We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Japanese garden, great service and terrific location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Prince Hotel Takanawa
Ranked #19 of 112 Hotels / Ryokan in Minato
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Came back to the Prince hotel complex and have been most impressed with all aspects of the hotel especially the traditional Japanese garden. Additionally the service was first class and room understated, clean and functional. I'd come back again for sure.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flashpacka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (659)
There are newer reviews for Grand Prince Hotel Takanawa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

170 - 176 of 659 reviews

Reviewed November 29, 2012

We were very happy with this hotel. The location was ideal and easy to get into central Tokyo from. The staff at the hotel were excellent. Our room was fine, clean and not too small. Some of the other reviews had said that the decor was somewhat dated, but it was no problem for us and I'm sure that had it been more up to date in that respect then the hotel would have been much more expensive. As it was, it was good value for money. The setting is xecellent, three connected hotels set around an idyllic Japanese Garden. Very easy to get to and from Narita, take the Airport Limousine bus for the Shinagawa hotels. Cost about 3,000 Yen and takes around an hour and a quarter. Only downside was the coffee, which was so bad we complained and they refunded our money.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelMan956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

On a business trip, in the crazed rush of Tokyo, a hotel sanctuary is a must for some and really good idea for others. The Grand Prince Takanawa Hotel offers a sense of peace and tranquility in the bustle of Toyko. Your inner balance can be restored by resting in their garden or watchng the koi in the pond.

A traditional looking build and lobby leads to a more modern, western style room. Service was impressive as two ladies escorted me from the front desk to my room to show me the ammenities. You can even exchange $US for Japanese yen at the front desk. Even if travelling alone, be sure to ask for a room with two beds to get more space.

The Grand Prince Takanawa Hotel is conveniently located about a 5 minute uphill walk from the Shinagawa train station. The uphill walk may sound liked a burden but it rewards with good views over the city from rooms higher up.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank freeamac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

I have been trying all the hotels around Shinagawa station. There are a lot with almost the same name. The good thing with this hotel is the rooms size. It is getting old but actually very well maintained. The lobby is not a nice experience, like all the other hotels around, but once you are in your room it is a world of silence. My room was a standard one and the size is probably twice what you get in other places. More recent hotels would have newer furnitures but here you have to give space a priority. The garden is lovely and do not hesitate to walk in, especially to go to the next door hotel (forgot the name) which offers international buffet breakfast and is part fo the same group.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laurent P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

The hotel is conveniently located near the Shinagawa Train Station but compared to some other hotels in the vicinity, this hotel requires a further distance and uphill walk. Fortunately, the walk is pleasant if the weather is fine. The hotel is also a stop for the airport shuttle bus even though we found the travel to and from the airport via the train is more convenient. No complaints about this hotel, it's clean and the room size is bigger than some other hotels we have stayed in for 2 people in Japan. Will stay in Shinagawa area again but will try hotels that are closer to the train station.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CSC_Dec2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

I last reviewed this hotel in 2009 and gave it 5 stars. Since then I have been a regular visitor, but sadly there has been no investment in the hotel and the rooms have become shabby with dirty carpeting and are now long overdue refurbishment. The location and Japanese garden remain great features, but I have since stayed at the neighbouring Shin Takanawa Prince, which I have found to be better. How disappointing it is to see such a good hotel flounder due to lack of attention.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aieeyaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

It was a nice stay, the hotel is very close to the metro line. Also the airport limo is very convenient for the airport travel. The staff were friendly, hotel had good amenities.

The room could do with an upgrade else everything was great.

Thank Ricky S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Minato hotels
Shinagawa / Gotanda
Grand Prince Hotel New Takanawa
Shinagawa / Gotanda
Shinagawa Prince Hotel Tokyo
Shinagawa / Gotanda
The Prince Sakura Tower Tokyo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinagawa / Gotanda
Keikyu EX Inn Shinagawa Ekimae
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Park Hotel Tokyo
Park Hotel Tokyo
#6 of 112 in Minato
3,187 reviews
Shinagawa / Gotanda
Sheraton Miyako Hotel Tokyo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Prince Hotel Takanawa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Prince Hotel Takanawa

Address: 3-13-1 Takanawa, Minato 108-8612, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato > Shinagawa / Gotanda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Minato
#18 Family Hotel in Minato
#30 Business Hotel in Minato
Price Range: $119 - $291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Prince Hotel Takanawa 4*
Number of rooms: 414
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Fastbooking, JAPANiCAN, Travelocity, Rakuten, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Grand Prince Hotel Takanawa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prince Hotel Minato
Prince Hotel Tokyo
Minato Prince Hotel
Grand Prince Hotel Takanawa Tokyo, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing