We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Prince Hotel Takanawa
Nearby Hotels
Conrad Tokyo(Minato)
$497
$393
Conrad
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$206
$168
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$103
$76
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$223
$126
Sheraton.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$179
$104
Agoda.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$228
$130
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$345
$125
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$275
$103
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Tokyo Prince Hotel(Minato)
$253
$94
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$229
$119
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (725)
Filter reviews
725 results
Traveler rating
211
372
106
29
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
211
372
106
29
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjapanese gardenshinagawa stationuphill walkshuttle bustokyo towergarden viewnice hotelother hotelscherry blossom treessister hotelnarita expressshuttle servicejapan standardshandy locationbullet trainvisit japanhotel complex
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
249 - 254 of 725 reviews
Reviewed August 24, 2010

We stayed 3 nights there and it was a good choice. Not too far from the metro, close to the "Eiffel Tower", also supposedly near the train station, but I did not check that!

Our room was fairly large and with a nice view of the Tower. Clean, sterile, and in need of paint. Not much charm, but that's ok. Need a good decorator.

The restaurant on the 10th floor was quite good for breakfast and dinner (though expensive).

In general, the service was quite good except for one snobbish woman who "greeted" us.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank josieWashingtonDc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2010

From the moment our airport limousine pulled up to the moment we left, the service was impeccable. The number of people available to help guests seemed to have been carefully calculated, so that we never had to wait for than a couple of minutes, even during the busiest times of the day. Just as we were leaving for the train station to catch our train for Kyoto, we noticed that there was a free shuttle but that we had just missed one. So, we headed to the station on foot. Before we got 20 feet from the hotel, a car drove up, and the driver offered us a ride. He refused our tip, insisting that it was part of the hotel's basic services.

We also loved the setting of the hotel. Beautiful pond and garden behind the hotel--hard to believe that we were minutes away from midtown Tokyo given the serenity. The hotel is also close to two metro / JR station stops, which made it very convenient for us.

Kudos also for the excellent size of the rooms, especially in comparison with the typical Japanese rooms.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hobbes40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2010

just returned fromTokyo. Have stayed in Shinjuku and Ebisu areas for work many times before. This was a personal trip to attend the Tokyo Anime Fair with my teenager. This is a great hotel. Just a short walk to the hotel from JR Shinagawa station (it is an uphill walk, so there is a frequent shuttle if you don't want to walk or have luggage). The grounds are beautiful. is a link to a video of the gardens

www.youtube.com/user/endersgame99?feature=mhw5#p/a/u/0/_Rtfia5aM9s

Food in the hotel of course is pricey, but at and around the station, there are many restaurants. and if you must, there is a Starbucks and a McDs there also...i had to have my morning latte.
Everyone speaks English well and service was great. Location great to jump on JR lines and get anywhere.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank endersgame29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2010

Summary: Great price (Expedia); "large-ish" (by Japan standards) room & bath; expensive restaurants; business-oriented; convenient 5-10 minute walk to Shinagawa Station, 7-11, McDonald's, grocery & bentos; quiet area -- not a glitzy tourist-oriented location; Sakura on hotel grounds; friendly staff; on a small hill; limo-bus from Narita.

Our family (2 college age, 2 teenage) spent last week at this hotel and thoroughly enjoyed it. The hotel appears to be domestic (Japan) business oriented, but there were tourists there as well (some Chinese and Europeans). The neighborhood is not in a bustling touristy space; it's a quiet area which was nice to escape some of the insanity of the city. Slight uphill walk from the west entry ("Takanawa Entrance") of the Shinagawa Station to the hotel (old fogies might not like it). There is a convenient ATM across the hotel garden just inside of the back entry to the neighboring GP New Takanawa hotel (also a small drug store and convenience store there, too). We caught the "Airport Limousine Bus" from Narita (slightly cheaper than via train and much more convenient w/ drop-off & pick-up at the front door of the hotel). The hotel grounds are beautiful (lots of Sakura) so the locals have weddings there.

We would usually head out in the mornings from our room at the GP Takanawa, cross the garden to the GP New Takanawa, visit the ATM for the day's shopping/eating expedition, then cross the main lobby of the GP New Taka., drop down one floor at the large stair well at the faaar end of the lobby, and exit out past the pastry shop onto the street. Via that street, it's a down hill stroll (less steep than the winding road between Shinagawa Station and the main entry to the GP Takanawa) east to the short driveway (it's on your right, just after the Royal Host diner) to the Epson Aqua Stadium (dolphin show and penguins if you're interested). Once at the entry to the Epson, head left down hill into the building complex and you'll walk right past the 7-11 (to pick up misc. supplies or snacks). Keep walking down the stairs, and you'll find the McD's for a convenient bite (note that McD's has hot dogs in Japan!). You'll also be at the cross walk to Shinagawa Station. After you cross the street from McD's and just enter the station complex, there's an escalator to your right that heads down a flight into a store with tons of bento boxes (take-out Japanese food) as well as a groceries in the back (note that the bentos and the groceries are separate vendors). We would usually visit this place at the end of our day to pick-up great tasting, cheap eat-in food, snacks and drinks if we were tired and just wanted to kick-back in the hotel room. Note that the hotel room trash cans are tiny, so save those plastic grocery bags for your trash -- the hotel housekeepers will appreciate your neatness.

The station has lots of food places in the JR Lines main concourse, through the central ticket gate (just inside of the west (Takanawa) entrance). Note that these are on the platform side of the turnstiles, so you have to either purchase a train ticket or have a rail pass on hand to get in there. If, for some reason, you fear turnstiles, there's also a big Starbucks towards the east entry to the station, up on the 2nd floor, that has a terrific view of the mass of humanity marching through the station (snag a table overlooking the main lobby before ordering your beverage and croissant).

I'd do it again.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MyManao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2010

This hotel is perfect if you are traveling to Japan for the first time. Our room had a great view of the city and at night could see the Tokyo Tower. The room was a good size and very clean.

Since we haven't been to Japan before we were a little worried about finding our way around. Luckily, our hotel was just 10 walking minutes away to the fabulous Shinagawa Station. The Shinagawa Station was extremely convienient since it connects to may train lines.

Also in walking distance was 7-11 for those late night snacks or a quick breakfast before jumping on the train.

We ended up staying there our entire trip, 9 days and truly enjoyed the experience.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Presley1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews