We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
the b tokyo akasaka
Nearby Hotels
$262
$152
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$204
$158
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$222
$182
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$73
$70
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$495
$342
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$393
$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$369
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$194
$104
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$232
$161
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$182
$117
JAPANiCAN.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (440)
Filter reviews
440 results
Traveler rating
112
238
73
11
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
112
238
73
11
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstbs buildingrooms are smallfree coffee in the lobbysubway stationtwin roomchiyoda linean italian restaurantself service laundrywasher and dryerbars and restaurantswould definitely stay here againbreakfast includedsmall fridgelocation is fantastichotel locationbooked this hotelshort stay
Filter
Updating list...
140 - 145 of 440 reviews
Reviewed July 4, 2013

I went to Tokyo alone for the weekend, and the B Akasaka turned out to be perfect. The room was like a mini spaceship, so I wouldn't recommend it for two people, but for one it was great. Centrally located on a quiet street and, thanks to tripadvisor rec's, easy to access the Akasaka subway stop. Every tourist question I had was answered by the friendly staff, and they loaned me an umbrella during a downpour. Asian breakfast was salty and delicious with a little sidewalk seating area. Thanks to the B my weekend in Tokyo was just lovely.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ritameta9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IshinHotelsGroup, マネージャー at the b tokyo akasaka, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Dear ritameta9

Thank you for choosing the b akasaka and for posting the review.
We are happy to know that you enjoyed the stay including our room breakfast. We are also glad that you read the recommendations for how to get to the hotel from the station prior your visit – we would love to help you out too though – the route is what we would recommend. We are also happy that we were able to help you with an umbrella – we would rend one if we have any spare. Please come back and see us again!

Best regards,

Ryuji Chiku
Area Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights in June. The place is easy to find. I highly recommend using the elevator next to the TBS building and infront of the Akasaka Residence building. After a day of sight seeing, the last thing you want to do is climb stairs up to the hotel. The hotel is located close to Akasaka subway station, The Biz tower (filled with upmarket restaurants). There is also a supermarket called Maruetsu Petit which is fantastic for stocking up on snacks, water and meals such as Gyoza, Sushi and bento boxes for those times when you want to eat on the go. Theres also a coffee machine in the lobby for a quick pick me up.

The Room itself is nice, modern and very clean. Of course quite small compared to other places but this is Japan. I recommend getting the Twin room as I believe this is a tiny bit bigger than the double. The bathroom is great but since the wall of the bathroom is frosted glass, I would only be comfortable staying here with my husband. I would imagine some awkward moments with friends or family members. The room makes use of every inch of space and i quite liked the fit out of the room. At first small, but after a while I felt quite comfortable. Room includes tea making facilities, slippers, pyjamas, hairdryer and internet access via cable. We stayed on the 3rd floor so we could access the wifi which was convenient.

The area itself is quite safe, there's security guards around the TBS building and the biz tower and surrounding streets are quite lively cause of the restaurants. The Akasaka line isn't the most convenient as you do have to change at least one station to get to any major attraction but i guess with anywhere in Tokyo you do have to take the subway to get around. For those on the JR pass, the closest station is Shibuya which is 4kms away.

Overall a good stay in Tokyo.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tracey2586
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IshinHotelsGroup, マネージャー at the b tokyo akasaka, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

Dear tracey2586

Thank you for choosing the b akasaka and for taking the time to post your review.
We are pleased to hear your positive experience at our hotel and in Akasaka. We do recommend the route that you can use the elevator because it is easier and more convenient. Please come back upon your next trip to Tokyo! We look forward to welcoming you again!

Best regards,

Ryuji Chiku
Area Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Before I get to the review of the hotel, if you chose to stay here after reading the reviews, DO NOT walk up the hill to get to the hotel. There is a much easier way to go:

1. Take the metro to the Akasaka stop on the Chiyoda line.
2. Use exit 3b (using all escalators through the small shopping area). This exit will drop you at the TBS outside entertainment square.
3. Go straight off the escalator and follow the curve of the road to the right for about 100 meters
4. On your right, there will be an elevator just before a large set of stairs. It is hidden in a small, concrete alcove.
5. Take the elevator to the top level (there are only two levels).
6. Exit out of the elevator and walk straight (and flat) to the end of the street where the hotel is located.

About the hotel:
The rooms are small. And, for some strange reason, the wall separating the bathroom and the bedroom is made entirely of glass! This is not a hotel room to share with your parents or casual friends, as you will quickly become acquainted with their bathroom habits. The included breakfast was not very good (after our first morning, we skipped it).

The hotel, however, was in a quiet neighborhood with access to good shopping and restaurants. For Americans, there are several familiar chains close to the hotel (McDonalds, Burger King, Starbucks, Pizza Hut, Subway). Also, the new Akasaka Sacas shopping area really diversifies the neighborhood's appeal.

All told, we would stay here again if our travels took us to the Akasaka neighborhood.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank gburg2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IshinHotelsGroup, マネージャー at the b tokyo akasaka, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Dear gburg2000

Thank you for choosing the b akasaka and for posting your review.
The direction you gave looks great - that’s the route we recommend! Taking the hidden elevator would definitely help when you have a luggage with you. Some of our rooms have a smoked (not see through) glass wall for design and a purpose to make the room feel bigger and more comfortable. We are disappointed that our Japanese and Western breakfast buffet did not meet your expectation. As you mentioned Akasaka offers great dining and shopping experience. We look forward to welcoming you again!

Best regards,
Ryuji Chiku
Area Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

We were a party of 3 couples and booked 3 rooms at the hotel.The way to the hotel is on a very steep slope and I wish to be notified about it before I booked my room based on the proximity of the metro station. My husband suffered an CVA few years ago and found it hard to reach the hotel after having to climb up the metro stairs so we had to take a taxi from the metro station to the hotel. The room was clean, comfortable, with all amenities but small and we felt lucky to book a twin room. Breakfast is OK even repetitive. WIFI is available in the lobby only but there is cable for laptop in the rooms.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeannette r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IshinHotelsGroup, マネージャー at the b tokyo akasaka, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2013

Dear jeannette r

Thank you for choosing the b akasaka and for taking the time to write your review.

We are sorry to hear your experience with the stairs and steep hills.
There is the way we recommend to the hotel, which our guests can avoid both stairs and steep hills – there is an elevator and escalators available. Please let us know before your next stay so that we can show you the way.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Best regards,

Ryuji Chiku
Area Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

We spent six nights here at the beginning of April. The hotel was really easy to find and in walking distance of the Akasaka Metro Station. The hill upto the hotel was not as bad as people tell you, we managed to walk up woth our suitcases with no problem.
This was our first trip to Tokyo, and found the hotel to be a great base for seeing the city. The area felt very safe, even late at night.
The hotel staff were very polite and welcoming when we arrived, despite being too early to check in we were welcome to relax with free coffee in the lobby until our room was ready. This was very much appreciated having been awake for almost 24 hours and a long flight from the UK.
The room was lovely. We expected it to be small, but we found it adequate for our needs and had no problems with the size. It was clean, as was the bathroom, and the shower was wonderful! The room was quiet and comfortable and we had no problem sleeping. The free internet access in the room was useful as we had taken our laptop and useful for staying in touch with people back home.
We would definitely choose to stay here again, and cannot wait to return to Tokyo in the future, it is such a wonderful city!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mrslangley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IshinHotelsGroup, マネージャー at the b tokyo akasaka, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

Hi mrslangley

Thank you for staying at the b akasaka and for taking the time to post your review.
We are pleased to know that you enjoyed staying at our hotel. As you mentioned, the area is safe yet still urban with east access to popular places throughout Tokyo. I will be sure to share your compliment about our staff.
Thank you again for visiting us. Please come back to Tokyo and see us again!

Best regards,

Ryuji Chiku
Area Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews