We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Large comfortable rooms in good area of Tokyo” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of HOTEL the M INNSOMNIA akasaka

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
HOTEL the M INNSOMNIA akasaka
Ranked #39 of 107 Hotels / Ryokan in Minato
Certificate of Excellence
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Large comfortable rooms in good area of Tokyo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2014

Really large rooms for Tokyo - included sitting area, desk, kitchen area with microwave etc. Views over built uop business area.

Comfortable beds, very clean rooms, friendly staff with some english spoken.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Old_Hairy_Bear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    83
    16
    2
    2
See reviews for
43
35
17
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014

Very large rooms for Japan. Wonderful area to Tokyo and close to metro akasaka stop -1 minute walk. ( go out #2 exit) . No breakfast though included but reasonable priced. There a lot of food choices close by.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelerSantaCruz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
155 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

We are a party of 3 and stayed one night at the start of our Japan holiday. We caught the NEX to Tokyo station and in stead of getting a taxi to the hotel we were brave and took the Subway. REALLY easy and we saved so much money. The best exit if you have luggage is number 2( because it has an escalator). 1 is closer but lots of stairs. Come out of 1, turn left, then turn into the alley and follow the alley - you are at the hotel! Wish someone had told us that - we got very lost. Lively huge room, nice welcome. We didn't eat breakfast...went back to the station entrance area and found an Excelsior coffee house.

I was impressed with my booking enquiry and the follow through has all lined up. We will return at the end of our trip. Only complaint was noisy air con that I couldn't work out how to turn off but I would ask next time.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travellingbuzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tasmania
Level Contributor
110 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2014

Tokyo Avanshell and Akasaka

I chose this hotel as it was convenient for visiting a friend living in Mid-town Residences nearby.
It was really reasonably priced at Y13700 per night and a very very big room. It was comfortable and relaxing as the area it is in is so quiet.
We had breakfast included but it was a rather lacklustre affair, like you would make at home either Japanese or Western style. It was very cheap. At night the restaurant is an Italian one, but it was empty as we went past with no atmosphere and we quickly found cheaper pizza and better looking place up through the laneway in Akasaka
The staff were very helpful and even though I spoke with them in Japanese, they are very competent speakers of English.

The hotel was incredibly convenient in other ways.
Just beside the hotel along a pleasant walkway of 50m or so takes you out onto a convenient local area. In front of the massive Biz Tower is a piazza of great cafes and drinking spots, very sophisticated. We went to B&R sat out on the terrace. Very relaxing, slow wervisce though.

There are numerous Massage therapy and Back specialists ( all that sitting in seats all day for poor salary man) and some great Izekaya, Chinese and other Japanese restaurants.

Underneath Biz Tower is a plethora of shops and restaurants that we didnt even see.
Hiie Ginja a beautiful shrine, is nearby walk and incredible modern buildings surrounding it make it very interesting. We are not in Kyoto now!

We went to Roppongi Hills to the fabulous 52nd storey Mori Museum 10 in ride by taxi or quicker trainride.

Its a 1 minute walk from The Akasaka station on the Chiyoda line.

Room Tip: Relaxation Room has a massage chair. But I did prefer the real deal at nearby at Bear Hug. Our roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lisaaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
World
Level Contributor
50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2014

As others have said, the room is very generous by Japanese standards. We booked a double and it was more like a studio apartment, with a small kitchenette. Location was excellent, just 2 minutes from the subway (Chiyoda Line) and close to many restaurants and bars. The reception is a bit understaffed at night but generally not a problem. Make sure you get a card from the hotel if you are planning on taking a taxi, rather than just telling the driver the name and hoping that he can find it!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HowIzzThiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baldock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2014

We stayed here in April 2014. Opted for a deluxe twin room which was absolutely huge. Lots of reviews said the rooms were big but we were really surprised.

The next nice surprise was how many amenities were included in the room. Aside from the usual stuff in the bathroom, kettle, fridge etc. we were pleased to find loads of storage space, fabric freshener, and an iron. The latter was a godsend as we'd been living out of a suitcase for quite a while. The room was quiet and had good airconditioning (when we figured out how to use it).

The bathroom was basic but decent. As others have mentioned it's a shower over bath type affair. We had no issues with hot water or water pressure.

The room wasn't very modern - some of the decor was starting to look a little dated. To be honest though this wasn't a problem in the slightest as the room was so clean and comfortable.

The location is pretty good. Nearby there are some nice bars and restaurants. In particular there's a nice sushi restaurant on the second floor of the nearby atrium building. The metro is a short walk away. It's not super convenient as it seems like everywhere we went needed at least 2 changes, but the trains are so clean and cheap it's not really a problem.

Overall, we really enjoyed our stay here. We'd definitely stay again and would recommend.

Room Tip: We arrived at Gimpo airport so took the monorail to Hamamatsucho. Taxi to the hotel was only about...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jonathan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is a real find! The rooms are huge, especially by Japanese standards, and have a balcony and a little kitchenette with a microwave.

The staff are thoughtful and efficient (we stayed at the hotel at the start and end of our trip and they automatically put hypoallergenic pillows in our room the second time we stayed) and the receptionists speak remarkably good English and always seem happy to help.

There are two metro stations close to the hotel (one is directly behind the hotel) and local tourist attractions include the imperial palace and some well known shrines. The Rappongi district (good for nightlife) is also close by.

On the downside, the hotel has few amenities e.g. no restaurant or swimming pool, but there are lots of restaurants and supermarkets on and around the same road as the hotel, and the hotel also has an arrangement with a local gym.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Sasha J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Minato hotels
Akasaka / Roppongi
Centurion Hotel Grand Akasaka
Akasaka / Roppongi
Hotel Grand Fresa Akasaka
Hotel Grand Fresa Akasaka
#15 of 107 in Minato
4.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
Akasaka / Roppongi
the b akasaka
the b akasaka
#40 of 107 in Minato
4.0 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Akasaka / Roppongi
Hotel Risveglio Akasaka
Hotel Risveglio Akasaka
#37 of 107 in Minato
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Akasaka / Roppongi
Akasaka Granbell Hotel
Akasaka Granbell Hotel
#48 of 107 in Minato
4.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Akasaka / Roppongi
Hotel Monterey Akasaka
Hotel Monterey Akasaka
#20 of 107 in Minato
4.0 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HOTEL the M INNSOMNIA akasaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HOTEL the M INNSOMNIA akasaka

Property: HOTEL the M INNSOMNIA akasaka
Address: 2-14-14 Akasaka, Minato 107-0052, Tokyo Prefecture (Formerly Hotel Avanshell Akasaka)
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato > Akasaka / Roppongi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Minato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — HOTEL the M INNSOMNIA akasaka 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Fastbooking, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your HOTEL the M INNSOMNIA akasaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avanshell Akasaka Hotel
HOTEL The M INNSOMNIA Akasaka Tokyo, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing