We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good family hotel !” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Prince Hotel Takanawa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Prince Hotel Takanawa to your Saves list
Grand Prince Hotel Takanawa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3-13-1 Takanawa, Minato 108-8612, Tokyo Prefecture (Shinagawa / Gotanda)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 101 Hotels / Ryokan in Minato
Certificate of Excellence
Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good family hotel !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

With a very lovely Japanese Garden. The rooms were very comfortable. The staff were very helpful, even helped us arrange for a tour. Breakfast buffet was great. Good location, restaurants and convenient stores nearby. Money exchange machine inside the hotel makes it so convenient !

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 999screen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
LUDHIANA
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

everything up to the mark . service prompt . surroundigs green and cool. breakfast excellent . rooms spacious. bathrooms very clean and tidy.railway station at walking distance. airport not far away. What else one needs.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gujjarwalprince
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montara, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

I could not believe that this hotel with its beautiful gardens was in Tokyo! What a beautiful refuge. This is one of three hotels on the same property and not the newest. Service was exceptional at the desk. The breakfast was wonderful. The rooms are spacious and comfortable. Take the shuttle bus from Shinagawa Station - especially if you have bags to carry!! We enjoyed walking on the grounds and in the neighborhood. The price for our stay was very reasonable. Everything you need! We will stay here in the future.

Room Tip: A view of the gardens is a plus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ThreeFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014 via mobile

Everything was just right and very Japanese in the best of service. Nothing was too much trouble. The staff especially are superb. Most spoke excellent English. Very comfortable rooms and the location was very good. Frequent shuttle busses to Shinagawa Rail Station- a main hub and a stop for the Bullet train, made it easy to get to anywhere in Tokyo. My choice for my next stay in Tokyo.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mano T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
134 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

We stayed 2 nights in this hotel when we recently visited Tokyo and we were not disappointed. They accommodated our request for early check-in and extra towels and pillows. The check in was quick and very courteous. The room was big (for Japanese hotels) and more than adequate for triple occupancy. And the price was quite reasonable for Tokyo. Our room was facing the gardens in between 2 other hotels. In the mornings and late evenings, it is nice to stroll around the gardens, s it had a very relaxing atmosphere. The hotel has a complimentary shuttle service to/from Shinagawa station but one must know the schedules beforehand otherwise it is long walk uphill to the hotel from Shinagawa station.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms facing the gardens in a top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RuthBB76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
98 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

We stayed 6 nights - early April for Cherry Blossom. There is a shuttle to the MTR Station - Shinagawa but it is only a 5 minute walk out the back gate (we never used the shuttle). As of the 1st April 2014 - they now provide free Wifi in the room - signal strength and speed were very good. The breakfast in the Patio Restaurant is very good & reasonable value. We had a room with City View - looking at Tokyo Tower - very good. We only had 1 complaint which we did mention to Guest Relations - that was that there was a grate over a drain on the side of the carpark that was bent - everytime a car, bus, taxi, truck etc... ran over it, you go Bang, Bang - this was so load it kept us awake - If they could replace the grate on the drain - they would have earned an Excellent. For this location we can visit everywhere - Shinagawa is a main station for the Shinkansen, it is also on the Yamanote Line - the main loop line in Tokyo
1 ticket to get on and off at any of the 29 stations is Y140 or a day pass to get on and off as often as you like is Y750.
The Tokyo Morning Television Show was doing the weather in the garden behind the hotel because of the Cherry Blossom trees - they are spectacular.
The Limousine Bus from Narita was at least 1.5hrs - so be prepared for that.
But it was a great location and if we go back to Tokyo we will stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joneses2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melaka, Malaysia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

From the airport you can purchase a "limo bus" ticket that will take you straight to the hotel (around 1.0 - 1.5hrs) and you get a very gracious welcome and efficient check-in. The rooms are smaller as expected for Japan but really comfortable and with all the amenities except a minibar (fridge is there but empty). However a quick walk through the garden to the sister hotel (New Grand Prince) and you will find a 24/7 shop where you can stock on snacks and drinks for your stay. I was lucky enough to be at the hotel during the bloom of the Cherry Blossom Trees and the Japanese garden is stunningly beautiful, especially at night when it is all lit up.
As I was there on business and in Tokyo everyone takes the train it was nice and convenient as there is a station at the bottom of the hill which made it convenient to go to work (mind you the hill looks very steep when you come back in the evening :-). Breakfast is great with a huge variety to choose from and very friendly staff who all speak English so communication is easy in the hotel. If you cannot decide what you want for dinner and where to go I highly recommend you discuss any ideas with the head concierge who will not only recommend but will even book a table for you (if you want to eat outside of the hotel)

Overall a very enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: It is far enough away from the main road that any room is okay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BedrockB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Minato hotels
Shinagawa / Gotanda
Grand Prince Hotel New Takanawa
Shinagawa / Gotanda
Shinagawa Prince Hotel Tokyo
Shinagawa / Gotanda
Keikyu EX Inn Shinagawa Ekimae
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinagawa / Gotanda
The Prince Sakura Tower Tokyo, Autograph Collection
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Park Hotel Tokyo
Park Hotel Tokyo
#6 of 101 in Minato
4.5 of 5 stars 2,257 reviews
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
The Prince Park Tower Tokyo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Prince Hotel Takanawa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Prince Hotel Takanawa

Address: 3-13-1 Takanawa, Minato 108-8612, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato > Shinagawa / Gotanda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Minato
#18 Family Hotel in Minato
#30 Business Hotel in Minato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Prince Hotel Takanawa 4*
Number of rooms: 414
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Rakuten, Fastbooking, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, JAPANiCAN, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Grand Prince Hotel Takanawa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prince Hotel Minato
Prince Hotel Tokyo
Minato Prince Hotel
Grand Prince Hotel Takanawa Tokyo, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
#