We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good rooms but terrible breakfast” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Villa Fontaine Tokyo-Shiodome

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Villa Fontaine Tokyo-Shiodome
Ranked #22 of 108 Hotels / Ryokan in Minato
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
150 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Good rooms but terrible breakfast”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

Valla Fontaine, in Shiodome area of Tokyo, is a distinctly business hotel. Location is good, adjacent to an underground station and near to the Ginza area for shopping, restaurants and nightlife.
We arrived from our flight around midday and they wanted to charged us approx £60 to check-in before 15:00, so we just went for a stroll to Ginza!

Pros:-
Clean and well maintained
Good size rooms for Japan
Location
They stored a suitcase for 10 days for free, until we returned from Hokkaido
Pleasant staff who were happy to converse in English once my Japanese was quickly exhausted!

Cons:-
Over £15 per hour for early check-in, even if your room is available!
Breakfast was terrible. Very basic, cold and horrible seating area.
No bar
Free Wi-Fi is only available in the lobby and was very slow.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PJEColchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    288
    611
    184
    35
    15
See reviews for
160
372
103
340
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, Essex
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

My wife & I spent 3 nights here, fantastic hotel but showing some signs of wear in the rooms, however, the housekeeping is first class and rooms are very clean, the staff are very friendly and speak good English, even those who do not speak English try every method to help. Good location, next to train/metro station, Yokohama only 20 minutes away, £7 return. Breakfast is a little sort of western food but adequate. In room TV, limited, no CNN or BBC World. Internet available via WiFi to guests, free in the lobby, there is a fee for in room use. Fair enough at least you can check your emails in the lobby.
In the building next door, the Shiodome Building floor B2F there are plenty of restaurants offering excellent food and at good prices. Buildings are linked by escalator.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leanderman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

It was very nice, the free breakfast was ok. It was located in a new very expensive looking area. Very helpful that it is located less than a block from the train station. Only a short walk to the fish market and a fantastic park on the bay. Not cheap.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Mesa, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

I travel at least 7-10 times a year to Japan for work. No matter how many times I go to Japan, Villa Fontaine is still one of my favorite hotels. The rooms are chic and modern and most importantly clean! I had a horrible experience at another hotel in Japan that I checked out of that hotel within 2 hours of checking in and moved to Villa Fontaine. There is Internet access which is a must for business trip. I enjoy the daily breakfast which is included. This hotel is located next to Conrad and next to the train station. There is also a lot of restaurants within walking distance to this hotel. I recommend staying at this hotel for the best value for the price, clean rooms, and convenient location. I will stay here again for my next trip.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

This hotel in Shiodome was a perfect last night to gather ourselves and prepare for our long journey home. The facilites were gorgeous, the food was delicious, the staff were very kind in arranging our transit back to the hotel and there were even tiny, little slippers waiting for our 1.5 year old daughter. It might not be the best location from which to sightsee, but as a easy night's sleep, it hits the spot.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jess_Bryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ängelholm
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

I sayed here for 6 nights in January.
The location is very good but it may be a bit difficult to find first time from the train station.
I had a good experience as I was upgraded to a larger room 30m2 with a garden view.

The Service is very good, they serve a simple Japanese breakfast which is included and the entire hotel feels of higher quality.

I recommend this hotel not only for business but also for family travellers, especially their larger rooms.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ferenc H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

Located in a very newly developed area of Tokyo, Shiodome, this hotel is a very new build and caters, I think, for the business traveller rather than the tourist. As a business traveller, I found the hotel to meet all needs of the business person on a visit to Tokyo but it does lack a few things. No. 1 Personality - it is very bland and functional - no restaurant, no bar, no business centre. No.2 Breakfast takes place in the lobby and the food is much more Japanese than Western. However, the bedroom was great and the cost was very competitive for Tokyo.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GeminiP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minato
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Royal Park Hotel The Shiodome, Tokyo
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Park Hotel Tokyo
Park Hotel Tokyo
#6 of 108 in Minato
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,948 reviews
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Mitsui Garden Hotel Shiodome Italia-gai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Hotel Villa Fontaine Tamachi
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Mitsui Garden Hotel Ginza Premier
Shinagawa / Gotanda
Shinagawa Prince Hotel Tokyo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Fontaine Tokyo-Shiodome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Fontaine Tokyo-Shiodome

Property: Hotel Villa Fontaine Tokyo-Shiodome
Address: 1-9-2 Higashi Shinbashi | Shiodome Sumitomo Building, Minato 105-0021, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato > Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Minato
#22 Romantic Hotel in Minato
#24 Family Hotel in Minato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Villa Fontaine Tokyo-Shiodome 3.5*
Number of rooms: 497
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lobby Lounge GRAND OPEN! Bar lounge of the hotel has finally will open. It is a space for relaxation was nestled a spacious sofa seat and natural wood interiors. Keeps you relish a cut fresh ham, from the wine of Spain production to soft drinks, you can enjoy a drink menu of about 50 kinds. Because you can use any other hotel guests, We are looking forward to a lot of customers come. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Villa Fontaine Tokyo-Shiodome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Fontaine Shiodome
Fontaine Shiodome Hotel
Villa Fontaine Shiodome
Hotel Villa Fontaine Tokyo-Shiodome Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing