We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Loved it, loved the area, love Tokyo!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel the M Innsomnia Akasaka

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel the M Innsomnia Akasaka
Ranked #38 of 106 Hotels / Ryokan in Minato
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
126 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Loved it, loved the area, love Tokyo!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We loved this hotel, with it being just down the street from the B-flat Jazz Club. One
block further down is a side street full of Japanese and Korean restaurants. It's a great
area!
We paid the equivalent of 100 euro for our room and is was like a junior suite, with
ample twin beds, a kitchenette with coffee maker and a microwave oven. On one side of
the room was a nice long table for eating (or for placing our suitcases).
The bathroom was an average size and very comfortable. Water pressure in the shower
was fine.
We had the ¥1300 breakfast downstairs (about €10) and it was a small buffet where i
could enjoy sausages and eggs (leaky but tasty) and miso soup with garnishes.
My husband had cereal and very authentic and well-made croissants. Of course there
were the usual coffee, tea, juices, etc.
Being able to eat it on the terrace and observe the hustle and bustle of the street was a
plus!
The staff at the desk soeaks English and are very hospitable and helpful. This is
definitely where we'll be in our next visit.
The WIFI is free and they give you a little pouch - the antenna and accesories- to make
the connection.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DZEBORAH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    78
    13
    1
    2
See reviews for
38
33
17
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lillesand, Norway
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Stayed 3 nights in September on a business trip. My first trip to Tokyo, and got this hotel recommended from colleagues - mainly due to size of rooms. I had a standard room and it was really spacious. Price is also very competitive compared to the more well-known hotel in the city. Staff was also very helpful with all the requests I had. It is not a luxury-hotel, but it is deinfetely one to recommend in Tokyo. I will use this next time I - without any doubt!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jlarse02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
105 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We had 2 different rooms for our 3 day stay. Both were spacious, one with a lounge area with couch and TV, and a queen size bed, the other with a kitchenette (microwave, sink), dining table and chairs and two very large single beds. Both rooms were very spacious, with more storage than most hotels. Stylish decor, good bathroom (shower over bath). Akasaka is a vibrant and interesting area with many good eating places, bars and supermarkets. Try the one next to entry 2 of Akasaka station (right by the lane at the side of the hotel). We bought a sumptuous spread, a bottle of good Aussie wine for one meal, for 2500 Yen. Fast Wifi, excellent service and easy access to everything make this hotel a great choice and good value.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bev S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

I stayed with my 12 year old daughter at Hotel Avanshell in April. The rooms were so much larger than the typical Tokyo budget hotel, without an astronomical price. No smoking smell either! There is no restaurant in the hotel but there is breakfast available in the Italian restaurant next door. A Starbucks and Tullys are 2 mins/one block away at Akasaka Sacas, next to Akasaka subway station on the Chiyoda line.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Level Contributor
57 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

I stayed in the twin bed room plus massaging chair, great! The room is spacious (equipped with the Bible) and clean and so is the toilet (equipped with shampoo, conditioner, soap, hair dryer, clean towels, bath robes, etc). The staffs are very helpful, giving information about public transportation and directions. The location is close to Akasaka station (Exit 2), it's just 3 minutes walking. Only the wifi connection on the sixth floor could not work well. They can help you to book the limousine bus to Haneda (JPY 1.100). The location of the limousine bus is 10 minutes walking at Ana Intercontinental Building, but you can go there by taxi (JPY 1.150). I definitely recommend this hotel to others although without breakfast. You can find a lot of restaurants, convenient stores, Burger King nearby the hotel.

Room Tip: Twin bed or Business room is quiet, spacious and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Xie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
127 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

Coming from another hotel in Tokyo, we were amazed! The space is amazing, the neighborhood is lively and diverse...the staff is very friendly. The last time we were in Tokyo, we were at the Park Hyatt. My son wants to stay here for another 10 days!

Helpful?
Thank SixpackDC
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Brecht-BE
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Hotel is ideally located in the centre of Tokyo. Rooms are spacious and comfortable, separate living room . Bathroom has all the amenities you need.There is a big TV. Wi-Fi is present ,you can get a free set of cables and router a tthe reception

Breakfast is outside at a nearby restaurant.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lembii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Minato hotels
Akasaka / Roppongi
Hotel Grand Fresa Akasaka
Hotel Grand Fresa Akasaka
#15 of 106 in Minato
4.0 of 5 stars 283 reviews
Akasaka / Roppongi
Centurion Hotel Grand Akasaka
Akasaka / Roppongi
Super Hotel Lohas Akasaka
Super Hotel Lohas Akasaka
#25 of 106 in Minato
4.5 of 5 stars 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Akasaka / Roppongi
the b akasaka
the b akasaka
#39 of 106 in Minato
4.0 of 5 stars 369 reviews
Akasaka / Roppongi
Keio Presso Inn Akasaka
Keio Presso Inn Akasaka
#63 of 106 in Minato
4.0 of 5 stars 26 reviews
Akasaka / Roppongi
Hotel Monterey Akasaka
Hotel Monterey Akasaka
#18 of 106 in Minato
4.0 of 5 stars 485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel the M Innsomnia Akasaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel the M Innsomnia Akasaka

Property: Hotel the M Innsomnia Akasaka
Address: 2-14-14 Akasaka, Minato 107-0052, Tokyo Prefecture (Formerly Hotel Avanshell Akasaka)
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato > Akasaka / Roppongi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Minato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel the M Innsomnia Akasaka 3.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, JAPANiCAN, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hotel the M Innsomnia Akasaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avanshell Akasaka Hotel
Hotel The M Innsomnia Akasaka Tokyo, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing