We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great price for a great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Prince Hotel Takanawa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grand Prince Hotel Takanawa
Ranked #30 of 108 Hotels / Ryokan in Minato
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great price for a great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

This hotel is a great value for money and very reasonable for Tokyo. Comparable to a best western type of hotel. Our room was clean, quiet and spacious. The staff were very helpful and friendly. It is between two subway stations ( walk 5 min to Shinagawa, 10 min to Takanawa). Make sure you get a suica pass at Shinagawa station then you can use any of the three separate subway lines around Tokyo. The JR line from Narita airport goes right to Shinagawa. Or you can take the airport limousine (big bus) between the hotel and airport. The restaurant and bar at the hotel are a bit pricey, but there is a good variety of restaurants and a grocery store nearby, anything from a 7-11 or mcdonalds to more formal. The only downside is that if you want to go bar hopping in shibuya etc, the subway stops at midnight, so prepare to stay out all night. Our only difficulty is when we first arrived we found there are several hotels in this complex and went to the wrong one (best directions I can give is it's up the hill from the 7-11). We enjoyed our stay and would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hubertsgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

566 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    289
    93
    23
    5
See reviews for
126
135
50
169
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide
Level Contributor
153 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

My wife and I stayed here as part of a package tour.
Loved the fact it is a short walk from JR Shinagawa as we had JR passes and even getting around Tokyo was easy.
Loved the beautiful gardens and peaceful areas, such a contrast from the chaos of the city!!
The room was big enough and clean and quiet.
We ate in the hotel and had no complaints about the quality or the cost. The staff were always friendly and helpful and found the hotel a great place to stay.
We would definitely stay again on our next visit to Japan.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ziggieAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

Travelling with five other friends and family found this hotel good value for money wifi Internet to your room 1000 yen for your stay acceptable. Shuttle buses frequently to and from SHinagawa station very convenient the walk is not far but is up a reasonable slope. Showers hot and water plentiful. We did have three rooms but all were on separate floors.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Optimus2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
babievi
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

Stay at this hotel for 2 week back in September and it was enjoyable.

Had checked-in one day later than indicated on reservation through a third party site. While staffs at Takanawa were unable to locate our reservation, they offered us a room as it was getting late and assured us that they will look into the issue and contact us in the morning. Surely issued was resolved by morning – stress free!

Not all staffs spoke fluent English, but made great effort to accommodate their guest’s needs.

Take advantage of their Green Room service if you do not plan to receive room service on a daily basis. Basically Green Room service is to request for no room service and in return you will receive a 500yen/day voucher for spending at their restaurants / souvenir shop on premise. Make sure to fill out the form for this service and hand it in to front desk by 9 am.

Narita Airport tip – While Shinagawa station is walking distance from the hotel and many train transportations are available to Narita. The hotel offers a shuttle service to Narita Airport for 3,500yen (if I remember correctly). It worked out for my party and I as we had several large and heavy luggages that we did not want to stroll to the station. The way to the station consist of a down hill walk, using escalators or stairs to arrive at Shinagawa station. One-way train ticket to Narita would be about the same price as the hotel shuttle.

Hotel room is very basic and furnishings are out of date. For me it was not a concern, at the end of a day, all I need is a hot shower, nice cold AC room and a comfortable bed.

Wi-fi is only available at the lobby – but if you are on a vacation is there really a need to be on the internet 24/7?

The price per night is a bit pricy, but I would check-in again for the reasons that the hotel is conveniently located by Shinagawa station, with many restaurants and friendly and helpful staffs.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank babievi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

We had 6 nights in the hotel - we enjoy every moment. Although the hotel is not a new one it is very pleasant and comfortable. The stuff is very helpful - wish to help you with all they can.
Location - yes, the hotel is located on top on a small hill - there are about 3 shuttles every hour to the Shinagawa station but for us it was not a problem to go, 10 minutes, by foot. It is not fit for whom who have difficulties with walking. The room was nice and the garden around the hotel is great. Shinagawa is a very big and crowded station -many trains , to various places in Japan, stops there - It makes it very easy for tourists.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
Helpful?
Thank sh_eli2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

Everything about this place was pretty nice. Except you get a false sense of style when you walk into the lobby. everything looks pretty cool, updated and nice. But as soon as got off the elevator on my floor, I quickly realized that the updating stopped at the lobby.
The hallway had dingy carpet and smelled pretty funky. The room didn't smell at all but everything seemed very old.
As far as location goes, this is a decent spot for business travel. But, If you want to hit any great restaurants, do any type of nightlife or shopping, you will need to take a train to more happening areas.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rambron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

Arrived in the evening at Tokyo Narita with a flight at 6:55am the next morning out of Tokyo Haneda airport. I chose this hotel due to the ease of getting there from Narita and its proximity to Haneda, and of course the price. 1 night cost 17,800 yen on a Sunday in Aug 13 (Tokyo is hot and humid then, even at night).

- Staff & Cleanliness
Staff are friendly and happily organised my taxi for me at 4am. They speak enough English to get by. I don't speak a word of Japanese and didn't have any problems.

Hotel is clean as you'd expect. The lobby is big and has a few nice restaurants including garden dining.

- Location & Commute
The hotel is clean and conveniently located a few minutes walk from Shinagawa train station, which has express trains from Narita airport (~45min). From Shinagawa station there are trains on that are a short trip to Shibuya (12min) and Shinjuku (19min) stations, which are handy.

The Narita express (NEX) for 3,500 yen includes a an express ride from Narita airport to Shinagawa, and a 1,000 yen train pass which can be used for the aforementioned trips. Good value and convenient. Look up the JR East Railway site.

The taxi ride to Haneda airport took about 30min and cost 5,840 yen.

The most confusing part is that there are a number of 'grand' & 'prince' hotels right next to each other so make sure you have a map so you know exactly where to go. I first went to the 'grand prince hotel NEW takanawa'.

- Internet
Free internet is always a plus! However the wifi in my room didn't seem to connect but I didn't investigate as I had my laptop for a speedy lan connection. They also have a full business centre in the lobby.

- Summary
Overall a comfortable stay for a decent price. Would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Minato hotels
Shinagawa / Gotanda
Grand Prince Hotel New Takanawa
Shinagawa / Gotanda
Shinagawa Prince Hotel Tokyo
Shinagawa / Gotanda
The Prince Sakura Tower Tokyo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinagawa / Gotanda
Keikyu EX Inn Shinagawa Ekimae
Shinagawa / Gotanda
The Strings by InterContinental Tokyo
Shinagawa / Gotanda
Keikyu EX Inn Takanawa
Keikyu EX Inn Takanawa
#64 of 108 in Minato
3.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Prince Hotel Takanawa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Prince Hotel Takanawa

Property: Grand Prince Hotel Takanawa
Address: 3-13-1 Takanawa, Minato 108-8612, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato > Shinagawa / Gotanda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Minato
#18 Luxury Hotel in Minato
#30 Business Hotel in Minato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Prince Hotel Takanawa 4*
Number of rooms: 414
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, JAPANiCAN, Fastbooking, Agoda, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Grand Prince Hotel Takanawa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prince Hotel Minato
Prince Hotel Tokyo
Minato Prince Hotel
Grand Prince Hotel Takanawa Tokyo, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing