We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious rooms, located on a hilltop overlooking Shinagawa”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Prince Hotel Takanawa
Ranked #19 of 116 Hotels / Ryokan in Minato
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 22, 2012

Most hotel rooms in tokyo are usually small by international standards. This hotel, though located a bit further from the main road and Shinagawa station, has spacious rooms and quiet location. Staff are genuinely helpful and speaks excellent english, useful for non japanese speaking tourists/businessmen. Several restaurants with the steak house (opened since 1969) and located in a quaint buiilding beside the hotel complex looks promising although it was under minor renovation and we did not have enough time to try it as well.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank csh68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (668)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

194 - 200 of 668 reviews

Reviewed May 9, 2012

Situated in Shinagawa, a short train ride from Shibuya, Shinjuku and many other interesting places in Tokyo, we stayed here for three nights in May 2012. Ask for a room overlooking the gardens. The room was comfortable and clean although the bathroom is quite small. Breakfast at the Patio in the hotel was great, with a mix of western and Japanese offerings - try the Japanese breakfast items - they're great. The hotel staff are very helpful and there's a frequent courtesy bus to Shinagawa station. If you like walking, the station is only about 10 minutes away on foot. Would gladly stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skylark24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2012

We stayed here in January 2012 for four nights.The rooms were very large, particularly for Japan and overlooked the beautiful Japanese gardens. This area of the complex is so quiet for a central Tokyo hotel, and yet the Shinagawa Station is only a five minute walk away.While the rooms were not luxurious, they were furnished quite stylishly.It was bonus having a full size desk to put the laptop,newspapers, maps etc., on.
We will stay here again and would suggest the Delux Garden Rooms for that little bit extra comfort.
A great value hotel!

Room Tip: Garden View rooms are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annie202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2012

We stayed two nights. Hotel has very good location five minutes walk to Shinagawa Station.
Price is good compare to other hotels in Tokyo and also the room is bigger than Japannesse standard. If you are in Japan in between March and April you can enjoy Sakura trees in the hotel garden. Although staff is very helpfull there is not enough English in the room so it is better to ask how to use remote control in the front desk. No free internet connection.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karakafa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2012

The Grand Prince Takanawa is part of a complex of Prince hotels near Shinagawa Station. This means that is is very convenient for taking bullet trains, subways, the the Japan Rail train that loops around Tokyo. There is a beautiful garden between the hotels. The rooms are large for a moderate-priced hotel and have every possible amenity. The staff is very helpful and knowledgeable. We were in Tokyo for a family wedding and the whole family stayed at the hotel and all agreed that is was a good choice.

Room Tip: A room overlooking the garden is nice and very large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ExNewYorker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2012

We stayed twice, once at the start of our holiday and once at the end. After a very early arrival at Shinagawa station and not realising how close the hotel was we jumped into a taxi who took us to the wrong hotel. Soon sorted out, we dropped off our luggage and returned later to our garden view room. Plenty of space, good sized bathroom, comfortable beds.

Two negatives, no English speaking channel on tv and my big moan wifi only available on payment of 1000 Yen, in this day and age I think it should be available for free as it was in some of the less expensive hotels we stayed in.

Ok I've got that off my chest. Shinagawa station a simple journey from Hadena airport, convenient for JR Yamamote line and Shinkansen is less than a 10 minute walk away. There is a shuttle bus which departs from the front of the station ever half hour or so at 2 and 32 minutes past the hour.

Reception staff all seem to be English speakers.

The garden area is very attractive and good for a stroll day or night.

Tokyo has a wide choice of hotels but for us this struck a good balance of cost and comfort.

Room Tip: Try for garden view room on a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paul6111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2012

This hotel shares its wonderful garden with its sister hotel the Hotel New Takanawa. The rooms are slightly larger than usual for Tokyo, but the bed is very hard by western standards, and the chairs are uncomfortable. Then rooms are clean and otherwise OK. Staff is friendly and helpful, and the hotel has better than average restaurants. The hotel also has a periodic free shuttle to Shinagawa Station, that is excellent.

Room Tip: Request a king-size bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JimAustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Minato hotels
Shinagawa / Gotanda
Grand Prince Hotel New Takanawa
Shinagawa / Gotanda
Shinagawa Prince Hotel Tokyo
Shinagawa / Gotanda
Keikyu EX Inn Shinagawa Ekimae
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinagawa / Gotanda
The Prince Sakura Tower Tokyo
Shinagawa / Gotanda
Sheraton Miyako Hotel Tokyo
Shinagawa / Gotanda
The Strings by InterContinental Tokyo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Prince Hotel Takanawa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Prince Hotel Takanawa

Address: 3-13-1 Takanawa, Minato 108-8612, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato > Shinagawa / Gotanda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Minato
#18 Family Hotel in Minato
#30 Business Hotel in Minato
Price Range: $132 - $288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Prince Hotel Takanawa 4*
Number of rooms: 414
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Fastbooking, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Rakuten, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Grand Prince Hotel Takanawa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prince Hotel Minato
Prince Hotel Tokyo
Minato Prince Hotel
Grand Prince Hotel Takanawa Tokyo, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing