritz Carlton Minato
Ritz Tokyo
Minato Ritz-Carlton
The Ritz-Carlton, Tokyo Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing