We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Too small” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Marroad Inn Akasaka

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Marroad Inn Akasaka
Ranked #102 of 106 Hotels / Ryokan in Minato
Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Too small”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

This hotel is in a good location, but the room quality is poor. I had a ripped bedspread which had the stuffing popping out of it. The room itself is very small, almost so small you can not fit in a suitcase at the end of your bed, the hotel staff are at tentative but not friendly. Buffet if of ok standard.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Smokeybinsai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    18
    47
    10
    1
See reviews for
1
5
28
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ho Chi Minh, Vietnam
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

The hotel room is very small and no wifi provided even when we want to pay for it!! You can only use the cable when you check in ( 4pm- very late). The receptionists are not really helpful. However, the bathroom is quite comfortable with modern equipment.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hannah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi
Level Contributor
80 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

The hotel is conveniently loacated in a quiet street but close to many good retaurants and shops. Just less then 5 minutes walk to near by Akasaka station where you can take the subway to city center. The hotel staff is friendly even they dont speak much English but they try their best to accomodate their guests. No wifi as many other hotels in Japan but they do have Free LAN in the room. Breakbast is typical Japanese style with some bread.
Will stay here again if I go back to Tokyo

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
横浜市
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for business trip.
Here is very low price despite good place,
but I was dissatisfied with,
Short Lan cable (We cannot operate PC with our leaning against a wall on bed.
Rooms are dark a little.
We hear the noise of next room including voice.
I think quantity of breakfast is enough but it is better if we have a light breakfast(for example, eggs+ toast+coffee)
Ditch in the bathroom is too huge and it becomes troublesome if you drop your finger rings.
It is good for us to use ice for free from vending machine and many towels.
We can find several restaurants,(from low price like fast food or Sukiya, Nakau convenience store , to exclusive shops) and coin washers ( I found two . but these are old and dirty shops) around hotel.

Room Tip: Tips for selecting rooms: If you are nervous to noise, you should choose top floor and corner rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 旅人横浜市
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lusaka, Lusaka, Zambia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

We booked into Marroad Inn six days ago. We were told by the organiser of our accommodation that it was cheaper than the one we had booked in Ropongi. Yes it was cheap or rather affordable. A room cost 12,000 Yen, close to 100 dollars. When checking in, what greeted me was some guy that looked more of an American smoking just next to the reception. Apparently, that is the hotel's smoking area. God, the smoking area can be taken elsewhere. The strong smell of a cocktail of smoked cigarettes seems to escape to the rooms, especially the second floor where I booked my room. And what happens to the restaurant? Closed on holidays and weekends? Its so inconviniencing.

Room Tip: Get a room higher up because of the smell of cigarrettes
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bivan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2010

If you're looking for budget accommodations but a capsule hotel does not appeal, spend a few dollars more and try the Marroad Inn Akasaka. The rooms are typical Japanese business hotel sized and rather worn, but there is free LAN internet, a surprisingly nice TV (no English channels), and the beds are comfortable enough. All this plus a location on a quiet street in a nice neighborhood, yet only about a four minute walk from the back of Tokyo Midtown. Also, the hotel is very close to two metro stops.

Very good deals are to be found on the hotel website, especially on weekends. By the way, skip the Western-style breakfast. I know it is only $3 with your room but either get the Japanese set (same price) or go to the Bagel&Bagel around the block.

One warning: There are no deadbolts on the doors, nor are there peepholes. Security seems to be fine (the front desk is attended 24 hours a day), but it may put some people off so I thought I'd mention it. Also, though this hotel is well within walking distance to Roppongi Hills, the area you must walk through, like all of the Roppongi Crossing area, is filled with aggressive touts trying to lure you into their hostess bars. Most travelers will brush them off, but this is not necessarily the best area to be walking around with children late-ish at night. Again, the area directly around the hotel is quite nice.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trip2phan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2009

This nice business hotel is located in Akasaka Street, very close to the city center.
Nearby you can find a Metro station ('Akasaka Street' station) with brings you fast to some of Tokyo's most important areas like Harajuku, Shibuya, Shinjuku, Ginza and Roppongi (which is reachable fast by foot, too) with all their great buildings like the Tokyo Tower, the countless shrines, temples and parks, the big fish market and of course all the great shopping possibilities ;)

The hotel's restaurant might be a little expensive, but you won't have any problems finding something really delicious and reasonable while walking around.

  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jlink2909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minato
Akasaka / Roppongi
Akasaka Yoko Hotel
Akasaka Yoko Hotel
#50 of 106 in Minato
3.5 of 5 stars 272 reviews
Akasaka / Roppongi
the b akasaka
the b akasaka
#39 of 106 in Minato
4.0 of 5 stars 371 reviews
Akasaka / Roppongi
Hotel Grand Fresa Akasaka
Hotel Grand Fresa Akasaka
#15 of 106 in Minato
4.0 of 5 stars 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Akasaka / Roppongi
Keio Presso Inn Akasaka
Keio Presso Inn Akasaka
#63 of 106 in Minato
4.0 of 5 stars 28 reviews
Akasaka / Roppongi
APA Hotel Roppongi Ekimae
APA Hotel Roppongi Ekimae
#88 of 106 in Minato
4.0 of 5 stars 8 reviews
Excel City Hotel
#12 of 32 in Koto
4.0 of 5 stars 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Marroad Inn Akasaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marroad Inn Akasaka

Property: Hotel Marroad Inn Akasaka
Address: 6-15-17 Akasaka, Minato 107-0052, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato > Akasaka / Roppongi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #102 of 106 Hotels / Ryokan in Minato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Marroad Inn Akasaka 3*
Number of rooms: 264
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, JAPANiCAN, Priceline, HotelTravel.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Marroad Inn Akasaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Marroad Akasaka
Hotel Marroad Inn Akasaka Tokyo, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing