We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You Can Find Better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Shinbashi Atagoyama Tokyu REI Hotel
Ranked #51 of 116 Hotels / Ryokan in Minato
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Finding a decent hotel at a good price in the middle of Tokyo is next to impossible. In a sea of verticle concrete and millions of people, space is very valuable. Therefore, the rooms in this hotel are very small and larger people will have difficulty, especially in the bathtub and shower. The bed was small and not especially comfortable but it worked. I'm not a fan of the pillows in Japan either. Ask for a down pillow. The staff was nice and most of them spoke very little English but could understand simple words. I don't know why a foreigner would ever expect anything but Japanese anyway. There is a nice shrine located adjacent the hotel that offers a fun site to guests of the hotel. Taxis frequently drive by the hotel and are a very convenient way to venture out on the town. The hotel is affordable when compared to other hotels in the area. The hotel could really use some updating but the stay was okay.

Room Tip: Ask for the New Building and a down pillow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BigGunNate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (330)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

37 - 43 of 330 reviews

Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

Rooms are to small to be comfortable, prices are not so convenient, the hotel is located at the center of Tokyo but if you want to live Tokyo by night, the only way to get back are taxis and I had a really hard time to communicate with the staff, almost no one spoke English in a decent way

Thank Dario O
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

My father came to Japan, so me, him and my boyfriend went to Tokyo to see the sights. There being 3 of us we separated into two rooms, and the hotel separated us further into two different wings ("It's crowded," they said. Bull.) My father got the New Wing and I got the South Wing. What a joke! The place was so ramshackle and dingy that it's barely worth $20, let alone what they were asking. The hallway is 20 years past its prime, with disgusting carpets. In the room, the curtains were tattered, the sink chipped, and everything stained a sickly shade of yellow. The whole room smelled like stale smoke. Even the refrigerator was dirty and dented! To top it all off, the Front Desk gave us a terribly chilly reception - until I produced paperwork saying I had a room, that is. I will NEVER stay here again!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ashuri89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

We started our Japan holiday with a stay at this hotel. It is not very conveniently located on the public transport (subway) lines. We went from the Airport to Tokyo Station to Shimbashi and then walked to the hotel as we were told its only a few minutes walk. Turned out to be a good 15 mins. walk.

There is a bus stop outside the hotel but the subways are located a good 10 minutes walk away from the hotel as are the convenience stores. The hotel does not offer a free Wi-Fi facility in the rooms but is available in the lobby for free.

rooms are a bit small but the facilities, cleanliness and so on is excellent. the food is okay and nothing to rave about. the lobby has dispensing machines for all sorts of snacky things to eat. drinks, ice creams, wafers and so on.

staff is very friendly and courteous and reasonably well versed with English which was good. once you walk to the subway, then you are in a good subway line and can reach most places conveniently. the Tokyo tower (one of the sight seeing options) is walking distance (about 20 min walk) from the hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bhavik68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Only spent one night in Tokyo at the end of a long trip. The hotel was clean and the service was good. The room was quite small but I guess that is pretty standard for Tokyo. This was golden week in Japan so it was a challenge finding a decent hotel that wasn't too expensive. I found this hotel to be in a location not too far from subways/trains and the price was just over $100 US. So it was good value for the money.

Room Tip: Try and get the room with the breakfast included as there is not much near the hotel for breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellfar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

This was our last stop while exploring Japan.

It took us awhile to get our bearings right to reach the hotel.
Upon checking in we were given a key (not keycard) to our room.

As we entered, we were very disappointed with the state of our room. It was like we time travelled to the late 80's early 90's era. Everything looked old and room smelled of smoke.

It was not something we looked forward to coming back to after a long day at Disneyland.

It was pretty spacious as there was a small dining area for 2, but we wont staying here if we ever come to Tokyo again.

Spend a bit more to stay at a better hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AndieLiny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2012

This is the best option for "GOOD VALUE" hotel in Tokyo. You will not find another hotel with this kind of amenities, rooms, location and comfort for 100$ anywhere else in Tokyo.
The G line is 5 blocks away, so its very convenient. There is a Mc.Donalds 2 blocks aways as well as a 7 eleven, a Starbucks, a Family Mart and some other shops.
Breakfast is buffet for 1300 yens. It's good but has limited variety of western breakfast food.
The only con was that 50% of the staff couldn't speak english. So when we needed to make some enquires sometimes they couldn't help us.
BUT I TOTALLY RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MaconiaM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Minato hotels
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Tokyu Stay Shimbashi
Tokyu Stay Shimbashi
#42 of 116 in Minato
157 reviews
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Sotetsu Fresa Inn Hamamatsucho Daimon
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Hotel Sunroute Shimbashi
Hotel Sunroute Shimbashi
#49 of 116 in Minato
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
APA Hotel Shimbashi Toranomon
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Sotetsu Fresa Inn Shimbashi Hibiyaguchi
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
HOTEL UNIZO Shimbashi
HOTEL UNIZO Shimbashi
#74 of 116 in Minato
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shinbashi Atagoyama Tokyu REI Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shinbashi Atagoyama Tokyu REI Hotel

Address: 1-6-6 Atago, Minato 105-0002, Tokyo Prefecture (Formerly Shimbashi Atagoyama Tokyu Inn)
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato > Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 116 Hotels / Ryokan in Minato
Price Range: $89 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Shinbashi Atagoyama Tokyu REI Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 431
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Rakuten, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, JAPANiCAN, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shinbashi Atagoyama Tokyu REI Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shimbashi Atagoyama Tokyu Hotel Minato
Shimbashi Atagoyama Tokyu Minato
Shinbashi Atagoyama Tokyu REI Hotel Tokyo, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing