We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunningly Stylish Hotel”
Review of Conrad Tokyo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Conrad Tokyo
Ranked #1 of 109 Hotels / Ryokan in Minato
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Stunningly Stylish Hotel”
Reviewed October 27, 2012

I stayed at the Conrad for the first time this month. It is a very stylish hotel, the rooms are large and stylishly appointed and the bathroom was huge, the stand alone bath was fabulous.

The gym is well appointed and overlooks a narrow but long pool - 25m which is a great length for a hotel pool.

I had a drink in the bar which has breathtaking views over Tokyo Bay and breakfast in the executive lounge. The exec lounge is set up like a domestic kitchen and lounge room which I think might be to make guests feel at home but I am not sure that it really works. The food was excellent though. The staff has trouble keeping up with clearing plates and taking extra coffee orders etc. and given it was not that busy while I was at breakfast, this was a bit disappointing.

The hotel is a short taxi ride from Tokyo Station or a short walk from Shimbashi Station. I would not bother changing at Shimbashi to the monorail line to go one stop to Shiodome Station which is next to the hotel. By the time you walk through the monorail station, but a ticket, wait for the train etc, you could have walked to the hotel from Shimbashi.

Overall it is one of the most stylish, comfortable hotels I have stayed at.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gisabel69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton_ec_TYOHI, General Manager at Conrad Tokyo, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you for the fabulous comment.
We are happy that you were delighted with your stay.
Glad to hear that you enjoyed the spectacular bathroom, the magnificent view overlooking Tokyo Bay and we certainly appreciate that you have pointed out a few issues for us to review/improve, like the exec lounge set up and breakfast services.
Otherwise, we trust you had a nice stay with us and we certainly look forward to an opportunity to welcome you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,926 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,184
    575
    115
    33
    19
See reviews for
682
959
271
659
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (414)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

We loved our stayed at the Conrad. Best bits: the spacious feeling of the room (we were on the Executive top floor), the Exec lounge for breakfast and drinks/nibbles in the evening, the Shiseido amenities, lovely pool/spa area (although not as good as the Park Hyatt). The location was good for the Hamarikyu Gardens (and ferry to Asakusa) and Tsujuki fish market but felt a bit out of the way otherwise. Not too bad for Ginza. Seems cheaper than Mandarin, Peninsula, Park Hyatt etc and a bit more down to earth. Great service, no complaints, can't wait to come back!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denhoward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton_ec_TYOHI, General Manager at Conrad Tokyo, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
What a great feedback we have received here – thank you!
We are pleased to hear that you had a fantastic stay with us at the Conrad Tokyo.
Great that you enjoyed our service and facilities inclusive of the Executive Lounge on the 37th floor, where you can enjoy daily breakfast, snacks and cocktails throughout your stay.
Come back soon and we look forward to serving you again, hopefully in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Great hotel with extra effort in service.
Our stay was high.igjted by amazing service.
Design of the hotel was interesting, but not really me, a little safe.
Food was great, liked the breakfast and sushi.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton_ec_TYOHI, General Manager at Conrad Tokyo, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Thank you very much and we are happy that you had an enjoyable stay with us.
Great to read your very positive comments on the service and I have passed on your comments to our team members who I am sure will be even more motivated.
We Look forward to welcoming you back very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawaii
Level 6 Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

We just recently stayed 6 nights at the Conrad Tokyo. I was very impressed with the hotel from the moment we arrived. We were graciously greeted, I can't say enough of the Japanese people and how wonderful the culture is. The service was outstanding and they will go out of their way to go above and beyond. The lobby is on the 28th floor with expansive windows and an incredible breathtaking view of Tokyo. We stayed in a 1 bedroom suite on the executive floor overlooking Tokyo Bay. The suite was extremely large and included a small kitchen area where we had our own Nespresso machine (We loved this extra touch), dining table, living room, office area (worked great since my husband was on business) and of coarse the bedroom and spacious bathroom. THe room was well appointed as one would expect of a luxury hotel. We had floor to ceiling windows in every room overlooking the bay. It was incredible and certainly a home away from home. We took advantage of the Executive floor lounge every morning for breakfast. They had omelets made to order with a variety of American and Japanese foods. It is a wonderful room with with added service of it's own concierge, which was helpful for me daily. The executive concierge service assisted me in planning out my day. I joined my husband who was on business but I got to be a tourist. There were several sport celebrities during the time we were there and we saw Andy Murray every morning in the Ex. Lounge having his breakfast before his tennis match. We also saw Formula One Driver Lewis Hamilton. That was pretty exciting. I thought the location of the hotel was perfectly situated near the action but not in the middle of it all. I walked to the Ginza area (shopping district) almost daily - about 10 minute walk. Also I took advantage of the subway (great and easy way to get around Tokyo, very clean and safe - not like NYC) which is right next to the hotel (Shiodome Station). I thought the location could not be anymore perfect. We utilized the gym daily and took advantage of the spa as well. We dined in the Chinese Restaurant and the Gordon Ramsey French Restaurant. Both were excellent and had great service as well. The lobby bar is also another wonderful area to enjoy with live music and incredible views while having a cocktail. All in all our stay was remarkable and I will definately return. I highly recommend this hotel in Tokyo.

Room Tip: Request an Executive Floor room and the benefits of the lounge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HawaiiWang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton_ec_TYOHI, General Manager at Conrad Tokyo, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Thank you for your great feedback. We are so happy to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us.
We are pleased to hear that you liked our room and the magnificent view from the lobby as well as our convenient location.
Yes, we are located right above the subway station called Shiodome on Oedo Line and within walking distance to the famous Ginza shopping area. Glad that you appreciated our location!
Come back soon and we look forward to serving you again, hopefully in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

We stayed 2 nights at the Conrad.
Though the location is a bit far from the action, the service was truly amazing, even for Japan. We were upgraded to the executive floor. Our room was large, very comfortable, with a beautiful bathroom.
The staff was incredibly helpful, to help make itineraries, booking transport to the airport, arranging extra early in room breakfast on our last day.
The pool is also beautiful.

Room Tip: Executive floors have great extra services.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DafMoscow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton_ec_TYOHI, General Manager at Conrad Tokyo, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Wonderful to hear that you were happy with our service and guest room facilities.
Thank you so much for your comments on our service, which will be shared with the team.
We hope to welcome you back in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Our room was impeccable in every way especially the extra care they gave us with having an infant. They even gave us a conrad rubber duckie for her bath time. Service was amazing as well. The downsides however were that it wasn't too close to the shopping area (Ginza was a 15 min walk) and because the hotel lobby is on a higher floor, you have to take 2 elevators to get to the room wing. It isn't an easy walk when you are carrying a baby in a carrier.

Room Tip: Get a room closer to the elevators as it's a long corridor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelingMermaid027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton_ec_TYOHI, General Manager at Conrad Tokyo, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Thank you for the fabulous comment.
We are happy that you were delighted with your stay.
Glad to hear that you enjoyed the bathroom and overlooking Tokyo Bay and our popular Conrad duck!
Thank you again and we all look forward to welcoming back in the not too distant future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

My wife and I stopped over in Tokyo for 4 days. I am a Hilton Gold member and we were upgraded to a room overlooking Tokyo Bay. The room is absolute perfection - from the view, to the automated curtains and blinds and of course the Japanese toilet. We used the pool and spa one afternoon - it was an oasis in the sky - a great retreat from hectic city pace. The hotel itself is well connected to public transport and only a few blocks away from the fish market. The calmness in the hotel is felt from the moment one enters on the ground floor. The hotel itself is midway up in the hi rise tower taking up several floors. This was one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in anywhere in the world.

Room Tip: The Tokyo Bay side rooms offer amazing views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DanB24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton_ec_TYOHI, General Manager at Conrad Tokyo, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Wow, what great feedback we have received from you!
We are pleased to hear that you had a fantastic stay with us at the Conrad Tokyo.
Thank you for the fabulous comment and please come and visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minato
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Park Hotel Tokyo
Park Hotel Tokyo
#6 of 109 in Minato
3,110 reviews
Shinjuku
Park Hyatt Tokyo
Park Hyatt Tokyo
#1 of 82 in Shinjuku
2,840 reviews
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Palace Hotel Tokyo
Palace Hotel Tokyo
#1 of 74 in Chiyoda
1,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Imperial Hotel Tokyo
Imperial Hotel Tokyo
#6 of 74 in Chiyoda
1,987 reviews
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Shangri-La Hotel, Tokyo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Conrad Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conrad Tokyo

Property: Conrad Tokyo
Address: 1-9-1 Higashishimbashi, Minato 105-7337, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato > Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Minato
#1 Spa Hotel in Minato
#1 Luxury Hotel in Minato
#1 Business Hotel in Minato
#1 Romantic Hotel in Minato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Conrad Tokyo 5*
Number of rooms: 289
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Conrad Tokyo hotel, where legendary Conrad excellence meets the calming and inspiring design of modern day Japan. The Conrad Tokyo hotel is conveniently located just 5 minutes from the famous Ginza Shopping Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Rakuten, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Conrad Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Conrad Tokyo Hotel Minato
Conrad Hotel Tokyo
Conrad Hotel Minato
Minato Conrad
Conrad Tokyo Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing