We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A++. No questions asked.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of HOTEL the M INNSOMNIA akasaka

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
HOTEL the M INNSOMNIA akasaka
Ranked #38 of 106 Hotels / Ryokan in Minato
Certificate of Excellence
Tokyo
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A++. No questions asked.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

If you're looking to stay central, avoid racking up a hefty hotel bill whilst still enjoying a nice room - Avanshell is surely the one to choose.
It's right in the middle of Akasaka away from the serious hustle bustle but a 30second walk to the Chiyoda-Line which can link you up to anywhere you need to go in Tokyo.
The hotel is a 5min taxi ride from the ANA-Intercontinental hotel where your Limousine Bus will drop you off from Narita Airport. TOO EASY.
The Italian restaurant downstairs is also on point. That Sicilian chef can cook a great meal and the breakfast is more than satisfactory.

The rooms are clean. I got to enjoy the twin suite which had 2x queen size beds, a massage chair, balcony and a kitchenette. Simply perfect for the prices offered. No questions asked, just go for it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tokyoschmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    82
    13
    1
    2
See reviews for
42
34
17
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This hotel suite was large and comfortable - like an apartment complete with couch, table & chairs, microwave, refrigerator and separate bar sink. Great for a longer visit to Tokyo. The bed was a bit hard, but otherwise comfortable with a nice fluffy comforter. The corridor/elevator is outside so can be a bit chilly - but the room with balcony was perfect for us. It's within walking distance to two subway lines (Ginza and Chiyoda) so quite handy to get to all parts of town in a jiffy. The hotel is very close to the Akasaka Biz Tower - handy for shopping and restaurants. Also a grocery store is nearby across the street, as well as a laundromat around the corner! We will definitely be returning! A great value!! We took the Friendly Bus from the airport to Ana Intercontinental hotel, then a short taxi ride to the Avanshell. That worked well for us. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gincy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
152 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

This hotel built for big flat at first, then was changed to hotel.
Thats why, a corridor is outside,so if it was rainy or snowy day, you feel really cold...I felt really cold because it was snowy..
Room is quite big and really clean. Break fast is not so bad. But it was narrow between seat and seat, so I couldnt relax.
Location-wise, it's pretty good . The subway(tokyo metro Chiyoda-line, Akasaka station) is just a 1 min walk away.

There is small kitchen, but if you need microwave, you have to book it.
For room amenities, you get really great value with a mini fridge, bathtub, toiletries and a kettle.
Regarding service, well, they get their job done with a smile.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sawaty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Extremely well located, quiet area with the largest standard rooms of any boutique hotel in Tokyo. 100 meters from Akasaka Station on the Chioyda Line makes it very easy to get to all the best places in the City.a small front desk team are always there to help.the hotel is surrounded by choices cuisine and dining budgets.

Room Tip: All rooms a good just a question twin or double rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Glen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Staff were always very friendly and courteous and willing to help.
Our request for extra towells was met with a bag of chocalates and towells within a few minutes at our door. Some plates appreared quickly upon request as did wine and champagne glasses. Nothing seemed too much trouble.
We have probably never seen a bathroom in a hotel kept so clean, no sign of any mould and it was absolutely spotlessly cleaned every day.
The cleaner left us extra towells and bottled water every day knowing we had 2 extra kids in the room and even though we weren't paying any surcharge for them.
We had an excellent sized room for Tokyo of around 50 sqm with small balcony (although too cold to use) for us and 2 kids of 2 and 4 years of age. Room enough to stretch out and for the kids to have some space to play and enough separation at nite for mum and dad to read on their bed with kids asleep at other end of the room. We were originally going to book an apartment in Tokyo for our 16 day stay only to realise what they were calling a 2 bed apartment was only about 30 sqm and the bedroom was an alcove and 2nd bed was the lounge room. This hotel proved a far better choice.
Location is great, with lots of nightlife around, several late nite convenience stores within 100 metres and the subway same distance and the subway has a plethora of restaurants serving all kinds of food from around the world at reasonable prices and providing much needed take away food for parents to have dinner in peace once kids asleep.
Subway station is within 1 change of just about anywhere you want to visit in Tokyo and the Chiyoda line trains are fast and efficient. We found lifts at the station making it easy to get up and down to the platforms from the street, its a modern and new station which obviously helps although most of Tokyo's stations are pram friendly unlike Paris.
We would have no hesitation recommending this hotel and would stay here again whenever coming back to Tokyo

Room Tip: Higher rooms have better views and outlook.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Craig L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hongkong
Level Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We can hardly believe until we come to stay in this hotel to enjoy the exceptional room size at regular room rate. High class decor and room amenities. The corridors of hotel rooms are however exposed to open air and during our stay we need to dress up as going outdoor when going to the boys who stayed in another room. There was on site parking at a reasonable supplement. However, the service levelwais only moderate.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Victor K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennesaw, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

We spent 8 nights there and generally enjoyed the entire experience. I did my research using Tripadvisor, so when I got there I had notes and basic ideas of what was around. If you plan to go to Tokyo and stay inside all the time, then you may want to rent at ANA. This hotel provided the basics very well, and I will return there next year.

The check-in process was easy and I did remember to ask for the data cable for the internet. Wifi is also available, but it was spotty in my room on the 7th floor. The elevator is small, so if you are travelling with a family with luggage, the staff will offer to take up the rest of your luggage to your room.

You are given two room cards. One card must be placed in a wall holder so that the lights can be turned on in the room. Removing that card works like a "kill switch" for the entire room.

Breakfast at the Italian Restaurant, Osteria Pippos is good, but you may tire of it after a few mornings. They serve the same thing every morning. Yes, it is good, but you understand where I am going with this.

There are two supermarkets nearby. One is a 24 hour, Maruetsu Petit, and the other is out the hotel, turn left and across the street about 20 meters. They are not 24 hours, but the food is good and it is bigger than the other. You can get plates, knives and forks for the front desk. they will bring it right up. They also wash it and leave it there for your entire trip. There is a microwave and a small fridge for you to use.

If you need to change cash to Yen you have two options nearby. Firstly there is a post office within walking distance and they are closed at 4:00pm Monday through Friday. If you are wanting money on weekends or at night you can walk to the ANA Inter Continental and they have an ATM money changer. You pay about 10% extra when compared to the Post office.

Restaurants are everywhere.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Howard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Minato hotels
Akasaka / Roppongi
Hotel Grand Fresa Akasaka
Hotel Grand Fresa Akasaka
#15 of 106 in Minato
4.0 of 5 stars 295 reviews
Akasaka / Roppongi
Centurion Hotel Grand Akasaka
Akasaka / Roppongi
Akasaka Granbell Hotel
Akasaka Granbell Hotel
#46 of 106 in Minato
4.0 of 5 stars 97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Akasaka / Roppongi
the b akasaka
the b akasaka
#39 of 106 in Minato
4.0 of 5 stars 371 reviews
Akasaka / Roppongi
Keio Presso Inn Akasaka
Keio Presso Inn Akasaka
#63 of 106 in Minato
4.0 of 5 stars 31 reviews
Akasaka / Roppongi
Hotel Monterey Akasaka
Hotel Monterey Akasaka
#23 of 106 in Minato
4.0 of 5 stars 500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HOTEL the M INNSOMNIA akasaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HOTEL the M INNSOMNIA akasaka

Property: HOTEL the M INNSOMNIA akasaka
Address: 2-14-14 Akasaka, Minato 107-0052, Tokyo Prefecture (Formerly Hotel Avanshell Akasaka)
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato > Akasaka / Roppongi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Minato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — HOTEL the M INNSOMNIA akasaka 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Fastbooking, Agoda, JAPANiCAN, Priceline, Odigeo, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your HOTEL the M INNSOMNIA akasaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avanshell Akasaka Hotel
HOTEL The M INNSOMNIA Akasaka Tokyo, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing