We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Tokyo
Ranked #2 of 109 Hotels / Ryokan in Minato
Certificate of Excellence
Misawa Japan
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great service great location”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Stayed at the Ritz-Carlton Tokyo for two nights and as previous reviews go I have no complaints. It is kind of a hassle having the lobby on the 45th floor then switching to another elevator to get to your room but this is certainly customary with high-end hotels in Tokyo in order to get a great view from your room. In terms of modern decoration I wouldn't say it beats Conrad Tokyo but in regards to location it does. The hotel is within walking distance of Roppongi station so theres no cab needed for that part. Roppongi Hills, Midtown Tokyo, restaurants, shops, nightlife, entertainment, etc. are all within walking distance as Roppongi is in the heart of Tokyo. Clearly this hotel is marketed towards the upper class and business but for your average Joe like myself sometimes its good to splurge and treat yourself especially if it's for a special occasion. As a tip, typically you're going to want to put your 'nice clothes on' when staying at high-end hotels as the majority of folks in or around the hotel will be there on business wearing suites. And it's not a big deal I suppose on how you dress if you're just there for vacation but it can get awkward if you find yourself in a restaurant/lobby/shop/etc and you're the only guy wearing a t-shirt and jeans, in my opinion. Free wifi is excellent and fast. In regards to the TV they could really do more to put more of a variety of channels for foreigners or english speakers. Theres 17 'internation channels', 5 of them are just different news channels, 2 of them are the exact same channel, 3 are channels that are still in Japanese, etc. So in that aspect I would like to see more variety, sometimes you'll find yourself in your room with nothing to watch. For breakfast I had waffles and french toast and while it wasn't the healthiest of choices the table tray and condiments it was presented on was pretty impressive, I'll definitely be ordering breakfast again at my next stay. Bathtub in my room was nice but they really need some bubble bath there, I even called services and they said to use shower gel and that it would make bubbles. Well If people are going to pay top dollar for this hotel I think supplying or atleast stocking some bubble bath for the bathtub isn't too much to ask. I wish these types of hotels had a power outlet by the bed so you could charge and browse the internet on your phone while laying down, a tad bit annoying how most hotels don't have it. But clearly those are minor nitpicks, overall I enjoyed my stay there and the location makes it hard to beat.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travller20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,565 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,119
    283
    100
    33
    30
See reviews for
368
526
109
325
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Beverly Hills, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 13, 2012

You have to give it to Japanese, I can't imagine a better more attentive service. Perfectly clean, nice atmosphere. the food could definitely better. and cover charge to drink in the bar is nothing I've ever heard of. Ask to take it off the bar bill, its ridiculous. Swimming pool is amazing, jacuzzi turbo jets will replace the best shiatsu massage. great view from the room

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Ekaterina N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Have stayed several times this year and I have come to feel very at home here with no cause for complaint at all. Delightful staff and beautiful rooms with huge bathrooms and wonderful views. On a clear day and in the right direction you will see Mt Fuji in the morning or perhaps the port of Yokohama. The location in Roppongi can be a bit of a turn-off if you don't like Roppongi (I don't particularly) but there are plenty of good eateries and drinkeries if you walk down in the other direction to Akasaka.

Charming Japanese garden just across the road from the taxi stand area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank genkhis_khan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland, Edinburgh
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012 via mobile

Great people an location. Complete service and good facilities. In a city with many options the views give this hotel an advantage. Close to great bars and restaurants the sushi bar inside the hotel serves brilliant Japanese food.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daryl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for one full week. Everything about the hotel was perfect. Amazing view from the room, fabulous gym for workouts, extremely courteous staff (despite the language barrier), amazingly prompt service, the works basically. The rooms are well spaced and comfortable. The sleep quality is just amazing. The location is also fabulous. Our business was in the Midtown building, so that was convenient as well.

In the evening, Roppongi is a very short walk away and is extremely lively to help you strum yourself out of a busy office day.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SameerSah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeddah
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

i have stayed in Ritz Carlton tokyo 3 times so far and have to state that it is excellence at its best. there customer service is amazing. i had a broken suitcase while i checked in. on my next day in the hotel i found a note on the desk stating that Dear Mr. Chaaban, we took the courtesy of your absence and sent your suitcase to maintenance department for fixing. with compliments. honestly this blew me away. they have amazing food in the hotel and room service is just great. i highly recommend the chicken corn soup ( it is the best chicken corn soup i have ever tried), their wagyu beef burger is a must and their japanese sashimi restaurant is amazing too. make sure to ask the chef for omakase (free style sushi) you will love the creations of the chef as he will do things not on the menu. but prepare your credit card cuz u will definitely need it. bon apetit and enjoy your stay at the Ritz.

Room Tip: ask for a room with the Tour Eiffel view it is really nice in the evening.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nabil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Travelling to Japan can be an ordeal, particularly when coming from Europe. It wasn't that long ago, prior to 3G that one needed to rent a local mobile phone and beg the concierge for a weird adaptor to download emails on a painful internet connection. Hotels were geared to the local market- and all the better for it - but sometimes disorientating for a Western traveller. Clearly time moves on but the jet lag, environment and climate can still be a killer if you're in town for a couple of days with a 13 hour flight on each end. Happily the Ritz Carlton eases the pain enormously. Yes it's a very American hotel in many ways and yes it's probably a bit 90s in decor (The newer Mandarin Oriential beats it for style stakes) but still retains a very definite Japanese style and welcome. The service is fabulous - not just slick and efficient but very warm and friendly. The housekeeping staff can't do enough and take great pains to make you welcome, almost as if you're a guest in their home. Sounds crazy but true, they take a real pride in what they do. The rooms are large, beautifully appointed and the bathrooms are spacious and lack for nothing. The Asprey toiletries are a treat too! I stayed on a club floor so not sure how different this is but it was great. Wifi was not just free - everywhere in the hotel that I went (room, club lounge, lobby, restaurants) but very high speed. Great mobile phone signal - all the stuff that makes it easy to feel connected to home and settle in and work.
The restaurants are expensive - as other tipsters have commented and indeed the lobby lounge is to be avoided, a cup of tea was over £15 - but I must say the quality of the food (both the cooking and the ingredients) was, and I don't use the word lightly - stunning. The breakfast buffet is excellent, with chefs preparing egg dishes on demand to an amazing standard - with a view of the city through floor to ceiling windows that is simply breathtaking. And I guess you have to pay to get food that good shipped up 45 floors!
Interestingly, eating off room service was a surprisingly affordable (it's relative term in Tokyo!) option compared to the restaurants with great variety - I ordered a Thai Chicken Curry which was as good as any I've ever eaten anywhere in the world, and a perfect in-room supper.
A real highlight is the fitness centre - not just stuck away in some basement (take note Four Seasons Hotel New York, winner of my worst hotel gym in the world award) - a great swimming pool, on the 46th floor with fabulous views and flooded with natural light, and a superbly equipped gym, again with amazing views over the city and plenty of high - end Life Fitness equipment, the same as in my regular gym back home. Someone has clearly thought about how to build a proper spa and gym in this place.
All in all, a truly outstanding hotel - a great place to do business from and to come back to after a hot and jet lagged day out and about. Can't recommend highly enough.

Room Tip: Club floor, 52nd floor - great views, beautifully appointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marksman122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minato
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Conrad Tokyo
Conrad Tokyo
#1 of 109 in Minato
2,934 reviews
Akasaka / Roppongi
Grand Hyatt Tokyo
Grand Hyatt Tokyo
#4 of 109 in Minato
1,891 reviews
Shinjuku
Park Hyatt Tokyo
Park Hyatt Tokyo
#1 of 82 in Shinjuku
2,851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Shangri-La Hotel, Tokyo
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
The Peninsula Tokyo
The Peninsula Tokyo
#5 of 74 in Chiyoda
1,664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Tokyo

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Tokyo
Address: 9-7-1 Akasaka, Minato 107-6245, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato > Akasaka / Roppongi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Minato
#2 Luxury Hotel in Minato
#2 Spa Hotel in Minato
#4 Family Hotel in Minato
#10 Romantic Hotel in Minato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Tokyo 5*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As guests alight from the elevator that takes them to the 45th floor of Tokyo's tallest building, they are greeted by a magnificent sky lobby that epitomizes one of the premier luxury hotels in this cosmopolitan city - The Ritz-Carlton, Tokyo. Occupying the top nine floors and the first three levels of the 53-story Midtown Tower, this five-star luxury hotel is located in the Roppongi District, which transfixes visitors with both its vibrant night life and centuries-old attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Marriott, JAPANiCAN, Priceline, Agoda, Rakuten, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton Tokyo Hotel Minato
Ritz Carlton Minato
Ritz Tokyo
Minato Ritz-Carlton
The Ritz-Carlton, Tokyo Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing