We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good overall, with some kinks” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Prince Hotel Takanawa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grand Prince Hotel Takanawa
Ranked #31 of 106 Hotels / Ryokan in Minato
NRW
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good overall, with some kinks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Not a luxury hotel but good for business purposes. Great location just minutes from Shinagawa station. South side rooms with garden view onto nice Japanese garden. Efficient elevators, not much waiting. WLAN in room at extra cost, wired at zero cost (you can make your own WLAN with tethering). Efficient housekeeping, most of the time they did it while I was at breakfast. One day I had room breakfast, scheduled 6:00 am, which allows them 6:00 – 6:30, arrived 6:15. House guest Sushi menu was very good for the price. Tempura in Wakatake restaurant was rather expensive and had strange things like fried fishbone and small fish to be eaten as a whole, one bitter. So be careful what you choose. Breakfast is fine, except that the table cards they request you to take to the table sometimes are sticky from someone elses jam. A fried egg took very long to make. Had massage late at night, the lady probably was over 70 years old but resolute and she did good work, Anma and Shiatsu, you keep your shirt and pants on, 40 minutes 4.200 Yen. Fresh air lovers can open the window a bit, but then they may get bitten. Four mosquitos even on the 12th floor. One thing annoyed me: They had left a message on the mailbox to tell me that my bill was over 10.000 Yen and I am required to pay “at once”. Firstly, I had given my credit card at check-in, secondly the 10.000 probably should have read 100.000 and thirdly “at once” put me off. I asked them to check again. They probably called after that but that was when I had my massage so I ignored it. Next day I asked the cashier. It obviously had been a mistake. They better check twice before they annoy a guest.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mycastleismyhome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    277
    86
    22
    5
See reviews for
119
131
47
155
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Me and my wife stayed here and found it very quit pleasing, with great views and the garden was outstanding!!! Love the koi fishes, and the proximity to the train station, they even had beer in the vending machines on every floor, the only bad, bad thing for me was the hangovers combined with the jetlag ugh!!! But that was me not the hotel...if I would of known how bad the hangovers are bad in Japan I would have taking it easy on the drinking lol...

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elchepis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
144 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

I stay frequently at the New Takanawa Prince, but this was my first visit to the Takanawa Prince in about two years. This hotel is usually a little bit less expensive, and depending on your priorities, it may be a better choice.

The hotel, lacking the "New" prefix, is indeed somewhat older, probably dating to the 1970s, and this is borne out by details such as the lobby, the in-room furniture, the bathroom fixtures -- and the height of the bathroom counter! But unlike a 40-year-old hotel in North America, Takanawa Prince is impeccably maintained and in very good condition indeed.

The rooms are of a decent size by even North American standards, and probably somewhat larger than those in New Takanawa Prince. The furniture aside, they are very clean, with plenty of storage and a well-equipped bathroom. The rooms have either a city view (you should be able to see Tokyo Tower) or a garden view, both are very nice. Beds are firm (as always in Japan) and the pillows are OK.

You can choose to skip cleaning on alternate days and get a restaurant/convenience store coupon worth JPY 00 per skipped day. An upside compared to New Takanawa Prince, let alone Shinagawa Prince, is that few large groups seem to stay at Takanawa Prince, so the lobby is much more quiet and calm than at the other two hotels.

The walk from Shinagawa Station is a little less than 10 minutes, but it does mean walking up a fairly steep hill. The limo bus from the airport will deliver you to the hotel door, though. The other options for trains are Sengakuji on the Asakusa line (on the same street as the Shinagawa station, but turn left when you get there and walk about 500m) -- or Takanawadai, also on the Asakusa line. Takanawadai is my personal favourite option, and is also less than 10 minutes away, but at the top of the hill. Cutting through the garden and New Takanawa Prince is the fastest way to get there.

Shinagawa not only has good connections, it also has a lot of food options. On the west side (where the hotel is), I'll mention the sushi and tempura restaurants in the basement of Wing Tanakawa, Mango Cafe across from McDonald's and Devi Corner near Sengakuji. The east side has scores of restaurants of every type. And Gotanda, with even more choices, including the 82 Ale House, is only about a 20-minute walk away.

Room Tip: Both garden view and city view are good, choose on your personal preference. For city view, request...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tomh009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fitzroy Falls, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

This is a fabulous hotel if you only have a few days in Tokyo. Centrally located on the Yamanote train line to see the main attractions of Tokyo, the staff are very friendly and speak English well. Trains and buses are easy to catch to both airports. The rooms are spacious, Internet access available for 1000 yen a day. The garden around the hotel is amazing.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
87 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Though my stay was for only one night, I found the hotel to be very clean and staff very courteous and helpful. Nice big rooms and excellent breakfast. Free wi-fi in the lobby area. And dont miss the garden in the backyard !!

Location is very convenient and not very far from city's attractions.

Room Tip: You can get either garden facing or Tokyo tower facing rooms. Both are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunilnew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati, Philippines
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

I chose this hotel because of its proximity to the Shinagawa station (JR company) and Takanawadai (Tokyo subway). We spent 5 days in the hotel and used trains as our transportation to roam around Tokyo. From Narita Airport, it is accessible by NeX trains going to Shinagawa station but we bought the Airport Limousine (bus) ticket coz they will bring you infront of the hotel entrance which costs 6000 Yen round trip plus a free 2 day unlimited rides for Tokyo Metro Line. I had a great time with my family; we are 5 and we got 2 rooms, with different views, the other side on the garden, and on the other side the Tokyo Tower. The room was clean and surprisingly larger, compared to the typical tokyo rooms.Their garden was very beautiful, it has a historical temple on it with a pond filled with fishes, very Japanese themed place, picturesque. We actually bought Yukata and wore it and took pictures in the garden. The garden is known to be a site of cherry blossom trees but too bad we went there mid-spring.
There are also a good number of restaurants in the area, a 7-11 convenience store nearby, their cheap packed dinner tastes good actually, a must try. This hotel is uphill and it takes 10 minutes to walk to and from Shinagawa station, but you can use the shortcut by walking through Sakura hotel. The staff are not very good in English but simplifying your words helped them what you meant. It is also a good base for tours, however you need to transfer to the Grand Prince New Takanawa Hotel for pick-ups. The place is quiet coz it is located on a small hill, in a complex of hotels.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roberncruzado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

A pleasant hotel very close to the train station, hence excellent base for exploring Tokyo. The grounds are gorgeous.

All of the staff were helpful and friendly. Fortunately for me, they all spoke Japanese, including the chef who made me a delicious omelette for breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Frade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minato
Shinagawa / Gotanda
Grand Prince Hotel New Takanawa
Shinagawa / Gotanda
The Prince Sakura Tower Tokyo, Autograph Collection
Shinagawa / Gotanda
Shinagawa Prince Hotel Tokyo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinagawa / Gotanda
Keikyu EX Inn Shinagawa Ekimae
Shinagawa / Gotanda
The Strings by InterContinental Tokyo
Shinagawa / Gotanda
Keikyu EX Inn Takanawa
Keikyu EX Inn Takanawa
#61 of 106 in Minato
3.5 of 5 stars 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Prince Hotel Takanawa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Prince Hotel Takanawa

Property: Grand Prince Hotel Takanawa
Address: 3-13-1 Takanawa, Minato 108-8612, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato > Shinagawa / Gotanda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Minato
#18 Family Hotel in Minato
#30 Business Hotel in Minato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Prince Hotel Takanawa 4*
Number of rooms: 414
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Fastbooking, Hotels.com, Travelocity and JAPANiCAN so you can book your Grand Prince Hotel Takanawa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prince Hotel Minato
Prince Hotel Tokyo
Minato Prince Hotel
Grand Prince Hotel Takanawa Tokyo, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing