We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Japan trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
HOTEL THE CELESTINE TOKYO SHIBA
Ranked #13 of 117 Hotels / Ryokan in Minato
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 29, 2014

Comfortable, central and Clean. Staff is friendly and helpful. My only issue with the hotel is that after 2230 you can't even get room service which is very inconvenient, especially in a society where working hours are very late. Upside is there are restaurants within walking distance however it is still an inconvenience when it's raining and you get back to the hotel at 2300 and have no desire to go outside again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SunnyWorldTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (728)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

205 - 211 of 728 reviews

Reviewed June 7, 2014

I spent one night in the Celestine. The staff is friendly and has very good English language skills and made an effort to accommodate us. We arrived early in the morning and asked if there was a chance for an early check-in. Even though this was not possible without paying for another night, they offered us a room to change. The hotel rooms are spacious (for Japan anyway) and packed with amenities typical for Japan. Very good Continental, American and Japanese breakfast.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bronoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2014

I spent several nights in this hotel during my business trip, and felt really good there. The room was medium size, but fully equipped, the room was looking at the hotel terrasse. The stuff was extremely kind and professional. The restaurant was great, nice look at the quiet and clean street, very kind restaurant stuff and quite good mix of japanese and international food. As I saw some comments that there is no restaurants around, I would just like to stress that 2 corners away, close to Mita station, there is a quarter full of nice places to eat.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2014

We stayed here 3 nights and the hotel was very convenient, located in a business district but close to restaurants, 2 different subways and a supermarket. Staf spoke English fairly. A big advantage is if you are flying from/to Narita airport there is a direct line with the train and takes arround 90 min. Take the Asakusa line and the cost is arround 1380 yen.

Good for ppl who needs to be arround Minato and is willing to travel a bit (30-40 min) to see the tourist spots like Shinjuku, Roppongi, Shibuya, Ueno

I would skip the breakfast if you are on holiday and eat at an restaurant

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank staminaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2014

We recently stayed here for 9 nights. There really was nothing that we could be critical about. The location was great being only a couple of minutes walk from two different subway lines. There were quite a few places to eat nearby as well as several convenience stores for extras. Staff at reception spoke English fairly well and were to willing to help us find some obscure locations within Tokyo. Our room was on the 14th floor at the back of the hotel. The room was a lot larger than others we had previously stayed at in Tokyo and elsewhere in Japan. Housekeeping was spotless and could not be faulted. Beds extremely comfortable and curtains blocked the early morning sun if you wanted to sleep in. The rooms were so quiet. Not once did we ever hear any plumbing noises or doors closing in the corridor. Windows were indeed panoramic. To our amazement one morning when the curtains were pulled back, the smog had lifted, and there were crystal clear vistas of Mt Fuji right in front of us. Spectacular on a clear morning. The lounge on the 14th floor was great with free tea, coffee and soda water 24/7. The peaceful gardens located on either side of the lounge were very relaxing after a hectic day of sightseeing. Overall, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and would definitely stay here again and would recommend it to others.

Room Tip: Try to get a room at the back so that you may get a spectacular view of Mt Fuji if there is no smog...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Judy1362013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights during our trip to Tokyo. For us the location was convenient - the business district where the hotel is located is nice and quiet, but you can easily get anywhere in the city as public transport works fantastically (and the nearest station "Mita" is only a few minutes away). If you want to have a little stroll in the area, Tokyo Tower is within a walking distance, too.
The double room we stayed in was clean, good size with a comfortable bed and a great view of the Rainbow Bridge. Breakfast was ok: quite a good selection of local and western options, but not particularly special in any way. The staff were very friendly, polite and spoke good English. We enjoyed our stay here and would recommend it to anyone who wants to stay in this part of the city - near Roppongi, Odaiba, Ginza etc.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KafijaSofija
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

I have stayed here four times already with total duration of more than 6 weeks of stay within the last three years. One thing I like is that it is located just in front of my headquarter office (it is personal's related anyway). Another thing is that this hotel is very consistent with its service. Never even once during my total 6 weeks of stay I have experienced bad thing here. It is clean and all facilities are working fine.

Nevertheless, two things are always bugging my mind when I stay here. One is that there is no gym, no pool, nor even sauna to help me getting fit after a long work. Two is that why there is no improvement with the breakfast. It is always beans, bacon, eggs and spaghetti. In the Japanese food corner, it is also always the same miso soup, same variety of pickles, boxes of natto and one among only two kinds of fish. Sometimes I stay in this hotel for about two weeks and having same kind of so-so breakfast becomes an unpleasant thing actually.

However, this hotel is still my favorite place to stay in Tamachi area.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
3  Thank Marko K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minato
Ochanomizu / Akihabara / Kanda
Hotel Niwa Tokyo
Hotel Niwa Tokyo
#9 of 78 in Chiyoda
2,070 reviews
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Park Hotel Tokyo
Park Hotel Tokyo
#7 of 117 in Minato
3,249 reviews
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
The Prince Park Tower Tokyo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Mitsui Garden Hotel Ginza Premier
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Royal Park Hotel The Shiodome, Tokyo
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Grand Nikko Tokyo Daiba
Grand Nikko Tokyo Daiba
#11 of 117 in Minato
2,702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HOTEL THE CELESTINE TOKYO SHIBA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HOTEL THE CELESTINE TOKYO SHIBA

Address: 3-23-1 Shiba, Minato 105-0014, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato > Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Minato
#13 Romantic Hotel in Minato
#21 Family Hotel in Minato
Price Range: $132 - $232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — HOTEL THE CELESTINE TOKYO SHIBA 3.5*
Number of rooms: 243
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with JAPANiCAN, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Mitsui Fudosan Hotel Management Co., Ltd., Rakuten, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your HOTEL THE CELESTINE TOKYO SHIBA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Celestine Hotel Minato
HOTEL THE CELESTINE TOKYO SHIBA Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing