We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Good option in Tokyo centre” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shinbashi Atagoyama Tokyu REI Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Shinbashi Atagoyama Tokyu REI Hotel
Ranked #54 of 106 Hotels / Ryokan in Minato
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
309 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“Good option in Tokyo centre”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We stayed for several nights at this hotel which is convenient to the subway and in a nice area within easy walking distance into the city centre. It has compact public areas with vending machines but little other facilities. The room was small but of reasonable value for Tokyo and its location. Our room was comfortable, clean and quiet. We found the hotel relaxing and would recommend it as a good option if you are visiting Tokyo.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MORREY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    146
    101
    15
    4
See reviews for
37
44
73
99
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

We got this hotel using air miles but we would not recommend staying here unless you had to or it was free/cheap. The room was extremely small with no storage space and only two hangers to hang your clothes on the wall. The room was extremely dusty and nobody had cleaned under the bed in a very long time. We can only work of the room we stayed in, which was in the older building. We asked to change but was politely told we could not.
Location wasn't bad as Shinbashi station was only a 10 minute walk away or 25 minutes taxi to Shinjuku (3000yen)
We stayed in far nicer hotels in Tokyo and would recommend paying a little more for one of these.
Plus point was free wifi in the lobby which is surprisingly not common in Japan.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RogueTrini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Minato hotels

Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Booked in for 2 nights on a visit to Tokyo with a friend.

The location was good, it was in walking distance of the underground, and Tokyo Tower is about 5-10 minutes walk.

The staff were friendly, English was spoken but we had been learning Japanese and felt comfortable communicating in Japanese with the staff when we could.

The hotel is clean, comfortable, and there were several vending machines for late night snacks/drinks in the reception area.

The area doesn't have much nightlife and is quiet on an evening, so we did have a fair walk to find a good lively bar.

Overall the stay was great and I would definitely use this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Philpot400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

The hotel is a considerable walk from Shimbashi station. The rooms are small and many of the floors stink of cigarette smoke and so badly I had to open my window all night and then be kept awake by the nightly road construction work. In typical Japan fashion everything is minimized and small, you get two clothes hangers per room and if you need to iron your clothes you must make a booking and reservation for the iron and board . It is a business hotel with little facilities and not a leisure hotel. The buffet breakfast for about 1000¥ was excellent value and the best I had in Japan.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Finding a decent hotel at a good price in the middle of Tokyo is next to impossible. In a sea of verticle concrete and millions of people, space is very valuable. Therefore, the rooms in this hotel are very small and larger people will have difficulty, especially in the bathtub and shower. The bed was small and not especially comfortable but it worked. I'm not a fan of the pillows in Japan either. Ask for a down pillow. The staff was nice and most of them spoke very little English but could understand simple words. I don't know why a foreigner would ever expect anything but Japanese anyway. There is a nice shrine located adjacent the hotel that offers a fun site to guests of the hotel. Taxis frequently drive by the hotel and are a very convenient way to venture out on the town. The hotel is affordable when compared to other hotels in the area. The hotel could really use some updating but the stay was okay.

Room Tip: Ask for the New Building and a down pillow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BigGunNate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

Rooms are to small to be comfortable, prices are not so convenient, the hotel is located at the center of Tokyo but if you want to live Tokyo by night, the only way to get back are taxis and I had a really hard time to communicate with the staff, almost no one spoke English in a decent way

Helpful?
Thank Dario O
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

My father came to Japan, so me, him and my boyfriend went to Tokyo to see the sights. There being 3 of us we separated into two rooms, and the hotel separated us further into two different wings ("It's crowded," they said. Bull.) My father got the New Wing and I got the South Wing. What a joke! The place was so ramshackle and dingy that it's barely worth $20, let alone what they were asking. The hallway is 20 years past its prime, with disgusting carpets. In the room, the curtains were tattered, the sink chipped, and everything stained a sickly shade of yellow. The whole room smelled like stale smoke. Even the refrigerator was dirty and dented! To top it all off, the Front Desk gave us a terribly chilly reception - until I produced paperwork saying I had a room, that is. I will NEVER stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ashuri89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Minato hotels
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Hotel Sunroute Shimbashi
Hotel Sunroute Shimbashi
#46 of 106 in Minato
4.0 of 5 stars 129 reviews
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Tokyo Grand Hotel
Tokyo Grand Hotel
#58 of 106 in Minato
3.5 of 5 stars 179 reviews
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Hotel Livemax Shimbashi
Hotel Livemax Shimbashi
#90 of 106 in Minato
3.5 of 5 stars 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Sotetsu Fresa Inn Hamamatsucho Daimon
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
APA Hotel Shimbashi Toranomon
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Tokyu Stay Shimbashi
Tokyu Stay Shimbashi
#41 of 106 in Minato
4.0 of 5 stars 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shinbashi Atagoyama Tokyu REI Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shinbashi Atagoyama Tokyu REI Hotel

Property: Shinbashi Atagoyama Tokyu REI Hotel
Address: 1-6-6 Atago, Minato 105-0002, Tokyo Prefecture (Formerly Shimbashi Atagoyama Tokyu Inn)
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato > Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 106 Hotels / Ryokan in Minato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Shinbashi Atagoyama Tokyu REI Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 431
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, JAPANiCAN, Fastbooking, Orbitz, Hotwire, Rakuten, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Shinbashi Atagoyama Tokyu REI Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shimbashi Atagoyama Tokyu Hotel Minato
Shimbashi Atagoyama Tokyu Minato
Shinbashi Atagoyama Tokyu REI Hotel Tokyo, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing