We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fa-hab-bu-loussss!”
Review of Conrad Tokyo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Conrad Tokyo
Ranked #1 of 109 Hotels / Ryokan in Minato
Certificate of Excellence
Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Fa-hab-bu-loussss!”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We just stayed here. I have to start off by saying that we're Diamond Hilton Honors members, so we didn't have to pay for wifi, pool or fitness center in the hotel and had access to the executive lounge for happy hour and breakfast. The lobby bar is exorbitant, at $16 for a beer, but the view is amazing. The staff throughout the hotel was amazing in our experience. The regular rooms here are beautifully done with lots of thoughtful details, but we were upgraded to a suite for our second night and it was amazing. During the move between rooms, my husband left his glasses in the first room, and after a while, there was a knock at our door with an attendant carefully delivering his glasses in an envelope. There was an error on our bill when we checked out, and the front desk clerk hunted me down to correct it. Staff members were unfailingly polite and attentive. This hotel really says "Tokyo" to me. Yes, expensive, yes opulent, but it was a very good experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AZTravelJunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton_ec_TYOHI, General Manager at Conrad Tokyo, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Wow, what great feedback we have received from you!
Thank you so much for your compliments on our service and facilities, which will be shared with the team.
Great to hear that you liked our suite room and the magnificent view over Tokyo Bay.
Thank you also for your kind words about staff, who really appreciate your comments.
We certainly look forward to serving you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,814 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,094
    557
    113
    31
    19
See reviews for
641
927
262
637
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (405)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Parksville, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

The hotel is very nice looking, clean and comfortable. The staff were all exeptional and very friendly and helpful. The restaurant is terrible though, overpriced and the food is bland and seems prepared and warmed when you get it. If you must eat there get the buffet and enjoy the coffee and fresh juice. I'm not sure how the restaurant has the Gordon Ramsey name associated with it.
The other dissapointment to me is them nickle and diming you. After you have payed to stay at an upscale hotel I don't expect to pay more for the pool and more for each device you want internet on (20$ per device per day). I understand Tokyo is an expensive place to stay but after paying 450$ for a night for a basic room, it feels cheap to charge for things that are usually included in hotels half the price.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank parksville9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton_ec_TYOHI, General Manager at Conrad Tokyo, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thank you very much for your feedback in such detail.
We are very disappointed to learn that you were not happy with your recent stay with us here at the hotel.
It was certainly not the standard one would expect from the Conrad Tokyo. Your comments on the restaurant pricing have been shared with our respective managers to ensure that we will improve for the future.
Thank you also for your feedback regarding internet access here at the Conrad Tokyo.
Otherwise, we trust you overall enjoyed your stay at our hotel and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
87 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

We (family with two small kids) went to Tokyo for a long weekend. Based on one previous stay (when i traveled alone) and the reviews on tripadvisor we chose the Conrad, booking an Executive Bay View Room.
Everything was just perfect from the start, efficient and friendly check in only being topped by a room (almost a suite, especially for Tokyo much bigger than average, even for a 5 star hotel) with a big WOW factor - what a stunning view of Tokyo Bay. it was so relaxing in the early morning or evening just to sit by the window and enjoy the scenery.
English Breakfast in the executive lounge offers all what you asked for - the Cappuccino was better than the one served in Gordon Ramsay's restaurant! They also have free drinks and some small snacks in the evening - well worth it after a day on the road.
Very good location of the hotel - Ginza shopping district is within a 15 minute walking distance.
Only (small) down-side: no free wireless - 24 hours is 1,500 Yen per device.

Room Tip: Make sure that you book a room with bay view, it is just stunning. if your are travelling at least w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ulrich H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton_ec_TYOHI, General Manager at Conrad Tokyo, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
We are delighted to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay here at the Conrad Tokyo!
Great to hear that you liked our spacious guest room and the stunning view over Tokyo Bay from your room.
Regarding internet access here at the Conrad Tokyo, you may be interested to know that we do provide complimentary internet access to all of our guests in our internet kiosk located on the 28th floor and in our Executive Lounge.
Furthermore, members of Hilton HHonors, our award winning guest loyalty program, will enjoy the benefit of free internet, once they reached Gold or Diamond status. If you have not done so yet, I do encourage you to sign up today to start earning points towards this membership level on our Hilton HHonors website.
Thank you for your great comments and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

As all of the reports say, the rooms are good and the service/staff are as expected of a 5 star hotel.: However the lobby bar is below average and at $25 a drink, you expect to be comfortable. Seats were awful... We were mortified at the price of dinner. In the Japanese restaurant a set dinner sushi and an additional 4 orders of sushi, 3 glasses of wine a beer - a whopping $680!!!!! Yes how much!!!????- completely overpriced and ruined our trip to be fair, we felt ripped off. We have been to many Michelin starred restaurants and ate like kings and not been ripped off that much! What 5 start hotel - which to be honest you usually book because of its included facilities like a pool do you have to pay $2500japanese Yen ( $30)_to use when you are a guest and have already paid $360 a night! Disgusting! All the charm and the great room do not make up for this..... Take out second mortgage for this hotel - It's not worth it!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton_ec_TYOHI, Director of Operations at Conrad Tokyo, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear Michelle G,

Thank you for your recent stay at the Conrad Tokyo and providing us with valuable feedback.
I was disappointed to hear you did note enjoy all aspects of your stay.

Thank you for the nice comments about our staff and the room.

The pool charge is a normal additional charge in at hotels in Japan. For your reference please kindly note that our HHonors Gold members and Diamond members are entitled to complimentary pool use.

Without knowing your full details I am unable to review your bill at the sushi counter but I am happy to do so if you wish to contact me directly on mark.meaney@conradhotels.com. Bills of this amount are quite normal for high end sushi in Tokyo. I am very confident that our sushi is on par with the best in the city in terms of quality and price.

Thank you again for sharing your comments and I hope the above will not deter you from returning to the hotel.

We look forward to serving you again in not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Mark Meaney
Director of Operations
Conrad Tokyo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Takamatsu, Japan
Level Contributor
96 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

I visited this hotel for a couple of days with my wife as a treat, and we certainly enjoyed the experience. The room was excellent, the welcome efficient and quite warm, and almost every detail met our expectations. The only exception was the lobby bar, where the cocktails were mixed by incompetents. I ordered a caparinha and it was appalling, managing both to combine incorrect ingredients with an extremely weak mix. Believe or not, the bar staff put lemonade into it... I sent this monstrosity back and ordered another cocktail, which improved slightly to just "bad." It was a shame that an otherwise excellent hotel does not have properly trained bar staff. Avoid that, go have dinner at the Ramsey instead, and enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShaneCoughlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton_ec_TYOHI, Director of Operations at Conrad Tokyo, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear Shane C,

Thank you for your recent stay at the Conrad Tokyo and providing feedback on your stay.

I am happy to hear that you chose us as a treat with your wife and that you enjoyed your stay. I also read your comments regarding dinner in Gordon Ramsay at Conrad Tokyo and was glad to hear you thought it was exceptional.

I was sorry to hear about your experience at our TwentyEight Bar & Lounge. It is very rare that we receive these kinds of comments as we have an excellent team offering a wide variety of well made cocktails.
I have been reviewed your comments with the bar manager and his team to ensure that we are consistent in our offering in the future.

Should you be back in Tokyo please do not hesitate to let me know and it would be my pleasure to offer yourself and your wife a properly made Caipirinha.

Thank you again for sharing your comments and I hope the above will not deter you from returning to the hotel.

We look forward to serving you again in not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Mark Meaney
Director of Operations
Conrad Tokyo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

I recently stayed at Conrad Tokyo for 3 nights in September.
Location is good, closed to Ginza and the Tsukiji market, walking distance.
The front desk was very helpful, switched my room from King to two twin beds
upon request. The view was beautiful at the other side of the front desk.
Breakfast and service were good in the restaurant. Room is hugh size,
quiet to sleep at night. That is a very important part for me, I need a
full sleep so that I can function well.

After I returned home, found out that I left a lip gloss in
the hotel room, I brought it new from Santa Maria Novella shop in Osaka, they
found it immediately at the lost and found department, and expressed mail
back to me. I would definately return back to this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank uffizi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton_ec_TYOHI, General Manager at Conrad Tokyo, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Delighted to read your fabulous comments and we are very excited to hear that you had such a wonderful stay with us.
Thank you so much for kind words for our front desk staffs and housekeeping staffs, who really appreciate your comments.
I certainly look forward to welcoming you back to the Conrad Tokyo soon. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco usa
Level Contributor
146 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

The lobby sets the tone for this hotel...large, open spaces and lots of dark, warm wood. All the staff I encountered were friendly and competant at checkin, and throughout stay. View from lobby lounge is of a pretty green park, and river, and service and offerings in lounge are what you would expect...cool, efficient. Chinese, Gordon Ramsay and Japanese restaurants were uniformly good and predictably expensive. Sleeping rooms are large for Japan, and very comfortable. I would say the only drawbacks were furniture...which appears dated and the upholstery worn...and those vile bed strip fabric "decorations" that now substitute for full bedcovers but are equally vile and just make me think about how often they are or are not washed. Bathrooms are large and the tub takes pride of place in the room...which is great if you like baths. Unfortunately the water closet and shower are too small, and the water from the shower always leaks into the room and onto the very slippery floor. If I were to compare this to the Park Hyatt...the PH has a more dated "90s" look,
the lounge at the Conrad is definitely more comfortable, the restaurants in the Conrad are more up-to-date, the sleeping rooms in the PH are definitely less modern but the layout is much better with a walk in closet and the bathrooms though smaller have a nicer shower. I'd say the service in the PH is more personal and pleasant. Personally, I'd still rather stay in the PH.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ajwsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton_ec_TYOHI, General Manager at Conrad Tokyo, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thank you very much for your feedback in such detail.
Great to hear that you liked our lobby, the magnificent view over Tokyo Bay and kind words for our staffs, who really appreciate your comments.
We are very pleased to hear that you had an pleasant stay with us overall and we certainly appreciate that you have pointed out a few issues for us to review/improve, like furniture, bedding & bath room.
Otherwise, we trust you overall enjoyed your stay at our hotel and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minato
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Park Hotel Tokyo
Park Hotel Tokyo
#6 of 109 in Minato
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,043 reviews
Shinjuku
Park Hyatt Tokyo
Park Hyatt Tokyo
#1 of 81 in Shinjuku
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Palace Hotel Tokyo
Palace Hotel Tokyo
#1 of 74 in Chiyoda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,080 reviews
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Imperial Hotel Tokyo
Imperial Hotel Tokyo
#5 of 74 in Chiyoda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,938 reviews
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
The Tokyo Station Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Conrad Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conrad Tokyo

Property: Conrad Tokyo
Address: 1-9-1 Higashishimbashi, Minato 105-7337, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato > Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Minato
#1 Spa Hotel in Minato
#1 Business Hotel in Minato
#1 Family Hotel in Minato
#1 Luxury Hotel in Minato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Conrad Tokyo 5*
Number of rooms: 289
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Conrad Tokyo hotel, where legendary Conrad excellence meets the calming and inspiring design of modern day Japan. The Conrad Tokyo hotel is conveniently located just 5 minutes from the famous Ginza Shopping Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hilton EMEA, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Rakuten, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Conrad Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Conrad Tokyo Hotel Minato
Conrad Hotel Tokyo
Conrad Hotel Minato
Minato Conrad
Conrad Tokyo Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing