We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap, clean, safe but poor aircon”
Review of the b akasaka

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
the b akasaka
Ranked #46 of 110 Hotels / Ryokan in Minato
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level Contributor
90 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Cheap, clean, safe but poor aircon”
Reviewed January 7, 2011

The B Akasaka is fine - cheap, clean and small singles - but the airconditioning didn't seem to work and I had the window open in the middle of winter and the room was still boiling and it made it impossible to sleep.

The location in Akasaka is good - very close to the metro and a 10 minute walk to a fabulous supermarket at Tokyo Midtown shopping centre. There are lots of shops nearby. The hotel is up a very steep hill, so you should go towards the TBS building and look out for the elevator.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carnage99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RyujiChiku, Manager at the b akasaka, responded to this review, February 1, 2011
Dear carnage99
Thank you for taking the time to send your comments on the b akasaka. We are pleased that you enjoyed the location and found some good shopping nearby. I am sorry that you had a problem with the heating/ air-conditioning during your stay.
For your information we do offer both single and twin rooms in the hotel and list the sizes and bed sizes on our website and other websites where possible.
We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel again.
Kind regards
Annette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    227
    67
    7
    5
See reviews for
56
93
74
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
51 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 302 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2010

The B Akasaka is a cute, modern boutique hotel in a quiet neighborhood in Tokyo, about a 5 minute walk from the Akasaka station on the metro. The room we had was small, but everything was very efficiently placed, clean, and comfortable. It actually reminds me of the Loft brand hotels in the U.S.

I am also a huge fan of nice bathrooms, and our bathroom at the B had some great touches including a high-tech toilet with numerous sprays and a seat warmer. The shower was also excellent with about three different nozzle selections and great water pressure. Every staff member at the B that we spoke with is extremely polite, friendly, and helpful. There is a computer in the lobby of the hotel with free internet connection, and I think there is free internet connection in your room as well, but I didn’t have a laptop with me. An excellent choice if you don’t want to spend all your yen on accommodations.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aller et retour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RyujiChiku, Manager at the b akasaka, responded to this review, February 1, 2011
Dear aller et retour
Thank you for your comments. It is wonderful to hear that you had such a great stay at the hotel. It is nice to hear that you enjoyed not only the location, but the finer touches the hotel offers. With the b brand we have tried to differentiate and offer extras that the guests will find beneficial during their stay. Your comments will certainly be passed on to the Team Members and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Regards
Ryuji Chiku
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lombard, Illinois
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2010

Hotel staff was very friendly and helpful! They spoke english, which was a beig help. They helped us call a cab and confirm tour reservations also! Very nice people who take care of you during your stay. We had daily breakfast buffet which was very nice, hot foods like eggs and bacon included.
Rooms were small but nicely appointed, with good showers and comfy beds. Also each room has an ethernet cable for connecting to the internet free of charge.
There was a little free coffee machine and convenient vending machines in the lobby.
Lots of dining and shopping nearby, as well as 3 nearby subway stations make this a convenient choice for traveling and seeing Tokyo.

To note: this hotel is at the top of a fairly large slope/hill. If you have baggage there IS an elevator tucked in near the TBS building stairs.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Undecided_In_VP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2010

The hotel's location is great. It's about 5 minutes walk from the hotel to the nearest metro station, and about 4 minutes walk to the nearest Starbucks. It's also located close to the TBS (Tokyo Broadcasting System) building, and there are a lot of restaurants, shops and bars around.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juliehoaas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
94 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2010

Close to the metro
Walking distance to bars and nightlife (about 15 minutes)
Friendly and helpful staff speaking and understanding english quite good

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BGK190479
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2010

Had great trouble finding it and was finally delivered by the police, who were probably worried that the elderly, sodden, frozen gaijin was going to flake out on the immaculate streets of Akasaka. Normally, I am not bothered about the size of hotel rooms but the singles here really are minuscule and the aircon unable to cool the room to a decent temp even in the coldest April for many years. After one night I upgraded to a twin, twice the size for almost no extra cost. Breakfast was not up to much so, after the first morning, I strolled the ten minutes to the New Otani where a lavish buffet can be had in beautiful surroundings for rather a lot of money.

The B was modern and perfectly clean and the reception staff very pleasant with a good level of English, somewhat unusual in this grade of Japanese hotel.

There is a decent Italian restaurant next door, handy as icy rain poured down most of the time I was there.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney australia
1 review
Reviewed April 24, 2010

After we got off at Akasaka station with 5 hours of trains and transfers under our belt, we managed to find this clean trendy and value for money hotel. My partner and i were cold wet and tired, the smiles and warmth of the front desk staff was as welcome as a hug from granma on xmas morning. The 'B' is centrally located and handy to Roppongi, a 15 min walk. We had dinner in the hotel on the first nite as it was clod wet and windy outside. The food was nice, the plate size was small but tasty and as you come to expect in Tokyo not so cheap. The Room was clean, chic and modern a welcome change from the regular standard business hotel decor you see in most hotels in Japan. I will come back to this hotel if i am ever in Akasaka again as it was home away from home for the 6 days we were here.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanOz58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Minato hotels
Akasaka / Roppongi
the b akasaka-mitsuke
the b akasaka-mitsuke
#47 of 110 in Minato
163 reviews
Akasaka / Roppongi
Hotel Grand Fresa Akasaka
Hotel Grand Fresa Akasaka
#26 of 110 in Minato
348 reviews
Akasaka / Roppongi
the b roppongi
the b roppongi
#49 of 110 in Minato
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Akasaka / Roppongi
Hotel Monterey Akasaka
Hotel Monterey Akasaka
#20 of 110 in Minato
560 reviews
Akasaka / Roppongi
HOTEL MYSTAYS PREMIER Akasaka
Akasaka / Roppongi
Centurion Hotel Grand Akasaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to the b akasaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about the b akasaka

Property: the b akasaka
Address: 7-6-13 Akasaka, Minato 107-0052, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato > Akasaka / Roppongi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Minato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — the b akasaka 3*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the hub of the business, entertainment, dining and shopping districts of cosmopolitan Akasaka. Close-by is TBS Studios, Akasaka Sacas and two major subway stations providing easy access to Ginza, Shibuya, Shinjuku and Omote Sando. A short walk away you’ll find the Imperial Palace and the popular nightlife and entertainment area of Roppongi including Roppongi Hills, Tokyo Midtown, Suntory Museum of Art and the National Art Centre. The hotel also features Image SPA facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, JAPANiCAN, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Rakuten, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your the b akasaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The b Akasaka Hotel Minato
b Akasaka Minato
b Akasaka Hotel Minato
The b Akasaka Tokyo, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing