We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A little disorientating but good value hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Fontaine Tokyo-Shiodome

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Villa Fontaine Tokyo-Shiodome
Ranked #23 of 106 Hotels / Ryokan in Minato
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A little disorientating but good value hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

I have stayed at the Villa Fontaine several times, although mainly as it is chosen by my company rather than by choice. The good is that it is well located in Shiodome and you can follow the skywalk to get to the nearby stations and restaurants. It is not too far from the fish market and next to a pleasant park. It also gives a free breakfast in both Western and Japanese styles, which is a available quiet early - great if you have jet lag. The slightly strange is that it is attached to an office block and there is no lobby area, just a big dark empty cave like space. Some of the rooms do not have outward facing windows but instead look inward with blinds for privacy. These rooms are very dark indeed. On the other hand those rooms are quiet whereas some of the outward facing rooms have a great view of the railway lines... and all the sounds as well. The rooms are comfortable enough and there is tea and internet in the rooms. The people at reception are friendly and helpful and the hotel is good value - but just a bit strange and I always feel disoriented staying there, like entering a dark other world.

Room Tip: Dont get one facing inwards, do get one on a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan60745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

949 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    514
    162
    30
    12
See reviews for
121
307
94
296
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

During our visit in Japan we stayed in the business area Shiodome. It's impressive during business days to see all the black suited white color workers in such a huge amount. The skywalk between the skyscrapers is one point we liked very much. Use the skywalk to the hotel, when you arrive in the Shinbashi Station. So it will be an easy walk to the hotel. The modern hotel offers nice rooms. Japanese breakfast - in the hall - is like in a canteen-style, but it was ok so far (croissants, marmelade, margarine are available). You are situated near Shiodome Station, appx. 10 minutes walk to the Shinbashi Station or 5 minutes walk to the ginza line. Two Starbucks are in the nearby area. Friendly hotel receptionist, english knowledge is called 'so la la', but it works for us so far. In rooms you will find body soap, shampoo and smoother face soap (Shiseido) and a hairbrush and hair dryer. A nightgown, toothbrush, toothpaste and Q-Tips were also available. Free wlan, in rooms is a cable installed. You can wash your clothes by yourself and will find vending machines with beverages on the floor. It's easy to reach your room without stairs. Each room has magnetic sings for the cleaning staff. The rooms offer a mobile door holder on the ground. For recommendation: travel with one suitcase and a rucksack per person not more.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StuttgartUser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
138 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

I've stayed at the Villa Fontaine Shiodome several times before and location-wise, I do like it. But I think my recent stay here will be my last. The hotel is fast losing its shine as a hotel of value. Bed is hard, rooms are dark and while I still get a decent Japanese breakfast, it is nowhere the size/variety of the Dormy Inn chain. The night staff are also not helpful and clueless about offering suggestions/help which is really frustrating. I'm definitely looking elsewhere for accommodation the next time I go to Tokyo.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chongbrood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This is my second time at Hotel Villa Fontaine Shiodome and stayed there for 3 nights.
I must say that service is still good. The staff were friendly & helpful both at our arrival & departure; helping us to store our heavy suitcase for more than 5 hours.
The main plus point for this hotel is the location as there is not much facilities (other than breakfast, there is no other services provided thru the rest of the day) which is great for a no frill/fuss traveller. The subway is conveniently located within a short 5 min covered walk.Walking to nearby Ginza is also a breeze.

Great value hotel in a great location.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chrisqey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We got a superior room and found it plenty big for the two of us. Our bed was a little smaller than an American queen size and was against a wall on one side, but pretty good for Tokyo. Shiodome is a nice area to stay in, walking distance to Tsukiji and Hara-rikyu gardens. The buffet was simple, but good (there are plenty of options if you like Japanese breakfast items, but its sufficient if you don't). If you go on a JR pass, you can get within one stop for free, but the train from Shimbashi to Shinjuku (right outside the door of the hotel) is another railway (I think it was 280 or you could just do a 5 minute walk). From Shimbashi station, you can get up on the raised walkways on the south side of the station and walk above the street all the way to the hotel, avoiding crosswalks, etc. Restaurants in the actual building are limited, but there are about 20 restaurants in the building next door (mostly Japanese), including a Starbucks for a morning latte (if that's the kind of thing you think you might be into).

Room Tip: The superior room was big enough for the two of us, though it was a bit smaller than a queen size be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexander-akira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Budapest, Hungary
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

We stayed here 10 nights. We traveled with 2 children but unfortunately the hotel cannot provide child's cot so my 7 months old daughter had to sleep in our bad. However, the size of the bed was big so it was not that a big problem. We stayed in a twin room which was very big and it was comfortable for this long stay. The location of the hotel is very good, it is 5 minutes walk from Ginza and the Shinbashi station. The breakfast was OK, however, they have only 3 types of offers (meatball, sausage, meat and scrambled egg) which they repeat after 3 days.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gabor1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

The hotel is good and acceptable. I stayed here for 4 nights. It is pretty fair for the price considering Tokyo hotels can be very expensive. The hotel is situated in Shiodome sharing a business sleek style lobby, It is big dark marble floor lobby. The area tends to be the quiet part of Tokyo not much shops as the hotel is right in the middle of business district, it is quite close to Shiodome train station however Shinbashi station although 15min walk seems to be a more convenient to travel around via the subway train.

One compliant is the wi fi I still do not understand why there is no wi fi in rooms only offering in the lobby, it is right in middle of business town. The breakfast was adequate and although variety is not a lot it is acceptable, more skewed to the Japanese style breakfast. The beds are on the firm side and rooms are adequate, i will not count the room size against this hotel as this is average size for Japan.

Room Tip: There is non smoking rooms available
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Reggie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minato
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Royal Park Hotel The Shiodome, Tokyo
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Mitsui Garden Hotel Shiodome Italia-gai
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Hotel Villa Fontaine Tamachi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Park Hotel Tokyo
Park Hotel Tokyo
#6 of 106 in Minato
4.5 of 5 stars 2,641 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
Hotel Yanagibashi
Hotel Yanagibashi
#30 of 115 in Taito
4.5 of 5 stars 203 reviews
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Celestine Hotel
Celestine Hotel
#14 of 106 in Minato
4.0 of 5 stars 617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Fontaine Tokyo-Shiodome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Fontaine Tokyo-Shiodome

Property: Hotel Villa Fontaine Tokyo-Shiodome
Address: 1-9-2 Higashi Shinbashi | Shiodome Sumitomo Building, Minato 105-0021, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato > Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Minato
#22 Romantic Hotel in Minato
#24 Family Hotel in Minato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Fontaine Tokyo-Shiodome 3*
Number of rooms: 497
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lobby Lounge GRAND OPEN! Bar lounge of the hotel has finally will open. It is a space for relaxation was nestled a spacious sofa seat and natural wood interiors. Keeps you relish a cut fresh ham, from the wine of Spain production to soft drinks, you can enjoy a drink menu of about 50 kinds. Because you can use any other hotel guests, We are looking forward to a lot of customers come. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, JAPANiCAN, Rakuten, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Ctrip TA and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Villa Fontaine Tokyo-Shiodome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Fontaine Shiodome
Fontaine Shiodome Hotel
Villa Fontaine Shiodome
Hotel Villa Fontaine Tokyo-Shiodome Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing