We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool find!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Happoen Garden

Happoen Garden
Book In Advance
More Info
$112.55*
and up
Tokyo Tower, Tea Ceremony and Sumida River Cruise Day Tour
Ranked #6 of 417 things to do in Minato
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Cool find!”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We could see the cherry blossoms blooming in this garden from our hotel room and decided to go find it. A very cool little garden right near where we were staying! Worth a look if you're in the area!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie60750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    228
    175
    30
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
45 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Beautiful Gardens”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

I stayed at the Miyako Sheraton so the Happoen Gardens were only a few minutes walk away. I was there right in the middle of cherry blossom season so it was the most amazing experience to just walk in a tradtional Japanese garden with the cherry blossoms all around. I was there on a weekday so there were only a handful of other people walking around. I could sit at any of the many benches they laid out specially for the season to just read and enjoy the amazing cherry blossoms and the beautiful gardens.
It's not very big so will not take much time to walk through the entire garden, but good if you just want to sit, relax and enjoy the scenary.
The restaurants have very good reviews although I have not tried them personally.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank KLTY123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
95 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Beautiful - Worth visiting if you are staying close by”
Reviewed December 15, 2012

Happoen Garden was recommended to us by the hotel we stayed at, Sheraton Miyako hotel in Minato. It was a good recommendation.

We visited in December, the gardens were beautiful with autumn and winter shades of green, yellow, red and brown. Our visit took place on a weekday which was great as there were hardly any people there, the gardens were beautiful and serene.

If you have not experienced Japanese gardens before and your hotel is the Minato area then the Happoen garden is definitely a memorable place to visit.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Sito_Journey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
109 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Nice Japanese Garden”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Good for tea ceremony - bonzai collection - popular for marriages. This garden of meguro dori offers an island of old Japan.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank jean-marc b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
98 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Open Space in a Big City”
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Truly expected more from this garden as it is in Tokyo. Strangely, we have seen more impressive Japanese Gardens in other countries

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Kennellyadventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Happoen Garden also viewed

 

Been to Happoen Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing