We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“The best in the serie” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Prince Hotel Takanawa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grand Prince Hotel Takanawa
Ranked #32 of 106 Hotels / Ryokan in Minato
Singapore
Level Contributor
190 reviews
153 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“The best in the serie”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

I have been trying all the hotels around Shinagawa station. There are a lot with almost the same name. The good thing with this hotel is the rooms size. It is getting old but actually very well maintained. The lobby is not a nice experience, like all the other hotels around, but once you are in your room it is a world of silence. My room was a standard one and the size is probably twice what you get in other places. More recent hotels would have newer furnitures but here you have to give space a priority. The garden is lovely and do not hesitate to walk in, especially to go to the next door hotel (forgot the name) which offers international buffet breakfast and is part fo the same group.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurent P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    278
    87
    22
    5
See reviews for
119
132
48
156
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

The hotel is conveniently located near the Shinagawa Train Station but compared to some other hotels in the vicinity, this hotel requires a further distance and uphill walk. Fortunately, the walk is pleasant if the weather is fine. The hotel is also a stop for the airport shuttle bus even though we found the travel to and from the airport via the train is more convenient. No complaints about this hotel, it's clean and the room size is bigger than some other hotels we have stayed in for 2 people in Japan. Will stay in Shinagawa area again but will try hotels that are closer to the train station.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CSC_Dec2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

I last reviewed this hotel in 2009 and gave it 5 stars. Since then I have been a regular visitor, but sadly there has been no investment in the hotel and the rooms have become shabby with dirty carpeting and are now long overdue refurbishment. The location and Japanese garden remain great features, but I have since stayed at the neighbouring Shin Takanawa Prince, which I have found to be better. How disappointing it is to see such a good hotel flounder due to lack of attention.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aieeyaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

It was a nice stay, the hotel is very close to the metro line. Also the airport limo is very convenient for the airport travel. The staff were friendly, hotel had good amenities.

The room could do with an upgrade else everything was great.

Helpful?
Thank Ricky S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sydney
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

This hotel is in an extremely convenient location, unlike some of the reviews stating that the station is a bit of a walk and you need a shuttle i disagree, it took us just over 5 minutes to walk with our suitcases there, if you have heavy luggage and as it is up a hill get the shuttle but it was fine for us.Station is a JR station so you can exchange Japanese Rail passes here.
The room was big for tiny japanese standards and a relatively nice bathroom with a deep bath tub, everything was very clean couldn't complain about that.
The restaurants in the hotel were extremely expensive we did not use them, but they do look lovely one being in the lovely zen garden they have outside perfect for summer dining.
This hotel does not have a pool but you can share the other Prince hotels pool and gym that is next door but at a cost of of around $15 (Aus).
The only real gripe we had was that we arrived at 6.00 in the morning aware that we couldn't check in until 14.00 but at 13.30 they said we could have checked in hours ago as the room was free at a cost and no one had told us.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sarahct4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
91 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

The hotel is well located, very close to the shinagawa station and since I stayed here just the last night before coming back to Italy, it has been very confortable to find the train narita express leaving directly from such a station and a shuttle service (offered by the hotel) to join it.
The lobby and the garden are very nice, quiet, calm and cozy and in the lobby there's also a free wifi service.
Rooms are big (according to Japanese standards), a little old style but with a nice view over the city. The bath was also big and clean (the courtesy kit was a little poor).
I han no breakfast, nor dinner...so I don't know haw are restaurants.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank viaggiaxpiacere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Minato hotels
Shinagawa / Gotanda
Grand Prince Hotel New Takanawa
Shinagawa / Gotanda
The Prince Sakura Tower Tokyo
Shinagawa / Gotanda
Shinagawa Prince Hotel Tokyo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinagawa / Gotanda
Keikyu EX Inn Shinagawa Ekimae
Shinagawa / Gotanda
Keikyu EX Inn Takanawa
Keikyu EX Inn Takanawa
#64 of 106 in Minato
3.5 of 5 stars 135 reviews
Shinagawa / Gotanda
The Strings by InterContinental Tokyo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Prince Hotel Takanawa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Prince Hotel Takanawa

Property: Grand Prince Hotel Takanawa
Address: 3-13-1 Takanawa, Minato 108-8612, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato > Shinagawa / Gotanda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Minato
#18 Luxury Hotel in Minato
#30 Business Hotel in Minato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Prince Hotel Takanawa 4*
Number of rooms: 414
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, JAPANiCAN, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Fastbooking and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grand Prince Hotel Takanawa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prince Hotel Minato
Prince Hotel Tokyo
Minato Prince Hotel
Grand Prince Hotel Takanawa Tokyo, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing